Customer Reviews for

Locomotion

Average Rating 4
( 32 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 12 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2013

    Locomation

    Varry god bok lonnie is an interesting and a sweet caring brother to his sister lili and and they got put in differant foster homes because his parents died in a house fire and lonie misses them dearley and i think that it is a goodbook other people might have differant opinons but this is just what i think of this bok oh i would reccomend this book to al it gives you a life lesson that means you dont know what you have until its gone and that is what lonie is figuring out it is a good book i lovethis book we are reading this in school i cant wait till the end i want to see what happens

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2011

    Good

    Good book love it

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2007

    locomotion

    BOOK REVIEW I would recommend Locomotion by Jacqueline Woodson to any one that like¿s poetry. The genre of this book is realistic fiction. This book takes place in the past and the present. Locomotion is the main character of the book. He is a boy who is loving and caring for his family. He is also a boy that loves to write poems about his life and his surroundings. Locomotion is about a boy whose mom and dad have died, and his sister and him are in different foster homes. He is living with Mrs. Edna who is his foster parent. He is a boy that goes to school and his teacher is Mrs. Marcus. Mrs. Marcus loves to look at his poems and suggests things that could make them better. There is one poem it is called school that is about Mrs. Marcus and his other teachers. His sister is in upstate New York. The reason that they is in different foster homes is his sitter¿s foster parent always wanted a girl. All of a sudden Mrs. Edna said he was going to go upstate New York and he is wondering if he will see his sister again? My favorite part of the book is the poem New Boy 1,2,3 because it was about him. The reason that I liked that poem New Boy 1,2,3 is it was about his life and how his parents died. I would recommend this 100 page book to anyone who really likes poetry.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2007

    Locomotion

    In Locomotion by Jacqueline Woodson (100 pgs.) a boy named Lonnie is living with a foster mother named Miss. Edna. They live in an apartment building in New York City. Locomotion is realistic fiction. Lonnie goes to school like normal kids but his life is not, he has no parents because they had died in a fire that happened in his house when he was seven. He is 11 years old and all he has is Miss. Edna his foster mother and his little sister Lilly. He has Miss. Edna¿s sons, but one lives in upstate New York and the other is in the war fighting. This book is all about the poems Mrs. Marcus, Lonnie¿s teacher, said he should do to get out his feelings about his parents. Lonnie writes about his parents and his little sister Lily mostly, but he also writes his feelings about people and things. Lonnie has a nickname, Locomotion he got that name from his mother because she used to say: Come on baby do the Locomotion with me, and that name just stuck to him. Lonnie loves to sit on the roof and count stars and think that 2 of those stars are his mom and dad. My favorite part of the book is the poem, Lily he writes about he and his little sister used to play with their family and how they were such a good family too. I would recommend this book if you like poem books and you love sad books. By: Elena Osorio

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2005

    GREAT BOOK

    i love this book because it kept me wondering what would happen next. And at that time i was writing poems for a school assignment and this book gave me the inspiration that i needed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2005

    Great to use while teaching poetry!

    I used this book in my 5th grade classroom and the students loved it! After a new kind of poem was introduced, they would write their own poem. Students who rarely took a chance with writing were engaged and excitied about writing poetry. Beautiful and moving book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 12 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1