Customer Reviews for

Locked On

Average Rating 4
( 352 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(148)

4 Star

(82)

3 Star

(61)

2 Star

(36)

1 Star

(25)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

41 out of 62 people found this review helpful.

Thank God, He's back

Not even finished with this book. Its back to the old ways and its great!!

To all u bleeding heart liberals... bet its just not nice when somebody tells you how the world really operates and the media can't ignore it or cover it up huh?

love it!!

So glad to see...
Not even finished with this book. Its back to the old ways and its great!!

To all u bleeding heart liberals... bet its just not nice when somebody tells you how the world really operates and the media can't ignore it or cover it up huh?

love it!!

So glad to see you back Tom!

posted by sirbrit on December 22, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

49 out of 130 people found this review helpful.

Clancy has sold Ryan out politically

Though Clancy continues to write excellent well thought out action scenes he brought out his Republican agenda with a heavy hand in this book. Where Ryan used to be an independent (or at least a man of the people who knew both parties have faults) he is now fully in th...
Though Clancy continues to write excellent well thought out action scenes he brought out his Republican agenda with a heavy hand in this book. Where Ryan used to be an independent (or at least a man of the people who knew both parties have faults) he is now fully in the conservative corner. Whereas earlier Clancy's books showed Kealty was a slimy politician, now he seems to represent the entire liberal agenda. Clancy also rails against liberal media (but though he calls out MSNBC and CBS, he doesn't do anything about the slant of FOX)

Some quoted text.

"I saw some nutjob on MSNBC"
"Liberal bias in the media was a fact of nature"

One other thing that bugged me was continuity. If I'm not mistaken, in Sum of all Fears, Denver was destroyed by a nuclear weapon. So...how could this line happen in this story.

"a guy at a Kealty Q&A in Denver had the temerity"

posted by Driftwood on December 15, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 354 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 18
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2011

    Clancy has sold Ryan out politically

    Though Clancy continues to write excellent well thought out action scenes he brought out his Republican agenda with a heavy hand in this book. Where Ryan used to be an independent (or at least a man of the people who knew both parties have faults) he is now fully in the conservative corner. Whereas earlier Clancy's books showed Kealty was a slimy politician, now he seems to represent the entire liberal agenda. Clancy also rails against liberal media (but though he calls out MSNBC and CBS, he doesn't do anything about the slant of FOX)

    Some quoted text.

    "I saw some nutjob on MSNBC"
    "Liberal bias in the media was a fact of nature"

    One other thing that bugged me was continuity. If I'm not mistaken, in Sum of all Fears, Denver was destroyed by a nuclear weapon. So...how could this line happen in this story.

    "a guy at a Kealty Q&A in Denver had the temerity"

    49 out of 130 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 22, 2011

    Thank God, He's back

    Not even finished with this book. Its back to the old ways and its great!!

    To all u bleeding heart liberals... bet its just not nice when somebody tells you how the world really operates and the media can't ignore it or cover it up huh?

    love it!!

    So glad to see you back Tom!

    41 out of 62 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    First of all, I just have to say that if some of these reviewers haven't figured out by now that a novel written 'with' the author is never up to the standards of a novel written 'by' the author then maybe they should stick to non-fiction.
    Second of all, if you're going to let 2 short phrases out of a 544 page novel, sway your opinion of the whole book then why waste your money on a Clancy novel to begin with? No criticism of Fox News? That's right, but I didn't see any criticism of CNN either and they are just as liberally biased as Fox is Conservative. Who the heck watches MSNBC anyway?
    Can you imagine the plot for a spy/action/war/espionage novel written by an author with liberal bias? What would it be about; how polite we were when we asked for our drone back? How many of our guys get killed before we get to fire back? What's the proper degree of back bend when bowing to the Chinese premier or the king of Saudi Arabia? What's the protocol for a state dinner for the president of Iran?
    Ok, now that I have that off my chest, I thought this was a very well written, exciting and well researched book. It's what I look for in an action novel of this type; action, excitement, intrigue, heroism, the good guys beat the bad guys. The bad guys don't play fair, why should we? In short - when I read about about US forces against enemy forces I like it when we win.
    Now I too am going to go back and reread some on Clancy's older novels (with and by) so I can refresh my memory on how some of the old characters like John and Chavez developed. I will continue to be Clancy fan until until his choice of co-authors forgets whose side he or she is on.

    40 out of 45 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2011

    Excellent as always

    Read this book in 5 days. Couldn't put it down. The twist of the election and the biased and evil billionaire (George Soros?) Was a nice turn. The complaining from others about the liberal bashing is comical. Where are your complaints on the poor products being turned out by the liberal media daily in real life? This is a FICTION book written as entertainment. Reading is a true escape for me and Tom Clancy writings really help me relax. Can't wait for the next one in this series. Thank you Tom!

    28 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 20, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    This book is a scorcher, just try to put it down!

    Tom Clancy with Mark Greaney have a armchair gripping spy thriller that is eerily pertinent with regard to current international affairs. Even though this is fiction, it opens the reader's eyes to the very real possibility that a variant these circumstances could conceivably happen in any of several unstable countries or sympathetic governments with a dual agenda. At 853 pages it's a whopper--but it's a fast read. I finished it in 3 days time. If nothing else, I gives the reader a good reason to keep informed on international and national events...not to be lulled into complacency in today's endless cable news cycles with a biased agenda, and not take every postulation at face value. Pretty sure there's another round forthcoming!

    22 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2011

    should have been published by Rupert Murdock

    Too bad Tom Clancy has given up writing interesting novels and started writing conservative manifestos. used to enjoy his books but if I want to read biased dribble I will turn off the sound and close caption fox news.

    21 out of 76 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2011

    Becoming more and more political (unfortunately)

    Clancy's books featuring Jack Ryan have always hustled right along, with good characterizations, excellent scene setting, and the ability to put the reader into the action without bogging one down in boring minutiae. This book is no different, and if that's all you're looking for you won't be disappointed.

    But over the years, Clancy has actually changed the Ryan character significantly. While Ryan was never completely apolitical, he seemed to operate above that plane, on a more noble level, his actions as often as not based on practical, realistic considerations instead of base political ones. In this book, virtually every page has some form of right-wing political commentary - a piece of dialog, a character's thought, an author's note meant to set the scene. At times the book reads like it was co-written by a Fox News commentator.

    According to the authors, the entire Campus team is made up of noble, dedicated, Oliver North types, working their brave patriotic magic behind the scenes because the venal, cowardly powers that be just can't be trusted to do what is right. The American press is assumed to be liberal; anyone whose politics are to the left of Dick Cheney is simple minded, deluded, greedy, or dedicated to the destruction of all that is right and good. There is no middle ground in this tale, no possibility that people can accept the movements toward popular self-determination across the Middle east without believing that there is the possibility that our strategic interests may not be served but that we may not have a say in the matter.

    This book is full of moral absolutes, both domestically and internationally; it's a black-and-white version of a technicolor world. You'll enjoy it if that's how you think, but if your mind is more open to other opinions, I think you'll find it hard to slog through the endless editorializing.

    15 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 17, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    great

    Excellent book. Keeps you reading. So hard to put down

    15 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2011

    Much Better Than I Expected

    I hesitated in ordering this book as I felt Clancy's later work wasn't on par with his earlier Jack Ryan novels (Bear and the Dragon was terrible in my opinion). That said, when I heard several years ago that a new series was starting with a new generation of characters, including Jack Jr. I didn't have much hope and stayed away from the earlier installments. I now wish I hadn't as I'm very pleasantly surprised with the quality of the writing and the level of detail and character development he goes into. In that respect, compared to Clancy at his best, most the writers of this genre (even those that I enjoy very much) can't compete. Is it a perfect book? No. But it is very enjoyable and the quality of story telling reminds me of Clancy's earlier writings.

    11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2011

    Hate r Not so good

    Was always a big fan, it is written like watching this right wing proganda crap on Fox News. I will wait on my next Tom Clancy purchase.

    11 out of 47 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2011

    A+++

    A+++

    11 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2012

    Jack ryan series ruined by cheap politics

    Didnt finish and recommend you find an author who can keep the cheap political shots out of what once was an entertaining action adventure series. For shame mr clancy!

    8 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 6, 2012

    Applicable to today--Recommended

    How far will career politicians go to save their own careers?? Tom gives you insight into it. It's harsh but blunt in pointing out there are no limits or concerns for collateral damage to other people or even their own co-horts. Against a backround of middle east terrorism,that we have been through before, the political plot is what stays with you and continues into the next Clancy novel. The novel ends open ended. Enjoy the read.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2012

    If it's as bad as Against All Enemies, I'll defect from Clancy

    I haven't read this yet; I'm planning to get the Nook edition but seriously, if this is as unreadable as Against All Enemies I won't be a Clancy fan any longer. "Against" was so bad and so tedious that I gave up after 150 pages or so. I expected so much more from Clancy -- but sadly it seems that making money quickly is more pressing than creating a believable storyline. If all the terrible reviews of Locked On prove to be true, I'll be back to give 1 star.

    8 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    Good Book.....but

    The former Rainbow Six and the Campus guys pull the worlds bacon out of the fire once more. Good book but you need a diagram to keep track of who is who. So many middel eastern names it's hard to keep track. It is a believable trip into the minds of those that threaten our American way of life both internally and externally.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    Miust read

    I have all the ryan series and this is the best. I read it in 2 days couldnt put it down

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 22, 2012

    exfan

    No more for me. Read all the Clancy books. Sometimes more than once. Really well written. Now it's time to move on. These books that are co-wtitten are just not worth the money or the time. All of these super heros that always win the far-fetched battles. Not realistic in any way. I'll not longer be a reader of Clancy. Locked on is not worth the effort. Half way through I started to skip read to get it over with.

    exfan

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2012

    Outstanding!

    This book was truly difficult to put down. The only problem with it is it did too good of a job setting up the follow up novel. I just wish I could order it now.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2011

    Me

    Books are ahh-mazing

    6 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2012

    Tried to donate book to the KKK, but they said it was too far right

    Without remorse is one of my fav books of all time, but Clancy has finally gone over the deep end by not only picking sides in a policitical debte, but conjuring up every stereotype and Fox talking point against anyone who thinks different than him (i.e. anyone who thinks for themselves). Pure unadulterated propoganda that his right wing minions sop up readily. You call it fiction, I call his over the top fear mongering very real. Whats worse is that lots of readers actually believe this tripe.
    I kept trying to follow the story line concerning the operations and was enjoying those parts, but he kept going out of his way to bring his ignorant political ideology into play. So I just put the book down and moved on...

    4 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 354 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 18