Customer Reviews for

Lodestone Book One: The Sea of Storms

Average Rating 4
( 33 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 33 of 33 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2013

    Sea of Sequels

    Two and a half stars. First in a series, and has a cliffhanger ending.

    Science fiction yarn with your standard cast of characters on a quest. The exception may be the musician, but he is also a technical whiz. We do not learn enough about the hero's dark past. The girl who casts her lot with him is quite young.

    I hoped that the strong female warrior was not the villain, but her change in alliance seemed too sudden. I kept picturing her as Catwoman.

    The author slips up once in regard to the extra large insect. This creature does not understand gender, and is usually referred to as "it," but in one passage the author uses male pronouns for it.

    Here there be smeerps. Gundir, anyone?

    This book is entertaining enough, but when it comes to no conclusion, it seems artificially drawn out. I am not inclined to read 500-1000 more pages to see whether this shaggy dog story ever goes anywhere.

    Teens who like fantasy or science fiction might enjoy this book and its sequels--there are at least four more books in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2013

    Was very interested  in what the reviews had to say, but VERY TU

    Was very interested  in what the reviews had to say, but VERY TURNED OFF WHEN I FOUND OUT THIS IS A CLIFF HANGER...I have no interest in any Author who can not give their story a resolution...     

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2013

    Love the way this author writes a story. Get comfortable becaus

    Love the way this author writes a story. Get comfortable because once it takes off you won't find to many places that you will want to put it down and take a break. Mark Whiteway has you believing that you are right there with these characters and know them as friends. Read Sea of Storms first, then got the Lodestone Trilogy with books 1 thru 3. Reread book 1 and ended with book 4 Seeds Across the Sky. Hated to see it end. Will be going back for more of his books..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2013

    The haunting story, compelling characters, lyrical prose, and ac

    The haunting story, compelling characters, lyrical prose, and action-fantasy-adventure on an epic scale makes this book a classic in the annals of general contemporary fiction

    It is easy to forget that this tale takes place in an alien world governed by no less than three suns, each of which behaves in a uniquely distinct and sometimes unexpected manner.. The green-skinned, white-blooded Kelanni may not look like Earthlings, but they embody the best and worst of human traits: idealism, courage, bravery, and integrity, as well as jealousy, malice, and greed.

    Each page is a beautiful tapestry creating a visually stunning backdrop worthy of cinematic translation. The introduction paints a sordid picture of harsh poverty that enslaves soul and body of the Kelanni to feed the insatiable greed of a tyrannical yet charismatic Prophet.

    Weary of blind obedience to a heartless despot, five unlikely heroes emerge to shine hope on their dark world. Three youths brimming with impetuous idealism and mischief. The planet’s most trusted general, aloof and solitary, consumed by patriotic love for fellow Kelanni and oath-bound to an enigmatic creature to which she owes her life. A seemingly useless creature that is somehow the key to freeing the “tributes” from the shackles of slavery. A startling message from beyond, from another time and place, guides them on their way but compounds the entrancing mystery that begins to unfold and ultimately leads them to a strange new world.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2013

    Wow

    I donloded this on this website called bookbub now it is on my nook. Wow i got it on the computer now on my nook wow.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2012

    Ehh

    Not very good and very slow

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    An Adventure-filled Thrill

    The rebels are forming and plotting by their leader known only as "The Prophet." The Kelanni are being forced to harvest the lodestones. When Keris, a Keltar questioning her work for "The Prohpet," learns that the Kelanni people are in more trouble than is realized, she sets out to find a way to save them. The journey takes a group of five, including Keris, Shann-a village girl, and Boxx-a creature with powers, on an adventure that will reveal astonishing truths and dangerous encounters.

    Author Mark Whiteway makes his novel debut with the first book in his Lodestone series. He creates a fantastical world that is easy to get sucked into. The plot is unique and easily keeps the attention of the reader. Whiteway's writing is smooth and consistent. It has the simplicity to hold the attention of kids and teens while weaving in ideas to appeal to adults as well. The characters more than simple creations. Whiteway creates characters that the reader will love and root for. This is the first book in a series that will surely be loved by children, teens, and adults!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 18, 2010

    Book Review: Lodestone Book One: The Sea of Storm

    This book isn't in one of the genres I find myself reading the most. However, since I do read all genres, I was so happy to be able to review this. My initial mistake was comparing it to the Sword of Truth books. Boy, was I wrong.

    The first chapter moved slightly slow for me, but I think I was just getting a feel for it. This is a new land, different ideals, etc. By the time I had read more, I was dying to turn the page. It is incredibly explained. You feel as though you are there. You can completely imagine the whole book in your mind. It's well represented and explained without being overdone. The descriptions are great.

    The Kelanni have their own world/planet. They ride their grayleshes and have a Prophet that may not be on their side. They prove that sometime enemies can come together for a greater good.

    Make sure that you have a few hours to read. Once you open this book, you won't want to put it down. This new adventure keeps you wondering what will happen next.

    Mark Whiteway takes you into a completely new world. If you have a change, grab your copy and settle in with some coffee and a blanket. I am looking forward to book #2.

    http://amomentwithmystee.blogspot.com/

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 13, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Highly recommended by G. Haughland, Allbooks Review

    On some planet at some time the rebels are forming. Absolute authority over the Kelanni populace, dictated by a being known only as The Prophet, is the norm over this pastoral world. He extracts tribute in the form of food and slaves toward his own end. Aided by seemingly magical enforcers, the Keltar, the populace is subdued and downtrodden. However, a dissident appears. Lyall, a once Keltar apprentice, wants to change the course of history. With the aid of a small but talented girl, Shann, and his best friend Alondo, a musician with a talent for devices they stage a small rebellion. They are hunted down by one of the Keltar's best, a Prophet loyal woman named Keris. While in pursuit of the rebels, Keris is injured by a passing beast and rescued by a strange race of six-limbed creatures - the chandara. They have been appointed sentinels to the past Kelanni, and they convince her that The Prophet is out to destroy the Kelanni, not save them. With some misgivings she turns against her mentor and teachings, and with Boxx, the empath chandara, join the small band of rebels on a quest to save the slaves and their race from destruction.
    From the very first pages on, Whiteway's crisp description of the Kelanni world is impressive. Neither verbose or lacking, only the details that need move the story forward are presented. His rich vision of the environment is filled with references to foreign creatures, artifacts and language, all of which are blended seamlessly into the work. The result is a chance for the reader to use one's imagination and create the world however it feels right. It's is an incredibly effective use of creativity and a method that I found only added to the fabric of the story. The pace of the work remains lively and never sags throughout Book One and leaves the reader ready for Book Two, and beyond.
    For the fantasy fans out there, this is an excellent read. In the tradition of Lord of the Rings, Book One is the beginning of a quest. Don't be disappointed that it doesn't have the traditional dénouement to the story, or even resolves part of the big picture. One can only hope that the next books are as well written and captivating.
    Reviewer: Gregg J. Haugland, Allbooks Reviews.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 33 of 33 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 2