BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Lockdown: Escape from Furnace 1

Average Rating 4.5
( 361 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(257)

4 Star

(69)

3 Star

(22)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

26 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

Reviewed by Hayes aka Haute Librarian for TeensReadToo

Gold Star Award Winner! The future has arrived, and teen gangs are ruling the streets. Due to major carnage during the "Summer of Slaughter," authorities have cracked down and opened Furnace Penitentiary, a prison set deep underground for the worst teen offenders, where...
Gold Star Award Winner! The future has arrived, and teen gangs are ruling the streets. Due to major carnage during the "Summer of Slaughter," authorities have cracked down and opened Furnace Penitentiary, a prison set deep underground for the worst teen offenders, where they will never see the light of day again. Alex Sawyer is sentenced to Furnace after being convicted of murdering his best friend, Toby. Alex says over and over again that he did not kill Toby, but his protests fall on deaf ears, even though it's the truth. Alex descends into Furnace, a prison hewn out of rough rock. He immediately notices the weak are prey and the strong will live, as the prison gang threatens his life and his new cellmate, Donovan, educates him on how to survive. There is more to fear than the prison gangs, or the slop called food served in the cafeteria. There are the black suits - enormous, hulking men with silvery-sheened eyes and shark-like grins who guard the prison. There are the wheezers - twisted, malformed creatures in leather overcoats, their faces obscured by gas masks literally stitched to their skin. And there is the bloodwatch - an eerie red light that will suddenly wash over the prison cells in the dead of night, letting the inmates know the wheezers are coming for one of them. Alex struggles to hold on to his humanity, his sanity, and his hope that he will survive Furnace, even if survival means hatching an impossible scheme that could kill him. LOCKDOWN is one of the best books I have read this year! Smith's debut of the ESCAPE FROM FURNACE series keeps the reader fascinated from the first page; this is the first of a fantastic series!

posted by TeensReadToo on June 14, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

Not Impressed

Although Lockdown is well written, I just could not connect with this story. Right from the start I really didn't get the point and could not believe what was happening; and it only got worse. Little kids in prison for life in what is the equivalent of hell? I don't thi...
Although Lockdown is well written, I just could not connect with this story. Right from the start I really didn't get the point and could not believe what was happening; and it only got worse. Little kids in prison for life in what is the equivalent of hell? I don't thinks so. An adult would have a difficult time surviving such trauma and hopelessness but the author expected me to believe that children could endure?

posted by LadyHester on February 9, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 257 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 13
  • Posted June 14, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Hayes aka Haute Librarian for TeensReadToo

    Gold Star Award Winner! The future has arrived, and teen gangs are ruling the streets. Due to major carnage during the "Summer of Slaughter," authorities have cracked down and opened Furnace Penitentiary, a prison set deep underground for the worst teen offenders, where they will never see the light of day again. Alex Sawyer is sentenced to Furnace after being convicted of murdering his best friend, Toby. Alex says over and over again that he did not kill Toby, but his protests fall on deaf ears, even though it's the truth. Alex descends into Furnace, a prison hewn out of rough rock. He immediately notices the weak are prey and the strong will live, as the prison gang threatens his life and his new cellmate, Donovan, educates him on how to survive. There is more to fear than the prison gangs, or the slop called food served in the cafeteria. There are the black suits - enormous, hulking men with silvery-sheened eyes and shark-like grins who guard the prison. There are the wheezers - twisted, malformed creatures in leather overcoats, their faces obscured by gas masks literally stitched to their skin. And there is the bloodwatch - an eerie red light that will suddenly wash over the prison cells in the dead of night, letting the inmates know the wheezers are coming for one of them. Alex struggles to hold on to his humanity, his sanity, and his hope that he will survive Furnace, even if survival means hatching an impossible scheme that could kill him. LOCKDOWN is one of the best books I have read this year! Smith's debut of the ESCAPE FROM FURNACE series keeps the reader fascinated from the first page; this is the first of a fantastic series!

    26 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 7, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I usually don't say this, but... Lockdown. Is. Amazing!!! *inser

    I usually don't say this, but... Lockdown. Is. Amazing!!! *inserts hardcore-fan squeal*

    Being super engrossing and totally un-put-down-able, I couldn't stop reading this book, and ended up finishing it by 4 o'clock in the morning, only when I closed the book with a satisfied smile on my face and went to bed dreaming about Alex's Escape.

    What I love about this book:

    1. A hero with a complex personality. Alex Sawyer is a school bully, a thief and a burgular --- but never a killer. After he is accused of murdering his partner in crime Toby, he is sentenced to a life behind bars in Furnace Penitentiary, a prison of criminal teens which is located deep beneath the Earth. Alex arrives along with two other inmates, Zee and Monty, both wrongly accused of crimes they never did. When Alex sees Monty being bullied by the Skulls, he couldn't restrain his temper and lashed out to save the poor kid. He does this partly because of his guilt --- he remembered the way he used to terrorize his classmates and saw the monster which was once himself. Alex is not someone you would like at the beginning, but by the end of the novel, you will find yourself taking his side.

    2. The plot was entirely unpredictable. Quoting Donovan's own words on Furnace: You'll never know what will happen until it happens. I had a great experience of exploring Furnace, with its intimidating structure, scary proprietors, gory history and horrible inmates. Never once did this book disappoint me in any way. I was literally sucked into the gruesome yet fascinating world of the Furnace where the air is hot and scarce, the atmosphere creepy and frightening and the crushing weight of freedom comes down upon you.

    3. The world-building is amazing! From his capture to his developing Furnace-survival-skills to his planned prison break, Alex displays his growth both mentally and emotionally. We also observe how his mind is capable of thinking and creating ideas out of nothing. He did not plan of escape from the first moment he set foot in Furnace, but an idea started to hatch in his mind when certain possibilities open up to him.

    4. The literary devices are brilliant! Let me tell you, the author is very skilled in descriptive writing - he uses figures of speech such as metaphors and personifications with an unusual grace. Through his words, I had a clear image of Furnace in my mind's eye - I felt like I was in Alex's mind, seeing events unfolding through a glass.

    5. True friendship comes unexpectedly. Alex found his best friend in Donovan, a kid who was sentenced to life imprisonment because of accidentally killing his mom's abusive boyfriend. Alex became good friends with one of the inmates who arrived on the same day with him - a boy called Zee. I really liked how the author wrote their friendship - it felt real and genuine. They always stick up for each other although things went awry. It makes me realize that true friendship is indeed precious.

    Bottomline:
    Exciting, thrilling and gripping, Escape from Furnace: Lockdown will leave you with nightmares / thinking about it days after you've read it. I'm glad to announce that this book just made its way into my 2012 best books list! Can't wait for book #2!

    16 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2011

    Great

    To any one who likes a good villain this is your book. The story follows Alex who is fraimed. After his trail Alex is sentenced to life in Furnace. Soon he learns the true horrors that are hidden from the out side. Soon he find that he hae to escape. Only in furnace escape is impossible. So good I had my teacher read part. She had nightmares about it for the next week.
    All in all a great read.

    12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent

    The books cover and description do not disappoint! When I first picked up this book, I thought it sounded interesting, and different from the types of books I usually read. I never have gotten my heart racing from a book, but this one did it! Definitley read this book! You wont be disappointed. It is a little gory, so be warned!

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 21, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Awesome book

    A real page turner, got it for 2 bucks on itunes and am committed to the series now. It really gets you addicted! Wonderful story and writing.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 6, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    You know, I'm going to add James Patterson's quote about Lockdow

    You know, I'm going to add James Patterson's quote about Lockdown to the list of reasons why I really want to slap him sometimes. "Furnace will hook boys with it's gritty, unrelenting surprises." Really? Because girls can't enjoy a good horrific dystopian thriller.

    Men. Honestly.

    However, I do understand what he was saying. Because Furnace is divided up into men and women areas - I'm assuming, anyway - there's not one female character in the book. Understandably, it's harder to relate to, which is why it got a lower rating from me. The great thing about being a girl, though, is that you often have characters who may or may not remind you of guy friends or brothers or fathers and, therefore, you can relate to the book on some level, even if it's not the level you want.

    James Patterson's comments aside, Lockdown is a must-read for anybody who wants to cling to the edge of their chair. It's the horror movie for those of us who are afraid of horror movies - something we can read and be thrilled and scared of as we do so, and put it aside when it becomes to much. Or, if you're like me, you plow through it to the end, hoping to outrun this nightmare, and then remember it's just the first in the series.

    Thankfully, I happen to have the second one.

    The best part of Lockdown isn't the characters that you meet - though, I do admit, I have a soft spot for Donovan and would really like to know what is happening to him. (Maybe I should stop writing this review and go read the second one - nah, I'll finish this first.) The best part is the completely amazing dystopian world that's been created. From the men in the gas masks (one of my friends is terrified of gas masks, and another owns one, which makes this even better) to the dogs without skin - yes, you read that right - the absolutely horrific edge that Furnace has is amazing.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 27, 2012

    I loved it and I still do and I can't find another book/series

    I loved it and I still do and I can't find another book/series like it. It hooks you in and you have to hang on and enjoy the ride. You get to meet the characters and you get to know them on such a personal level that you feel that you are there with them and that you've know them all your life. I just want them to make a movie on this series. Perfect all around and so thriling but if you dont like comedy,thriller,action, and horror wrapped into one then this book/series is not for you.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 29, 2012

    I was addicted!

    This isnt anothor review were i say yay!! This was great well no this is another reveiw saying i love this book!!!!! Listen if ur looking for a scary book then this is ok for it but its more disturbing i still loved it ALOT!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2012

    This book will send chills down your spine

    This book is teaching a bully a lesson. The name of it is Lockdown. The bully’s name is Alex. Him and his friends were always pushing people around getting what they wanted from them. But very soon they regretted that. Alex does something that gets his friend killed and almost him with it. He gets blamed for the murder but truthfully he never did it, these people in black suits and gas masks on made it look like it was him. Alex gets blamed and sent to a place called furnace. Furnace was a huge jail underground that is filled with pschopaths. Alex has to try and survive and be careful about the choices he makes.
    I really like this story because it scares you and it’s a really intense story through the whole thing. You kind of feel like you are in the story and you have to do your best to survive. If you put yourself in that perspective it makes it a lot better.
    The only thing I didn’t like was how the story ends. Alex makes a few friends but he eventually finds out he wont be with them for too long. With just one little mistake his life could be ruined. I would really recommend this book if you like the feeling of being scared.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2011

    AMAZING, AWESOME, AND POSITIVELY INTERESTING

    I can honestly say that thos os one of the best series of the century. Alexander Gordon Smith has certainly outdone himself! And this book, especially, is the best of the series, I must add.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 30, 2011

    BEst BOOK EVER

    the author used so much detail i felt like i was in furnacce with alex READ NOW

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2014

    Read this book

    This book is so good that I got two other friends interested in this series. I say that this series is for 11-30 year olds but that is just a segestion. I am 12 and I love this series. I would spend a fortune on this series because it is so good. I didn't buy the books but my school library has the first three books but I am looking to buy the forth and fifth books. Chow:)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 18, 2013

    Cover: Its a very cool cover depicting one of the creatures that

    Cover: Its a very cool cover depicting one of the creatures that lurk in the shadows of furnace that come in the middle of the night to take young prisoners. Known as a Wheezer. In the red eye I believe it would be the main character in this book young Alex Sawyer. I love this cover it just makes you want to pick the book up in order to see what that being is.




    Summary: Furnace Penitentiary: the world’s most secure prison for young offenders, buried a mile beneath the earth’s surface. Convicted of a murder he didn't commit, sentenced to life without parole, “new fish” Alex Sawyer knows he has two choices: find a way out, or resign himself to a death behind bars, in the darkness at the bottom of the world. Except in Furnace, death is the least of his worries. Soon Alex discovers that the prison is a place of pure evil, where inhuman creatures in gas masks stalk the corridors at night, where giants in black suits drag screaming inmates into the shadows, where deformed beasts can be heard howling from the blood-drenched tunnels below. And behind everything is the mysterious, all-powerful warden, a man as cruel and dangerous as the devil himself, whose unthinkable acts have consequences that stretch far beyond the walls of the prison.




    My Thoughts: I picked up this book because of the cover, it drew me in immediately. The story about how furnace came to be and how the kids ended up there is awesome and so detailed, as is the entire story. This book made me fear the Wheezer's like I was one of the prisoners and it just kept me until the last word which I then begged to read the others to find out what would happen to my favorite prisoners. Its a thrill a minute ride and will make you scared and make you feel lucky we do not have a place like furnace in this world, were even death isn't an escape. Awesome read love this series.




    Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2012

    Amazing book

    If you want a suspence horror/amazing book this is for you. The author made this book unable to put down. I will defenitly share about this book. Just plained fasenated how the author put it together. This book is best for ages 13 to 18 just connecting with the charecters. Can't wait for the 2nd book to come out!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2012

    I was addicted the second I read the sample of this book. I have

    I was addicted the second I read the sample of this book. I have started reading a lot of dystopian society books as of late and this one is by far my favorite. The approach that is taken here is so much different than what has been circling around these days (not that those books are not great as well). This book will have you doing nothing but read from start to finish. The characters are extremely likable and the action never stops. The imagination that goes into this book is great as well. If you do not like strange creatures and some gore I would not recommend this for you. I have read all the books that have come out so far (4 of them) and none have come close to disappointing me.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2011

    Fantastic!

    I couldnt put this book down!
    It was detailed and one of my favorites.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2011

    The best

    Keeps me on the edge and end of chapters always have u guessing. Real good book!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 17, 2011

    best book ever

    it will keep u on your feet. and youll problay be reading for hours and hours at a time

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Great Book!

    It all started many years ago in the playground, where Alex took Daniel Richard's money. That led him to start robbing houses with his friend Toby; now Toby is dead, and Alex was imprisoned in Furnace for a murder he didn't commit. Life in Furnace is hell, they make you work 'til you can't move from exhaustion, they feed you a tasteless mixture of rotten food, and you are in constant danger. But in Furnace, a gang beating you up is not the worst thing that could happen, mutant dogs could chew you to pieces, piggy eyed wheezers could take you in the night and turn you to some kind of monster. Alex is trapped with no chance of escape, but he refuses to accept that. He needs to find a way out. Soon.

    I was lucky enough to receive an ARC of this book. I thought it was absolutely great! It had many twists and turns, I kept trying to guess what was going to happen next, every time my predictions were wrong. This book was like nothing I've ever read before, it was unique and interesting. I recommend this book to anyone who likes a good, suspenseful, adrenalin-packed thriller.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2014

    did anyone else think "are you my mummy?" when they sa

    did anyone else think "are you my mummy?" when they saw the cover? no, just me, ok.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 257 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 13