Customer Reviews for

Lockdown: Escape from Furnace 1

Average Rating 4.5
( 355 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(251)

4 Star

(69)

3 Star

(22)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

25 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

Reviewed by Hayes aka Haute Librarian for TeensReadToo

Gold Star Award Winner! The future has arrived, and teen gangs are ruling the streets. Due to major carnage during the "Summer of Slaughter," authorities have cracked down and opened Furnace Penitentiary, a prison set deep underground for the worst teen offenders, where...
Gold Star Award Winner! The future has arrived, and teen gangs are ruling the streets. Due to major carnage during the "Summer of Slaughter," authorities have cracked down and opened Furnace Penitentiary, a prison set deep underground for the worst teen offenders, where they will never see the light of day again. Alex Sawyer is sentenced to Furnace after being convicted of murdering his best friend, Toby. Alex says over and over again that he did not kill Toby, but his protests fall on deaf ears, even though it's the truth. Alex descends into Furnace, a prison hewn out of rough rock. He immediately notices the weak are prey and the strong will live, as the prison gang threatens his life and his new cellmate, Donovan, educates him on how to survive. There is more to fear than the prison gangs, or the slop called food served in the cafeteria. There are the black suits - enormous, hulking men with silvery-sheened eyes and shark-like grins who guard the prison. There are the wheezers - twisted, malformed creatures in leather overcoats, their faces obscured by gas masks literally stitched to their skin. And there is the bloodwatch - an eerie red light that will suddenly wash over the prison cells in the dead of night, letting the inmates know the wheezers are coming for one of them. Alex struggles to hold on to his humanity, his sanity, and his hope that he will survive Furnace, even if survival means hatching an impossible scheme that could kill him. LOCKDOWN is one of the best books I have read this year! Smith's debut of the ESCAPE FROM FURNACE series keeps the reader fascinated from the first page; this is the first of a fantastic series!

posted by TeensReadToo on June 14, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

Not Impressed

Although Lockdown is well written, I just could not connect with this story. Right from the start I really didn't get the point and could not believe what was happening; and it only got worse. Little kids in prison for life in what is the equivalent of hell? I don't thi...
Although Lockdown is well written, I just could not connect with this story. Right from the start I really didn't get the point and could not believe what was happening; and it only got worse. Little kids in prison for life in what is the equivalent of hell? I don't thinks so. An adult would have a difficult time surviving such trauma and hopelessness but the author expected me to believe that children could endure?

posted by LadyHester on February 9, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 251 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 13
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2014

    This book is the good

    I licked it :) im not good at speling

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 5, 2014

    This book was a thriller and is by far one of the best books I h

    This book was a thriller and is by far one of the best books I have ever read. The motto conveys what the book is about perfectly,

    “beneath heaven is hell and beneath hell is the Furnace.”

    It's about thrills and chills. The book was so jaw-dropping and amazing, that I kept going to my family and reading parts to them.
    By the time I got done I literally had no voice, I sounded like a bizarre mouse squeaking out words. It seemed like every other paragraph something comes that you didn't see.
    Every time, you just stare at the page and say-
    Woah.


    I definitely recommend!
    It's hard to tell whether I had light amounts of language or a medium amount, the blood rushing, adrenaline raising content really left my ‘how much’ scale disoriented.
    Based on the length of the book I would have to say it was a medium amount, but again with the action it was hard to take notice.
    My only lasting question was “Why have I never heard of this author before?!” 

    Solitary (book 2)

    I don'’t want to tell you about the actual story, it would give far too much away. I can say this; It was amazing, just as good as the first, if not better! Smith continues to weave his plethora of horrors with Furnace.. Just the sheer amount of surprises are insane. Paragraph after paragraph the last sentence almost always delivers a punch. A lot of sequels let down readers, this is not one of them.
     I cannot wait to get my hands on the third book. Of course, the negative, is the language (medium amount.) I still highly recommend this series. 


    Death Sentence (book 3) was AMAZING. I definitely recommend this series. (unless you're easy to scare!)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2014

    This is one of the better books I've read in a long time! I foun

    This is one of the better books I've read in a long time! I found the story to be very original, and the characters to be interesting and believeable. I'm almost 60 years old and have read tons of books. I have been alittle gun shy of the "young adult" genre because of all the werewolves and vampires. But this series is totally different. I cannot wait to read the next book in the series! Braco Mr. Smith! well done!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2013

    Nick

    Nice

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2013

    To: question

    You are definitely ok for this series :) all of the books are at my middle school library soo....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2013

    Bumble budies

    Penislands

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 6, 2013

    Loved this book. Looking forward to reading the entire series.

    Loved this book.
    Looking forward to reading the entire series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2013

    AMAZING!!!!!!!!!!!

    I AM A HUGE FAN THIS IS ONE OF THE BEST SERIES I'VE EVER READ!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2013

    Lockdown, by Alexander Gordon Smith, is a fictional story about

    Lockdown, by Alexander Gordon Smith, is a fictional story about a trouble-some boy named Alex. Alex gets framed and imprisoned for the murder of his best friend Toby. Alex then was declared a life sentence to Furnace Penitentiary. Furnace is a place where every child murderer goes, almost like a prison but far worse. When Alex arrives at Furnace he goes down to the pits of Furnace where he meets Donovan. In Furnace whenever the siren goes off all the cell mates are to be in their cells and whoever isn’t in their cell is killed. At night while the inmates are asleep the siren goes off and these creatures with gas masks (wheezers) come up to cells and put an X on the cell door. They then take an inmate from the cell and carry them to the laboratory where they do experiments.
    Donovan is taken in the middle of the night and Alex won’t let them take him without a fight. He plans every day on how he is going to get Donovan back and begins to come up with a brilliant plan. Only time will tell when or if he makes it to Donavan alive. or not.
    This Novel is a very quick and easy read full of action from start to finish and I recommend this book to anyone who loves a good thriller.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2013

    My mom

    This book was amazing, nothing more to be said.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2013

    Awesome

    Keeps you on your toes from the first paage

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2013

    Grrat Great book

    I usualy dont like to read books but this
    Book was great

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2013

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2013

    To wont load

    Delete the sample off your nook

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2013

    To: below

    Ikr! Al, for a bonus, they should have added a little bit of complicated love. I dont know but i love romance. Complicated romance. Other than that i loved this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2013

    End too soon

    Make it longer but i recommend this book to people who like thrill and adventure and action

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2013

    Best bok EVER!!!!!!

    I got this books sample thinking that I might not read it. I got to to end of the sample and was addicted! I bought the whole book and I could not put it down. The only bad thing about this book is that you can not put it down and you might get in trouble!!! If I could give it 1,000,000,000,000,000,000,000 stars, I would!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2013

    Jahari

    This book is action paccked and hard to put down

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2013

    would anyone recommend this to a 12 year old?or is it too graphi

    would anyone recommend this to a 12 year old?or is it too graphic?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2013

    Probably the best book (and the best series) that I have ever re

    Probably the best book (and the best series) that I have ever read. It gets you hooked from the beginning and the amalgamation of: threatening characters, a complex antagonist character and spin-tingling horror makes for an incredible "un-putdownable" book!!!
    Smithy-Age 13  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 251 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 13