BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Local Girls

Average Rating 4.5
( 17 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 9 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2001

    Precious

    This is the first book of Alice Hoffman's I have read and I loved it! She makes you feel the characters' joy and sorrow almost as if it were your own, and with such realism that it's hard to imagine it's fiction. It will touch your heart. I only wish the story was longer!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2001

    So Much Fun To Read!!!

    I read the whole book at work on one shift. I just couldn't stop! I loved it so much I shipped it to my sister in Arizona, who liked it so much she sent it to my sister-in-law, who sent it to my other sister-in-law. I'm not sure where it is now! My sisers all said the same thing... you just can't put this book down until it's finished. Alice Hoffman is an amazing writer!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2008

    a reviewer

    She had the Family curse. She knew it from the start. She was born with it. Local Girls is about a girl named Gretel Samuelson who goes through a hard life is many emotions. She goes through her mothers divorce, a very cruel neighborhood, and her own brother giving up Harvard for a job at a local Food Star. Her mother dies of cancer and she gets left alone while her best friend is living the life with her husband and two kids. This book is one of the most touching books I have ever read. I recommend this book to readers who think they have it bad because once you read it, you will look at your life a whole lot different. Local Girls is really a message about how you really need to think before you act. There was her brother, Jason who messed up his whole life by choosing to work at the deli department at food star instead of going off to school at Harvard, which he dreamed of since he was in diapers. There is also just being in a family that you know that thing is going to happen by faith. Like when Gretel was in her childhood, she starts to feel the vibe when she lived in a bad neighborhood and her mother gets diagnosis with cancer. But it is really just how you get around it. Gretel lived a horrible life because she did not do anything about it, unlike her cousin Margaret, and doesn¿t realize that her life was horrible until she is so old that she could not change anything. Local girls are about a pour girl named Gretel and how she had to survive her life with so many horrible things happening. When she is a kid, her best friend, Jill, lives right down the street while her brother continues his dream of going to Harvard. Later in high school, her brother graduates but gives up his dream of school and goes and works at Food Star with his dumb girlfriend. She and Jill are still best friends until Jill goes off and marries a dumb guy named Eddie and Gretel gets left alone with Margaret when her mother and brother dies. But soon she would be left alone when Margaret gets married and tries to have a baby. Margaret welcomes Gretel to come live with her until things get better, and she accepts the offer. After a few years, she goes back to Jill¿s house and sees her happy life with her husband and kids. When she spends the night she realizes how good it was when she was young. Local Girls is about a hopeless girl who gets lost in her life when she gets the family curse but doesn¿t try to fix it. This book really gets you to think about how you are so lucky but also makes you feel sorry for all of those people who don¿t have it good. I recommend this book to readers who need the important lesson of how lives your life right.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2000

    I finished this book in 24 hours!

    when i closed this book, i said aloud, 'this is the best book i've read in a long, long time.'

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 12, 2008

    Life is never fair

    Life is never fair. That is what Gretel and Jill learn while they grow up in Alice Hoffman¿s Local Girls. Gretel¿s family has never been stable, and neither has Jill¿s. Between crazy parents, divorces, death, babies, and the repercussions of each, they learn that life can turn out all right if you have a friend and stick it through. Both girls raised themselves with the help of Margot, Gretel¿s aunt, who chain smokes and never judges. With both their mothers deteriorating, physically and mentally, and no dad that wants to claim them as their own, the girls turn to each other and their romantic high school boyfriends who they hope will change their lives for the better. <BR/><BR/>Hoffman writes with true eloquence and gripping dialogue. I was instantly pulled into the novel, feeling both girls¿ pain and elations. I was so immersed in Local Girls that I felt Jill and Gretel had been my life-long friends and that I was walking through life with them. This book is perfect for anyone who has an intricate life, or anyone who needs a good read on a lazy Saturday. Beautifully written with so much care, this is another top book for my bookshelf.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2004

    The Break Up Of A Family

    Alice Hoffman's Local Girls, is based on the Samuelson family, of the fictional Long Island town of Franconia. Twelve year old main character Gretel Samuelson learns life can be very hard. After the break up of her parents marriage, her mother, Frances, is diagnosed with cancer. Frances' cousin, Margot, moves in to help Frances take care of Gretel and her older brother, Jason. As time goes by, the three of them helplessly watch Jason's life spiral downwards into the world of drugs. Hoffman, wrote this book straight from the heart. Her characters show courage despite a families' misfortune.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2001

    I COULDN'T PUT IT DOWN

    I never have read an Alice Hoffman book before, but this book took me by suprise. The story was so moving. I cried at the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2001

    HOFFMAN'S RICH PROSE LEAVENED WITH GLISTENING WIT

    In rich prose leavened with glistening wit and rueful perspicacity Alice Hoffman brings us her 12th novel, Local Girls. Skillfully interweaving a series of related vignettes, offered by alternating narrators, the author divines the hearts and minds of a family plagued by loss yet sustained by love. The Local Girls for whom we come to care are Gretel Samuelson, her mother, Franny, her mother's cousin, Margot, 'who got a divorce last summer and changed the color of her hair to give herself an emotional lift,' and Gretel's best friend, Jill. Franny is also divorced, miserably so, spending her nights on a quilt beside her daughter's bed. Home is Franconia, the suburb in which they were 'doomed to live.' It is here that 12-year-old Gretel and Jill sneak out at night to exact vengeance upon those who have offended them - they write with pieces of coal on a tattle-tale shopkeeper's garage door, pour rancid buttermilk into a strict teacher's garbage cans, and spread paint on the prized car of a father who groped them when they babysat. But despite the rewards of retaliation, as Gretel relates, it was a bad summer. Her brother Jason, handsome, ingratiating, and winner of every science award, is headed for Harvard and a brilliant career. But he changed. In Gretel's words, he 'appeared to have undergone a lobotomy.' He'd 'gotten himself a job at the Food Star, in the deli department, and something had shifted. He was starting to seem comfortable in the deli.' He also grew comfortable with drugs, eventually stealing to support his heroin habit. 'What was happening to our family, anyway?' Gretel asks. Her mother becomes ill; her father remarries. Her home is a shambles; the kitchen gives her the shivers as Margot and Franny are beginning a catering business. 'They had both recovered from cancer scares, failed marriages, and lost hope; in their opinion, dirt could wait. That was also the summer Jill became cynical: 'Before that, before all the sickness and heat, she was the sweetest girl you'd ever met. But lately she saw the dark underside of everything...........Everything was bad news in Jill's opinion. Everything was a game you couldn't win.' So it would seem, for Jill discovers she is pregnant by Eddie, 'the boy that everyone wanted, but not for keeps.' 'Gorgeous and stupid,' he is described as one who hadn't been told the earth was round and thought Abraham Lincoln was a brand of toothpaste. When her mother again falls ill, Gretel 'couldn't help but think that the world was a crueler place than anyone had ever dared to suggest. You might even find yourself believing that fair itself was a meaningless concept, one which would only deceive you, in the end.' Lives spliced with comedy and tragedy are the heart of Local Girls. It is a tribute to the power of family, and the strength of redeeming love. Once again, Alice Hoffman has proven herself to be an outstanding chronicler of life's pitfalls and joys.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2000

    A Book That I Couldn't Put Down!

    I started reading this book at 4:00pm and finished at 6:30pm. A true storyteller, Hoffman intertwines her marvellous gift with characters that never stop giving, to make it an experience you will never forget. A story centered around women, love, and friendhips.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 9 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1