Customer Reviews for

Locke and Key, Volume 1: Welcome to Lovecraft

Average Rating 4.5
( 48 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(26)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Imaginative, unique, and gripping!

As the vice president of the Grraphic Novel Club in college, this book was my most recomended to our members. The story is jam packed with suspense and the characters are instantly relatable and lovable, or terrifying. I would recommend this to anybody with a strong sto...
As the vice president of the Grraphic Novel Club in college, this book was my most recomended to our members. The story is jam packed with suspense and the characters are instantly relatable and lovable, or terrifying. I would recommend this to anybody with a strong stomach for blood, for the content can be quite gorey. Definitely one of the best stories I have ever come across.

posted by Anonymous on December 23, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Please be advised that if you buy this as a nook book, and wish

Please be advised that if you buy this as a nook book, and wish to view it on a PC, there is no way to do so. My guess is this is because of some draconian DRM mandate IDW is forcing on B&N. Buy a physical copy instead.

posted by 3895960 on May 8, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 16 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted April 26, 2014

    Weird and creepy

    Huh, well this was something. Of course it be something like that, what with lovecraft, a creepy mansion and a freaking well. Wells are great aren't they? Did these kids not see the ring? Also nice, 30 Days of Night poster in the background there.

    Anyway, I wasn't sure I was going to like the art. But you know what? It wasn't that bad, and you do get used to it. The suspense was really good. Then it got weird and more weird. And weird. Love the cover though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2014

    Great book, terrible service

    I have 25 dollar gift card but it wont allow me to purchase anything unless I give my credit card, this book is fantastic but b&n needs to allow us to use gift cards to buy things, I don't mind paying an extra dollar for amazon or google plays ebooks.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2012

    My first real graphic novel.

    And definitely not the last. I'm hooked!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2012

    Great comic

    I loved this. The art, story, and characters were all great. I do not read many graphic novels, but I will read more of this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2012

    Would buy again.

    Excellent story, gorgeous panels. A very addicting comic series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 7, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Great Opening to the Series

    Locke and Key holds a great story with many surprises and lots of confusion. Not the bad kind. The plot is fresh and interesting and it goes along well with the artwork which was a little offsetting to me at first but I got used to it. Every time I think about this graphic novel I think of how many things they could do with that idea, how many stories they could make. I think Locke and Key could last for a long time and keep it fresh every single issue.

    Book Rating: 4/5
    Reviewed by Kole for Book Sake.

    Book Review
    I read this one at the prompting of my boyfriend and devoured it quickly. The storyline is engrossing and the characters are fully realized in just this first volume, which I find rare for many graphic novels. There was some confusion for me in the beginning as you are just thrown into the story of the keys without any preparation about what they mean. There are so many different keys that do different things that this story could go anywhere. This is a great graphic novel for those looking for something a little off kilter and based on the story and the characters more than the artwork. Though the artwork is also great and sets the mood and tone of the story wonderfully .It was dark, but realistic at the same time. The characters are so well fleshed out that it surprised me for a graphic novel. Often this is a part of the story that is skipped over in comics, but not here, which is what’s keeping me reading further into this series. Review for volume 2 coming soon!

    Book Rating: 4/5
    Reviewed by Jessica for Book Sake.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 18, 2010

    Great Find for Fairly New Graphic Novel Reader

    Brooding, detailed and most wonderfully colored illustrations I've ever seen and a story line that leaves you wanting more, of course. Anxiously awaiting arrival of second book at my door. "Comic book" style of story gives just enough words to let my imagination run wild with the rest. Read in a day and took next two days to leisurely go over every frame of art to notice details easily overlooked.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2009

    If only Locke & Key had been a novel of the non-graphic variety. . .

    I found Locke & Key to be a wonderfully inventive and gripping story! My chief criticism likely stems from the fact that I am new to the graphic novel universe. But, I found the illustrations so grotesque that they were a distraction, rather than an enhancement or compliment, to the story. Still, Joe Hill's writing was worth the effort it took attempting not to linger overlong on the disturbing (and not "disturbing" in a good way) artwork.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Not a bag graphic novel/story at all, and it opens at the end for more potential stories that can basically go anywhere.

    First off, I read (and listen to, thank you audible.com) novels, graphic novels, computer books and comics. I like a horror/thriller and look for that genre mostly but I also like a good story no matter what the subject is. With Locke and Key, you get a pretty good story in a graphic novel that is illustrated well and the artwork grew on me as I read. I did not think the artwork was bad at all when i first saw it, it was just different than what some horror/fantasy/supernatural art is, which is a good thing in my opinion.
    Is this the best thing you will ever read if you are into this genre? No, but it is worth a look if you just read novels and it is definitely worth a look is you are already into comics. I would say that this is a good beginning to a story that will spread in many different ways in the world of Joe Hill and Locke & Key comics.
    The hardcover edition itself is beautiful and I will be keeping it in my graphic novel collection.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 16 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1