Customer Reviews for

Locked (The Alpha Group Trilogy, #1)

Average Rating 4
( 397 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(205)

4 Star

(115)

3 Star

(43)

2 Star

(21)

1 Star

(13)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

18 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

This story was wonderful. I went into it expecting another 'rich

This story was wonderful. I went into it expecting another 'rich guy meets you naive girl' story, and while there is a little of that here, its different enough to stand on its own. First, the protagonist isn't another timid little virgin, she's whip sharp and headstron...
This story was wonderful. I went into it expecting another 'rich guy meets you naive girl' story, and while there is a little of that here, its different enough to stand on its own. First, the protagonist isn't another timid little virgin, she's whip sharp and headstrong and it makes the whole story much more enjoyable. You're really rooting for her. Second, Sebastian isn't just a young, rich business mogul, but something much more mysterious. This book asks a lot of questions, and we don't get too many answers. I thought this might annoy me after reading some other reviews, but the way the mystery built was really well done. All it's done is left me wanting more!

Like one of the other reviews said, I also found the introduction to BDSM very enjoyable. Sebastian doesn't just grab her and begin spanking, as so often happens in other stories like this. He eases her into it. The build up is fantastic, and when they finally do get into the bedroom, it's explosive and super hot.

It was a little short, but I knew that going in, and all I can say is that May can't come soon enough.

posted by RBudgey on April 2, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

24 out of 45 people found this review helpful.

To the Author, No M'am I will not be conned into some half-assed

To the Author, No M'am I will not be conned into some half-assed book in a bunch of parts. That is a rip off. Whatever happened to good stand alones? What is wrong with you people?!

posted by Thereviewerofromance on April 10, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 115 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted March 29, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I really enjoyed this story!  Sophia is the kind of gal I¿d want

    I really enjoyed this story!  Sophia is the kind of gal I’d want to hang out with.  She’s spunky, confident, funny, and has a good head on her shoulders.  She had me laughing out loud at some of her comments and I appreciate that she isn’t a pushover like a lot of female characters are.  Sebastian is one hell of a mysterious character! I’d like to say I know more about him than what he looks like and that he sure knows how to flaunt his sexual prowess, but I don’t…and honestly I’m ok with that!  It makes things that much more interesting.  The chemistry between Sophia and Sebastian is well written…with a push and pull between them that provides a great build up of sexual tension.  This was a great first installment to a series and even with a HUGE cliffhanger at the end, I definitely recommend.  As for the warning of BDSM, yes, there is a scene at the end that is definitely worthy of that classification and will definitely please all the Fifty fans out there!

    11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    **4.5 Stars** We've all read at least one...a book with an insan

    **4.5 Stars**
    We've all read at least one...a book with an insanely gorgeous, total alpha-male, enigmatic millionaire with a penchant for a little kink. A book with a beautiful woman, who maybe lacks a bit of confidence, but who is inexplicably drawn to that alpha-male. Locked is one of those books. But while it appears formulaic on the surface, it never reads formulaic-ly. In fact, I think Locked is smartly written, with perfect pacing and likeable characters. I was immediately drawn in hook, line, and sinker! And I enjoyed the heck out of it!




    Our beautiful heroine, Sophia Pearce, is a lawyer. She is intelligent and extremely driven. She has great friends but with her work load, she has little time for a social life. On a rare night out to celebrate a friend's engagement, Sophia stumbles upon a secret party area, in a hole-in-the-wall bar. And in her alcohol-induced state of curiosity, she meets Sebastian.




    Sebastian Lock, our enigmatic hero, is just that. He works as a venture capitalist but other than that little tidbit, and the fact he's obviously loaded, we know little about him. Well, we DO know he definitely fills out a 3-piece suit and has a special talent with a paddle. ;)




    When Sophia and Sebastian meet, there is instant chemistry. Sebastian is brash and very persistent in his pursuit of Sophia. Although Sophia knows she should be put off by his behavior, it serves only to intensify her attraction to him. The two finally agree to a casual affair because neither has the time to dedicate to a relationship. However, casual is a word interestingly defined in Sebastian's vocabulary. While he desires to expose Sophia to pleasures she never knew existed, he also seems to determined to keep Sophia at arm's length. Sophia isn't sure she likes this arrangement. And Sebastian has secrets - both personal and professional. Sophia isn't sure the intense chemistry between them is enough to compensate for a lack of trust.




    I appreciate the strength and intelligence Sophia exudes. This girl can hold her own. She might be vulnerable where trust is concerned, but she's not fragile...she's no shrinking violet. Sebastian, well he's just yummy! ;) He's completely alpha-male and unapologetic about it. But I think he's met his match in Sophia.




    I am completely enamored with these two characters as well as Ms. Cross' writing. In Locked, Ms. Cross gives us just enough to whet our appetite but leave us hungry for more. I'm very pleased that I won't have to wait long for the next books in the trilogy. I MUST know what Sebastian is hiding. And how he's going to work his way out of the pickle he's in at the end of Locked. 




    Is Locked formulaic? Yes and no. But it's absolutely worth the read!




    Favorite Quotes:
    "In that kiss, I saw a prelude of what was to come. It was as strong and intoxicating as the man himself."
    -Sophia 
    "I didn't know exactly what I was committing to, but I wasn't sure I had a choice anymore. The strange hunger Sebastian has awakened inside me wasn't going away."
    -Sophia
    "'I'm yours,' I said, my voice quaking. There was a sense of finality about that statement that echoed within me long after the words were gone."
    -Sophia

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Will leave you wanting more!

    Locked is the first book in a new erotic romance trilogy by newcomer Maya Cross. It has light BDSM elements that include spanking and restraints. While I can’t truly say that it grabbed my attention from the very beginning, I can say that once it had my attention, it didn’t let it go.

    Sophia Pearce is a low level attorney who desperately wants to advance in her career. I mention this because this could be a small puzzle piece to what happens in the trilogy. Sophia and her two best friends are out bar hopping, celebrating one friend’s upcoming wedding. The three ladies end up in a crappy looking bar that interestingly enough keeps having well dressed people coming in and going straight to the back of the bar, never to be seen again. Finally, Sophia has had enough and decides that she HAS to know what’s behind the doors. After managing to sneak past security, Sophia enters a back-roomed bar that is so much better than the one she just left. While inside the secret room, she meets Sebastian Locke.

    Sebastian Locke passes himself off as working for a venture capital firm. Sebastian oozes sex appeal and power but he’s also mysterious. There’s something about him that doesn’t add up. After their initial meeting, Sebastian starts to show up in places where Sophia least expects to see him. But I wouldn’t call him a stalker just yet. Sebastian introduces Sophia to the world of BDSM.

    Locked is a cat and mouse game being played out between Sophia and Sebastian. The ending of this first book will definitely have you wanting more. It ends with a cliffhanger that actually caught me by surprise. This is a series that will NOT stand alone. You are going to have to read all three books. I am definitely looking forward to seeing what happens next.

    Source: Author
    Reviewed for Read Your Writes Book Reviews

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Maya Cross had this to say about her writing: "I believe in

    Maya Cross had this to say about her writing: "I believe in writing familiar narratives told with a twist, so most of my stories will feel comfortable, but hopefully a little unique." I think that is an accurate assessment after having read LOCKED. The trope is tried and true and definitely familiar. You either enjoy this type of story or you don't. While I'm beginning to get turned off by trilogies that could easily be written as one complete and cohesive story, this story managed to hold my attention, and I found it more than enjoyable.

    Sophia Pearce isn't a naive girl fresh out of college, she's a lawyer with ambition and spunk. A night out on the town with her girlfriends leads to a lot of drinking, and on a dare, she manages to sneak into what appears to be an exclusive event for some very wealthy patrons where she captures the attention of Sebastian Locke. Before anyone has time to figure out that she's a party crasher, she tries to hightail it out of there, but gets lost and ends up in Sebastian's office. Her snooping is interrupted when Sebastian shows up and he's not alone. Huddled in his closet, she witnesses him punishing his secretary for her previous interruption. Sophia is shocked to discover that she's aroused by what she's seen. If she thought she could put her drunken adventure behind her and forget all about it, Sebastian is about to show her how wrong she is.

    This was a nice change from the usual naive, inexperienced heroines who manage to get tangled up by a rich CEO hero with dominant tendencies. Sophia knows about kink and BDSM, she's just never had the opportunity to try it. When she crosses paths with Sebastian, she's physically attracted to him, and it's apparent that he wants her too. Sophia knows what she wants, and a no-strings attached sexual relationship sounds perfect. But where she wants exclusivity, Sebastian is not a fan of it. Someone will have to give if there's going to be any spanking and tumbling. Sebastian is not only a mystery to her, but also to the reader. He has secrets, and he's keeping them close to his vest. Their chemistry doesn't really come to fruition until their first dinner date where he proves he is capable of having a proper conversation with her. Apparently that was the right card to play because before dessert, he's already making her an offer she can't and doesn't want to refuse.

    The sex ... wow! Ms Cross sure can write some scorching scenes. I liked that their first intimate encounter wasn't the usual series of events I've read over and over again; it was just a little different. Apparently our hero is not only good-looking, he's also got a tattoo, and he's extremely well endowed.

    The story moves at a smooth pace, and like I said earlier, I liked the mysterious hero. There is some significance to his tattoo that he plays off, then there are bits and pieces of information that Sophia has managed to gather. As the reader I'm wondering if he's on the up and up or is he perhaps involved in some type of criminal activity? Does he have Mafia ties or something to that effect? I definitely want to know more about him and how their arrangement will work out for them. And of course I want to see what other wicked delights Sebastian has in store for her. I'll make sure to stock up on some ice for book #2.

    Disclaimer: I received a review copy from the author in exchange for an honest review.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 30, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Sophia Pearce isn't one to stand back while something intrigue

    Sophia Pearce isn't one to stand back while something intrigues her. She sneaks into a bar and meets Sebastian Lock. Sebastian seems to be just as intrigued and when Sophia runs out on him he hunts her down and gives her a proposal to consider. Sophia can't deny that there is chemistry between her and Sebastian but can she meet the casual standards he wants to set on their relationship.

    This is a short story basically in a set of three novels...Locked, LockOut, and UnLocked. The first one, Locked, is well written and flows well. The characters keep you intrigued and there is enough drama to keep you guessing on where the story is gonna go and making you want to finish to the end just to find out.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 26, 2013

    Enjoyed it

    Good book. Enjoyed it but I wish authors would quit with trilogy when they are this short. Just write one long book and be done instead of me having to go back and try to remember what happened in this dies of books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2014

    Must Read

    This is a fun trilogy! It's sexy and has mystery and a great love story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2014

    Its readable. I would definitely read the next two books.

    Smooth intro to bdms

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2014

    BUENA

    Me quede con ganas de mas

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2014

    Enjoyed the series

    Enjoyed the entire series and look forward to more books from this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2013

    Great read

    Great hot read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2013

    Good

    Read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2013

    I enjoyed it

    Looking forward to book 2 :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2013

    Short and Sweet

    Yes this is a sensual book, but it has a pretty good story line. I would recommend this one to people who are not avid readers, because the author does a very good job of getting to the point right away. I would have liked it to be a little longer, but it was still very good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2013

    I enjoyed reading the story very much.  I only gave it  four sta

    I enjoyed reading the story very much.  I only gave it  four stars because I think it would have been more enjoyable if it was longer..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2013

    Maya Cross

    It took a few pages to get into the story but once I did I couldn't put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2013

    Red hot story, would have given it 5 stars, however...enough wit

    Red hot story, would have given it 5 stars, however...enough with the cliff hanger endings! I'll pay more for a longer story that I have to wait longer for! (I'd have given it 5 stars otherwise). I purchased all 3 books at the same time, and am half way thru #2. Really enjoying the series and look forward to #3 and the conclusion. Fortunately I don't have to wait!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2013

    When I first read the blurb for this book, I think that I had th

    When I first read the blurb for this book, I think that I had the same 'fear' as many other people, that this book was going to be just like all the other erotica books that are out there right now. But after reading it, I am completely glad that I read this book! While it does have some aspects that are in other books out there, this book has it's own sense of originality about it that makes it stand out from all the others.


    Sophia is a character that is willing to do whatever she wants, without care of the consequences. She shows that part of her personality many times throughout the whole story. Sebastian is a completely mystery, which usually bugs me when it comes to the main male character in books because that seems to be the trend. But Maya was able to pull of his mystery in such a way that it kept me interesting.


    One thing that I did completely enjoy about this book was that although it is an erotica book, it was not just sex. There was more to the story than them getting 'jiggy wit it', we were able to learn more about Sophia. Unfortunately, we didn't get to learn more about Sebastian but I have hopes that we will learn more about him in the next book.


    All in all, this is a really good book, a great start to the series and a complete recommendation from me!

    Review provided by Crystal's Many Reviews

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2013

    Me

    :0)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2013

    I really liked this series. The first book is a little pointless

    I really liked this series. The first book is a little pointless but if you can get through that (it is very short) books 2 and 3 are great! I read all 3 of them in 3 days. The story line is different and it is refreshing that it does not lead down the abuse path as Fifty Shades and Crossfire did. I actually think this series would make a better movie than Fifty, better plot. Enjoy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 115 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6