BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Locked in Time

Average Rating 4.5
( 136 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(108)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

The main character is a girl named Nore, whose mother dies in th

The main character is a girl named Nore, whose mother dies in the very beginning of the book. After her mother's death, Nore's father sends her off to boarding school and while she was there, her father meets Lissenett and they decide to get married. In all the exciteme...
The main character is a girl named Nore, whose mother dies in the very beginning of the book. After her mother's death, Nore's father sends her off to boarding school and while she was there, her father meets Lissenett and they decide to get married. In all the excitement, they "forgot" to tell Nore (which is what Lissenett wanted). After about three weeks, her father remembers Nore and sends for her to come and live with him and Lissenett. Nore doesn't know what's going to happen. She gets a strange feeling whenever she sees her new family. They're nice, but when she sees them DEATH flashes through her mind. If you were Lisette, Gabe or Josie in the novel "Locked In Time", by Lois Duncan, you'd know what it feels like to be the same age for over 100 years. Decades pass, new invention develop, those around you die, but you keep living on... When Nore Robbins goes to live with her dad, who recently remarried Lisette, she begins to sense something about her step-mother and her two kids. Through overhearing mysterious comments and piecing clues together, Nore begins to realize that her new step-family, by some strange occurence, never ages and never will because they are locked in time. The best part about this book is that it has it all (except comedy)... drama, murder, romance, mystery, suspense, science fiction and plenty of real life aspects. Having been written in first person main character, the book gives the reader an inside view on the story. You're right there with Nore as she's hearing the odd fragment of information and it's almost as if you are helping her piece clues together.  Great book.

posted by Anonymous on September 25, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Locked In Time Review

The novel Locked in Time by Lois Duncan is about a 17 yr old girl Nore Robbins whos father Chuck is getting remarried. There new family has a secret that they have been hiding and at this rate they would do anything to protect it. The characters in this book are Nore he...
The novel Locked in Time by Lois Duncan is about a 17 yr old girl Nore Robbins whos father Chuck is getting remarried. There new family has a secret that they have been hiding and at this rate they would do anything to protect it. The characters in this book are Nore her father Chuck her step mother Lisette and her two step siblings Josie and Gabe. Nore is 17 and her real name is Elanore. her mother passed away a yr earlier. She now attends boarding school. The novel takes place in Louisiana. the main problem in this novel is when Nore meets her new family she thinks there is something suspicious about them and she decides to investigate. She is feeling hurt and mad about the remarriage but happy that her father is finally happy again. She is also feeling suspicios and scared about her new family. She decides to investigate by searching for background information on the family and she finds out some pretty exciting and interesting things. She also finds out one big surprise that can change all their futures drasticley.

The genre of this book is young adult fiction. Its list price is $6.50 and there are 224 pages. ISBN 978-0-440-94942-8(0-440-94942-4) It was published in 1985. There were two publishers that were listed Little Brown Co. Inc also Random house children book.Some of the themes thats the characters had to deal with were death and aging. Lois Duncan grew up in Sarasota,Florida. she submitted her first story to a magazine at age 10.She made her first sale at age 13. She also wrote 48 other books such as I Know What you Did Last Summer and Trapped. Locked in time and I Know What You Did Last summer are pretty similiar. I Know What You Did Lat Summer is about four friends who have a shocking secret. A year later there secret comes back to haunt them. There secret wont leave them alone, will they survive the game? Locked in time is a prequel. "when Nore discovers her new stepmothers horrible beauty secrets, time starts running ut, Can Nore save her self and her father? Before its to late?

My opinon on the bok overall I think it was a good book. it kept me on the edge of my seat. It was so good at times that I didnt even want to put it down. For most of the book I was very curious about what was going to happen next. Also at times i was shocked, mad and surprised. The only thing that bothered me is I really liked the book but i wasent very fond about the end. A question that I have for Lois is why did Gabe's feeling for Nore change so quickly. So I would recommend this book to any teenager or any adult also. i think they would really enjoy it.

posted by 434365 on November 25, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 108 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    The main character is a girl named Nore, whose mother dies in th

    The main character is a girl named Nore, whose mother dies in the very beginning of the book. After her mother's death, Nore's father sends her off to boarding school and while she was there, her father meets Lissenett and they decide to get married. In all the excitement, they "forgot" to tell Nore (which is what Lissenett wanted). After about three weeks, her father remembers Nore and sends for her to come and live with him and Lissenett. Nore doesn't know what's going to happen. She gets a strange feeling whenever she sees her new family. They're nice, but when she sees them DEATH flashes through her mind. If you were Lisette, Gabe or Josie in the novel "Locked In Time", by Lois Duncan, you'd know what it feels like to be the same age for over 100 years. Decades pass, new invention develop, those around you die, but you keep living on... When Nore Robbins goes to live with her dad, who recently remarried Lisette, she begins to sense something about her step-mother and her two kids. Through overhearing mysterious comments and piecing clues together, Nore begins to realize that her new step-family, by some strange occurence, never ages and never will because they are locked in time. The best part about this book is that it has it all (except comedy)... drama, murder, romance, mystery, suspense, science fiction and plenty of real life aspects. Having been written in first person main character, the book gives the reader an inside view on the story. You're right there with Nore as she's hearing the odd fragment of information and it's almost as if you are helping her piece clues together.  Great book.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2007

    ASTONISHIMG

    THE BEST BOOK I HAVE EVER READ !!!! i loved this book it was REALLY good i read it within hours in school it has an ending like no other that is wonderful !!!!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2008

    A reviewer

    This was a really good book. It started out slow, but once it got interesting I didn't want to stop. I like to read, but I'm not the biggest fan of it. This book was probably one of the best books I've ever read. If you get the opportunity you should read it!!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2008

    An Awesome Mystery

    Locked in Time was awesome. I really liked it that Lois Duncan used Louisiana as the setting for the book. Louisiana being the state that I live in, it makes me proud and reminds everyone that it's a state filled with mysteries and a lot of ghostly history. I loved this book and the ending was awesome, but you have to read the ending to find out what happens because I don't want to spoil the ending for you. It was an awesome book and I hope you like it as much as I did.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2008

    Best by far

    Oh, MY! This is by far my FAVORITE Lois Duncan book. I have to tell you, Duncan is a GREAT writer. I have read a couple of her books and plan on reading more. I couldn't put this book down. It is so well written. I hope this one is only the start of great books by Duncan. THis is a MUST READ!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2012

    Locked in time

    This book was one of the best books i read! I would recomend this book to anyone looking for a great book!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2007

    A reviewer

    This book is the best. When I first looked at the book I thought it might be good, but when I started to read it It was the best book I ever read. This author writes the best mistery books ever. I'm glad I bought the book and two more. I couldn't put the book down when I got down with the first chapter it was to good to set it down and forget about it for even 30 seconds.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2013

    Loved it

    I have read this book many times and its one of my favorites. I fall in love with the charactors over and over again. Josie is truly close to my heart, she shares alot in common with my favorite book charactor Claudia from Interview with the vampire.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2013

    Awsome

    I think this is the best summer reading book i have read for a while. BEST BEACH READING BOOK!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2013

    ABSOLUTELY WONDERFUL!!!!

    This book is one that i will read over and over again until i am cold in my grave. Its the best book i have ever read and i read A LOT. Lois Duncan made a home run on this book. There was not one part i didnt like. The beggining was just a tiny bit slow though. But nonetheless, i absolutely loved the ending. I actually got the impression that there was something going on between Nore and her Stepbrother. :-) tha was fun to see where it would go. :-)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 9, 2011

    Wonderful

    I+really+loved+locked+in+time+and+i+can%27t+wait+to+get+it+on+my+nookcolor%21+

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2007

    great book

    this book is very intersting. the plot is good and the story has a good twist. it is much differnt than any of the authors other books but by far one of the best. i LUVVEDD it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2007

    Wonderful

    I got this book from the school library, and I have always been one to read alot, but not this much!!! This book was wonderful and I could not stop reading it! If you but it definantly wont be a waste of your money!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2007

    The BEST Book Ever

    This was the best book I've ever read it took me about three to four hours and I am usually kind of slow at reading, but this book was too good.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2007

    Really Good!

    This was a very good book! i enjoyed it very much. it was the first one i read by Lois Duncan and i look foward to reading more by her. the only thing i that confused me a bit was the ending. i wish there was a bit more detail about how 'things' (i wont give it away) ended up.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2007

    A Book I'd Read Over and Over Again

    This book had me crying, laughing and shaking with fear all at once. Lois Duncan is a great author and this was the first book I read from her. It was outstanding!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2007

    Best Book Ever!

    This is the first book by Lois Duncan that I read. I absolutely loved it!!! I read it with my school's book club and we ALL enjoyed it. It has so many twists that are totally unexpected. At one part, I was shaking when I was reading it. It was amazing!! So, if you are searching for some thriller/mystery/horror/action/best book in the world... READ LOCKED IN TIME!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2007

    Best Mystery Book!!

    This is my favorite Lois Duncan book! I have read all of them and this was soo good. A must read!!! Take it from a teen who knows

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2007

    awesome !!!!!!

    This was the best book ever !!! ive read six Lois duncan books and i loved every one but this one was one of the best. It was full of excitement through and through,I read it in two days !!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2007

    A reviewer

    This book is the best book from the series && i couldnt stop reading it.... i love how its romantic but scary in a way. Trust me u all will probably read this in at least 3 days.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 108 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6