Customer Reviews for

The Lobster Chronicles: Life on a Very Small Island

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2009

    Lobster Chronicles

    I found this an enjoyable book as I have visited the areas in Maine that are discussed and I have seen the author on TV. I also saw "The perfect storm" which is related to this author. It discusses the life of people who catch our delious seafood.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2006

    Okay but not exciting...

    I read this after I read F/V Black Sheep because it was also about lobster fishing in New England. It was entertaining and had some very funny moments but it wasn't especially exciting. I liked her stories about the strange characters who live on that island but when it was over I thought she seemed like a lonely person.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2005

    Island Life to its Full Extent

    I myself come from a small Maine island and have never found anything about our lives worth writing. So when I first heard that Linda Greenlaw was writing a book entirely about a summer in Isle Au Haut I thought she was crazy and decided that I had to read her book. I found everything she wrote to be so true to our lives here out in the Atlantic Ocean of Maine. She describes perfectly the casual daily goings-on of island life and I really related strongly with every word. I know a few Ritas here and there on our island as well as some Island Boys. There are the Vinces and Tennesse Slammers. We have our encounters with ignorant tourists and summer people. Boats and lobsters are what pretty much make our lives go round. This book may not have a so called 'plot-line' or the super hero charcters that people look for in the books they read. Instead you'll find real life people in real life situations. It's a book that is as unique as the culture it comes from. So if you're looking for the great american novel that's heart stoppin thriller or heart throbbing romance, then you may be dissapointed. But if you're looking for a book that describes the simple life of a Maine island, I don't think there's a better one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2004

    She's living the life I want.

    I truly enjoyed this book. Linda Greenlaw lives a wonderful life, and is blessed to be able to love her work, and live in such a beautiful place. While reading her book, I felt like I was actually on the island and knew all her neighbors and family. I am now reading her first book, The Hungry Ocean, and again feel as though I'm living it with Linda. I hope she continues writing. I wish I had an older brother to introduce her to!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2003

    Disappointing

    I have to say....I wanted very badly to like this book. I really tried. But halfway through, I quit. If you live in Maine, are a lobster fisherman, or like to read TEDIOUS details about boats & fishing, this is the book for you. If you're looking for an interesting & exciting book that will keep those pages turning, this one will put you to sleep.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2003

    Apart of Maine

    Maine is not all coastline and ocean, but certainly a large part of a varied region. I was impressed by how willingly Greenlaw shared her sense of place not only as a fishermen of lobster, but, also with the understanding of community and family. I closed the book and friendship...until the next book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2002

    Great story

    This was a great story. Very entertaining.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2002

    The hard work for the crustasceans we love...

    Although not as heart pacing as 'The Hungry Ocean', this book gives one an insider's view of the fishermen that toil the shores for the treasured lobster. This book shows all the characters of the Isle au Haut, especially the 'Island Boys'. Ms.Greenlaw's roots run deep on this northern island and the readers comes to appreciate the life of an islander and the survival of its inhabitants.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2002

    A Perfect Book

    This was one of the best books I have ever read. I thought it was a brilliant way to portray Maine, and life on a small island. I thoroughly enjoyed this book, and wished it had never ended. If you love Maine and lobstering, this book is perfect.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2002

    A GREAT SUMMER READ!

    If you are looking for something to pass the time while you work on your tan this is it.The author creates a setting so real you can see and feel it. One can almost invision the folk that call this island home.The picture she paints with her words makes you want to spend some time on the coast of Maine.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1