Customer Reviews for

Lockdown: Escape from Furnace 1

Average Rating 4.5
( 355 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(251)

4 Star

(69)

3 Star

(22)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

25 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

Reviewed by Hayes aka Haute Librarian for TeensReadToo

Gold Star Award Winner! The future has arrived, and teen gangs are ruling the streets. Due to major carnage during the "Summer of Slaughter," authorities have cracked down and opened Furnace Penitentiary, a prison set deep underground for the worst teen offenders, where...
Gold Star Award Winner! The future has arrived, and teen gangs are ruling the streets. Due to major carnage during the "Summer of Slaughter," authorities have cracked down and opened Furnace Penitentiary, a prison set deep underground for the worst teen offenders, where they will never see the light of day again. Alex Sawyer is sentenced to Furnace after being convicted of murdering his best friend, Toby. Alex says over and over again that he did not kill Toby, but his protests fall on deaf ears, even though it's the truth. Alex descends into Furnace, a prison hewn out of rough rock. He immediately notices the weak are prey and the strong will live, as the prison gang threatens his life and his new cellmate, Donovan, educates him on how to survive. There is more to fear than the prison gangs, or the slop called food served in the cafeteria. There are the black suits - enormous, hulking men with silvery-sheened eyes and shark-like grins who guard the prison. There are the wheezers - twisted, malformed creatures in leather overcoats, their faces obscured by gas masks literally stitched to their skin. And there is the bloodwatch - an eerie red light that will suddenly wash over the prison cells in the dead of night, letting the inmates know the wheezers are coming for one of them. Alex struggles to hold on to his humanity, his sanity, and his hope that he will survive Furnace, even if survival means hatching an impossible scheme that could kill him. LOCKDOWN is one of the best books I have read this year! Smith's debut of the ESCAPE FROM FURNACE series keeps the reader fascinated from the first page; this is the first of a fantastic series!

posted by TeensReadToo on June 14, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 34 people found this review helpful.

Not Impressed

Although Lockdown is well written, I just could not connect with this story. Right from the start I really didn't get the point and could not believe what was happening; and it only got worse. Little kids in prison for life in what is the equivalent of hell? I don't thi...
Although Lockdown is well written, I just could not connect with this story. Right from the start I really didn't get the point and could not believe what was happening; and it only got worse. Little kids in prison for life in what is the equivalent of hell? I don't thinks so. An adult would have a difficult time surviving such trauma and hopelessness but the author expected me to believe that children could endure?

posted by LadyHester on February 9, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 358 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 18
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2011

    Fantastic!

    I couldnt put this book down!
    It was detailed and one of my favorites.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2011

    Four Stars

    Slow begining. It really gets interesting about half way in. The book does not stand alone, which means that by the end of this book you might be disapointed on how suddenly the ending comes. Great characters, and overall great plot, can't wait to read the next book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2011

    The best

    Keeps me on the edge and end of chapters always have u guessing. Real good book!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 17, 2011

    best book ever

    it will keep u on your feet. and youll problay be reading for hours and hours at a time

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 24, 2011

    Written to sell the next book

    This book was actually pretty fair overall, but the entire thing was written to sell the next book. It opens up tons of questions, and doesn't answer any of them. No payoff. Just a lame "buy the next book to find out what all this building has been about" ending.

    Good characters. Interesting setting. Sinister bad guys and some reasonable intrigue. Just be prepared to buy the whole series, because this book doesn't have an ending- just a stopping point that should have been a chapter break.

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    lockdown

    Alex Sawyer has been condemned to life behind bars for a crime he didn't commit. Although he's not looking forward to time spent in a sparse juvy institution - no, after murderous teenagers killed innocent victims on the streets, Alex has been sent to the imposing Furnace. A prison constructed to hold any and all dangerous youth. And the only sentence at Furnace is a life-sentence, basically a death-sentence. As Alex tries to navigate his way through the harsh reality of his new life - fear, hide, fear, work, fear - he begins to dream of the unthinkable: escape.

    When asked about his inspiration for the horrific conditions of Furnace in an interview with The Discriminating Fangirl, Smith explained:
    "I was thinking less about the news and more about my own worst fears. The thought of being convicted of a crime you didn't commit, and spending your life in jail, is absolutely terrifying."
    And terrifying it is. From the heartless jailers to the complete lack of parental control or contact with the inmates on the inside, Furnace is a place directly out of anyone's nightmares (including this reviewer). That said, I was surprised to find Alex's story was full of heart. I know, cliche right? But I have to admit Alex's buff and gruff cell-mate Donovan and his fellow newbie Zee were bright spots in an otherwise red haze.

    And for all of you who are scratching their heads with me over the cover? Please, please someone help that clip-art happy cover artist. Dogs! Barb-wire! Guns! Red strobe lights! I feel like I'm looking at some 10th grader's collage on nightmares and frankly it just gives me a headache. The UK cover is much better.

    Let's just say after diving deep into the terrifying underbelly of Furnace, I think I'm going back to my original policy of no horror. Although it didn't exactly leave me with nightmares, I'll be the first to admit that I at least like the possibility of rainbows and a happy ever after. Which will never feature in a Furnace book. Never. Smith does a good job of dangling the possibility just out of reach, but it doesn't happen. That's not to say I'm not totally rooting for Alex to figure his way out of Furnace. I am. I'm just not crossing my fingers.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Great Book!

    It all started many years ago in the playground, where Alex took Daniel Richard's money. That led him to start robbing houses with his friend Toby; now Toby is dead, and Alex was imprisoned in Furnace for a murder he didn't commit. Life in Furnace is hell, they make you work 'til you can't move from exhaustion, they feed you a tasteless mixture of rotten food, and you are in constant danger. But in Furnace, a gang beating you up is not the worst thing that could happen, mutant dogs could chew you to pieces, piggy eyed wheezers could take you in the night and turn you to some kind of monster. Alex is trapped with no chance of escape, but he refuses to accept that. He needs to find a way out. Soon.

    I was lucky enough to receive an ARC of this book. I thought it was absolutely great! It had many twists and turns, I kept trying to guess what was going to happen next, every time my predictions were wrong. This book was like nothing I've ever read before, it was unique and interesting. I recommend this book to anyone who likes a good, suspenseful, adrenalin-packed thriller.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2014

    Book

    This is a book?!?!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2014

    I loved this book from the action to the suspense. It was intere

    I loved this book from the action to the suspense. It was interesting how they made it fun in furnace. They were cooking the slop and one kid was a cook so he cooked a real meal for them. The escape plan was really suspenseful, you never knew if they would get caught or if they fail. I also liked how they made one thing happen and then something totally different happens like when Alex was framed. They were going to rob a house but they thought it was too easy so they attacked by black suits from furnace. They killed Toby and framed Alex. Alex went to furnace and met a lot of other kids who were framed.
    JustinCHMS14

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2014

    Good read!

    I like how the book starts out right away with action. Great way to grab your attention.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2014

    This book is the good

    I licked it :) im not good at speling

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 5, 2014

    This book was a thriller and is by far one of the best books I h

    This book was a thriller and is by far one of the best books I have ever read. The motto conveys what the book is about perfectly,

    “beneath heaven is hell and beneath hell is the Furnace.”

    It's about thrills and chills. The book was so jaw-dropping and amazing, that I kept going to my family and reading parts to them.
    By the time I got done I literally had no voice, I sounded like a bizarre mouse squeaking out words. It seemed like every other paragraph something comes that you didn't see.
    Every time, you just stare at the page and say-
    Woah.


    I definitely recommend!
    It's hard to tell whether I had light amounts of language or a medium amount, the blood rushing, adrenaline raising content really left my ‘how much’ scale disoriented.
    Based on the length of the book I would have to say it was a medium amount, but again with the action it was hard to take notice.
    My only lasting question was “Why have I never heard of this author before?!” 

    Solitary (book 2)

    I don'’t want to tell you about the actual story, it would give far too much away. I can say this; It was amazing, just as good as the first, if not better! Smith continues to weave his plethora of horrors with Furnace.. Just the sheer amount of surprises are insane. Paragraph after paragraph the last sentence almost always delivers a punch. A lot of sequels let down readers, this is not one of them.
     I cannot wait to get my hands on the third book. Of course, the negative, is the language (medium amount.) I still highly recommend this series. 


    Death Sentence (book 3) was AMAZING. I definitely recommend this series. (unless you're easy to scare!)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2014

    This is one of the better books I've read in a long time! I foun

    This is one of the better books I've read in a long time! I found the story to be very original, and the characters to be interesting and believeable. I'm almost 60 years old and have read tons of books. I have been alittle gun shy of the "young adult" genre because of all the werewolves and vampires. But this series is totally different. I cannot wait to read the next book in the series! Braco Mr. Smith! well done!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2013

    Nick

    Nice

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2013

    To: question

    You are definitely ok for this series :) all of the books are at my middle school library soo....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2013

    Bumble budies

    Penislands

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 6, 2013

    Loved this book. Looking forward to reading the entire series.

    Loved this book.
    Looking forward to reading the entire series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2013

    AMAZING!!!!!!!!!!!

    I AM A HUGE FAN THIS IS ONE OF THE BEST SERIES I'VE EVER READ!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2013

    Lockdown, by Alexander Gordon Smith, is a fictional story about

    Lockdown, by Alexander Gordon Smith, is a fictional story about a trouble-some boy named Alex. Alex gets framed and imprisoned for the murder of his best friend Toby. Alex then was declared a life sentence to Furnace Penitentiary. Furnace is a place where every child murderer goes, almost like a prison but far worse. When Alex arrives at Furnace he goes down to the pits of Furnace where he meets Donovan. In Furnace whenever the siren goes off all the cell mates are to be in their cells and whoever isn’t in their cell is killed. At night while the inmates are asleep the siren goes off and these creatures with gas masks (wheezers) come up to cells and put an X on the cell door. They then take an inmate from the cell and carry them to the laboratory where they do experiments.
    Donovan is taken in the middle of the night and Alex won’t let them take him without a fight. He plans every day on how he is going to get Donovan back and begins to come up with a brilliant plan. Only time will tell when or if he makes it to Donavan alive. or not.
    This Novel is a very quick and easy read full of action from start to finish and I recommend this book to anyone who loves a good thriller.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2013

    My mom

    This book was amazing, nothing more to be said.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 358 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 18