BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Locked Rooms (Mary Russell and Sherlock Holmes Series #8)

Average Rating 4.5
( 49 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(32)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted December 5, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    I buy these books in hardcover!

    I began reading the original Holmes stories when I was still in Junior High. I still enjoy rereading them, but I wanted more details about these characters, particularly Sherlock Holmes. I've read many extrapolations on Sir Arthur's original stories--some excellent; some really bad; most in between. Laurie King's series about Holmes and his apprentice (later, his wife), Mary Russell are my favorites. Ms. King manages to recreate the atmosphere of the original stories, as well as a believable Holmesian "voice" while introducing a strong, intellegant female character who is his equal. It was always apparent that Holmes was a man of strong passions, strictly controlled by logic. King allows hints of that passion to appear, without betraying the intrinsic character of Sherlock Holmes. Mary Russell is not only Holmes equal in passion and logic, but is also his equal in dry humor, personal quirks and general crankiness. It makes for delightful reading! The Holmes and Russell series are perfect by-the-fire reading for damp gray days. Incidentally, I am a growing-elderly "Boomer" but my young-adult daughter delights in this series too.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2006

    Wonderful Discovery!

    I recently purchased this book and after only 30 pages in (30 pgs!!) I knew this was something special. She has a wonderful, flowing, mature writing style that you don't see very often. I can't wait to get back to it. I am sooo hooked. What a wonderful discovery - a new writer to follow. I definitely will read the whole series.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2005

    The Past is to Die For

    Mary Russell and Sherlock Holmes have travelled nearly all the way around the world from England to India and continuing on to San Francisco, California. They are on their way to settle and sell some property and business ventures of Russell's father's. While traveling from Bombay via Japan and Hawaii, Russell is visited by three nightmares, each symbolising something that seems to be from her past. Russell returns to California to confront the demons of her family's deaths only to find out about the deaths of others close to her. While she must discover the sources of her dreams, Holmes tries to discover the truth about the codicil to his father-in-law's will and the accident that claimed the lives of his wife's immediate family. An altogether thrilling, page-turning narrative that keeps you up late to find the answers to these mysteries.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    superb historical mystery

    In 1924 Sherlock Holmes and his wife Mary Russell journey from Bombay to San Francisco where she plans to settle the estate of her deceased parents who died a decade ago along with her brother in a car accident. However, during the watery trek across the Pacific, three dreams haunts Mary. The first dream involves flying objects; the second contains a faceless man telling her not to be afraid little girl; finally her last nightmare centers on a locked room. Holmes is worried about his wife who looks pale and has not slept well nor eaten properly. --- In San Francisco, Mary meets her late father¿s attorney who explains the will to her and in response to her question says they met in 1906 when the earthquake devastated the city. Mary is stunned as she insisted she was not here during the quake. Holmes acting more like Freud believes her dreams are repressed memories trying to surface. As Mary begins to put together what happened, she begins to remember, but someone prefers her memories remain hidden behind the LOCKED ROOMS of her mind. --- This author shows why she is a genre king with the terrific eighth entry in the Russell-Holmes series. The story line psychological thriller that grips the audience from the moment Holmes displays his concern for his wife until the complex finale. Mary is terrific, perhaps her best role to date, as she struggles with inner demons that threaten her sanity while her beloved husband can only offer platitudes and a degree of safety as he follows her around San Francisco. Laurie R. King is at the top of her game with this superb historical mystery.--- Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2014

    Very good.

    I liked the part where Holmes saved Russell from going over the railing of the ship.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2013

    fan of Sherlock

    I enjoy Ms. King's depiction of the relationship between Mary and Holmes. Mary Russell is a wonderful role model for young women. Would love to be her ... if I didn't have to be married to Holmes. ;)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 4, 2013

    A great addition to an addictive series

    This one brings together a long trail of bread crumbs to some satisfying answers --- and gives some great historical background to the earthquake and fires in San Francisco, 1906. Highly recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 30, 2012

    Nicely done!

    Another satisfying Mary Russell and Sherlock Holmes tale. The story flowed nicely from the previous book, The Game. Left me wanting to read more, on to Book 9 of the series...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2012

    Jason

    He hugs her back

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 12, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Kudos to Laurie King for bringing Sherlock Holmes and Dashiell Hammett together in the same mystery - what an irresistible combination

    This is my favorite Mary Russell mystery - so far. I love San Francisco and am familiar with the city's history and neighborhoods. I could easily visualize Chinatown, the St. Francis Hotel, and Dashiell Hammett's favorite bars and restaurants, including Jonh's Grill, a shrine to The Maltese Falcon. The temporary "partnership" of Sherlock Holmes and Dashiell Hammett is a stroke of genius. This book resolves the mystery of Mary Russell's family history, and in particular the "accidental" deaths of her parents and little brother. It also tells readers who planned the near fatal attack on Holmes and Mary Russell in "The Game" (Series #7). When "Locked Rooms" starts, Russell and Holmes are arriving in San Francisco. Mary is physically and emotionally unwell. She is fearful of returning to her childhood home and reliving tragic memories. When the book ends, after a dizzying series of events and delightful characters, Mary Russell Holmes has returned to good health and humor. I look forward to all the Mary Russell books that Laurie King will write!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2010

    Locked Rooms by Laurie R King

    This was the best of the entire series, kept me guessing up till the end. I actually felt like I was in San Francisco when reading this book. I love it when the author can bring all the different stories lines together in one book. You get a whole different perspective of Holmes in this series from what you may be used to in the sherlock and watson adventures.

    I would definately recommend this book to anyone who is both a Sherlock Holmes and Laurie R King fan. She is one of the few female mystery writers I look forward to reading on a regular basis.

    Who of us haven't felt like there were some "locked rooms" in our subconscious? The story line really made me think about things I may have tucked away from my childhood, and examine them for what they were.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 27, 2009

    Where We Were Destined to Go

    The foundations of Locked Rooms has been laid, bit by bit, as we were given Mary Russell's history. It was almost certain that at some point that history, with its pain and tragedy, would be the subject of a story. Now the locked rooms--of Mary's childhood home and of her traumatic memories--must be found and opened.

    Returning from India after The Great Game Holmes and Russell pass through San Francisco. An iconic American city, it is also a place of mystery as American and Spanish influences live side-by-side with, and in ignorance of, the Chinese population and its ancient and powerful culture. All of these play a part. Mary Russell hopes to tie up some loose ends and close the door on her past. But even as she approaches the city, her past demands to be heard and answered.

    Russell is no shrinking violet; she is a strong woman, fully the equal partner of Sherlock Holmes, with her own education and specialties as well as skills learned from him. But her childhood tragedies are cracks in her emotional and spiritual foundations. Only by putting these right can she become fully whole. Only when all the locked rooms have been opened and aired can the old wounds be cleansed and closed.

    And her past lies closer to her than she thinks.

    This is Mary Russell's story. Sherlock Holmes is offstage much of the time, although he works to support her. Along the way, Laurie King introduces him to another character from detective fiction. While not strictly necessary, this does anchor the story in the larger world of mystery fiction.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2