Customer Reviews for

Loki's Wolves (Blackwell Pages Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 42 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(27)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

A storyline for all ages: REVIEW: LOKI'S WOLVES is the first sto

A storyline for all ages: REVIEW: LOKI'S WOLVES is the first storyline in Kelly Armstrong/Melissa Marr's new middle grade series The Blackwell Pages based on Norse mythology and the end of the world. If you are a fan of Percy Jackson and the Lightning Thief et al, you w...
A storyline for all ages: REVIEW: LOKI'S WOLVES is the first storyline in Kelly Armstrong/Melissa Marr's new middle grade series The Blackwell Pages based on Norse mythology and the end of the world. If you are a fan of Percy Jackson and the Lightning Thief et al, you will like this particular series. Although the premise and its characters focuses on thirteen year old reluctant heroes, the novel can be read by teens and adults of all ages.
The story tells the tale of a Norse legend where Thor (the god of Thunder) and Loki (god and shapeshifter) must band together to prevent the end of the world known as Ragnarok. There are varying myths-some say they fought side by side, while others say they were enemies until the end. Loki is known as malicious and a trickster.
In Loki's Wolves, are two young heroes, Matt Thorsen and Fen Brekke, along with Fen's cousin Laurie, are forced into a war between good and evil. But it is Matt who learns rather quickly that he has been chosen to fight the serpent and in doing so, it could very well end his life. The scenarios presented look grim from all accounts and many of the old Norse mythological stories run true to form as the young teens search South Dakota for the other young descendants of Norse deities who will fight by their side.
Along the way, our young trio must fight a shapeshifting pack of wolves, trolls who turn to stone at dawn and an evil witch who brings nightmares and death. Many of the Norse mythological gods and demons are represented including Odin, Frey and Freya (the twins), the Norns (females who rule the destiny of gods), Valkyries, trolls, Balder and more. If you are a fan of Norse mythology many of the gods and the storyline premise will be a contemporary but familiar friend.
Kelley Armstrong and Melissa Marr have brought together their combined ability to tell a story and have woven a fantasy tale to be enjoyed by readers of all ages. Loki's Wolves is the first storyline of what is sure to be a wonderful series full of childhood adventures with mythological creatures and supernatural powers
see all of my reviews at : thereadingcafe(dot)com

posted by Sandy-thereadingcafe on May 7, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Awesome book

It's like the Kane Chronicles for Norse mythology: kids fighting monsters to save the world. But amazing.

posted by Anonymous on June 15, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted May 7, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    A storyline for all ages: REVIEW: LOKI'S WOLVES is the first sto

    A storyline for all ages: REVIEW: LOKI'S WOLVES is the first storyline in Kelly Armstrong/Melissa Marr's new middle grade series The Blackwell Pages based on Norse mythology and the end of the world. If you are a fan of Percy Jackson and the Lightning Thief et al, you will like this particular series. Although the premise and its characters focuses on thirteen year old reluctant heroes, the novel can be read by teens and adults of all ages.
    The story tells the tale of a Norse legend where Thor (the god of Thunder) and Loki (god and shapeshifter) must band together to prevent the end of the world known as Ragnarok. There are varying myths-some say they fought side by side, while others say they were enemies until the end. Loki is known as malicious and a trickster.
    In Loki's Wolves, are two young heroes, Matt Thorsen and Fen Brekke, along with Fen's cousin Laurie, are forced into a war between good and evil. But it is Matt who learns rather quickly that he has been chosen to fight the serpent and in doing so, it could very well end his life. The scenarios presented look grim from all accounts and many of the old Norse mythological stories run true to form as the young teens search South Dakota for the other young descendants of Norse deities who will fight by their side.
    Along the way, our young trio must fight a shapeshifting pack of wolves, trolls who turn to stone at dawn and an evil witch who brings nightmares and death. Many of the Norse mythological gods and demons are represented including Odin, Frey and Freya (the twins), the Norns (females who rule the destiny of gods), Valkyries, trolls, Balder and more. If you are a fan of Norse mythology many of the gods and the storyline premise will be a contemporary but familiar friend.
    Kelley Armstrong and Melissa Marr have brought together their combined ability to tell a story and have woven a fantasy tale to be enjoyed by readers of all ages. Loki's Wolves is the first storyline of what is sure to be a wonderful series full of childhood adventures with mythological creatures and supernatural powers
    see all of my reviews at : thereadingcafe(dot)com

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    As a fan of Norse mythology, I enjoy that there is finally a ser

    As a fan of Norse mythology, I enjoy that there is finally a series dealing with these myths. An interesting plot, with good  twists, keeps the reader for the most part engaged in the story. 
    The band of young heroes fight monsters and other creatures from myths, while trying to figure out their opinions about their fates and each other. Exciting, and enjoyable. 

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2013

    AWESOME

    If u like rick riordan this is a book for u

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2013

    Awesome Book

    Very detailed and unpredictible. This book had me on the edge of my seat and I had it finished in no time.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I have been so excited to get reading Loki¿s Wolves by authors M

    I have been so excited to get reading Loki’s Wolves by authors M.A. Marr and K.L. Armstrong  (a.k.a Melissa Marr and Kelly Armstrong!! *Insert the fangirling here*). Norse mythology, two awesome authors and a book about three kids trying to stop the end of the world? You had me at Norse mythology! Right from the opening chapter I was addicted and in love with Loki’s Wolves until the very last page.

    Loki’s Wolves is the story of main characters Matt Thorsen and Laurie and Fen Brekke, three kids who are the descendants of Norse Gods. Matt being the descendant of Thor and Fen and Laurie are the descendants of Loki. When Matt discovers that he will be representing Thor in the coming battle leading up to Ragnarok (a.k.a. the End of the World) he finds himself on a quest to find the others who will be representing the Gods so that he can stop a plot that involves his death. This quest brings Matt, Fen and Laurie closer together as they encounter Valkyries, trolls and other creatures from Norse mythology.

    What I really liked when it came to reading Loki’s Wolves was that finally, after so much waiting and reading Greek Mythology I finally got to read a novel about Norse Mythology. Why was I so excited? Have you not read up on any of this stuff? Even seen a Marvel movie *cough, Avengers/Thor, cough*? Sure that last one wasn’t exactly a great example to use but the point is that Norse Mythology is awesome. With this book being written by two of my favorite authors, I knew that they would pull it off awesomely and they totally did. This definitely gave me my Norse Mythos fix.

    I don’t usually read middle grade novels but when I do I usually find that I enjoy them because the plots don’t revolve around romance and are more light than some of the heavier YA novels out there. Loki’s Wolves was fun to read. And I don’t mean fun like it made an awesome picture in my head (which it did) but the plot and writing style was fun. It wasn’t too serious and it wasn’t too light, it was a fun read that I got addicted to right from the first chapter. Despite that there are still a lot of serious scenes in Loki’s Wolves that give the novel a sense that the characters are in fact trying to prevent the end of the world.

    The cast of characters in Loki’s Wolves was really awesome. I personally enjoyed reading chapters from Matt’s POV (point of view) more than the other characters just because he has the power of Thor… and that’s kinda awesome… but the two other main characters, Fen and Laurie, were equally awesome. Fen is chosen to be Loki and Laurie is his cousin who he is very protective of. They have a brother-sister relationship that I really adored. Laurie, being the only female main character, was one that I liked to read about. She was smart, witty and very willing to take action. While none of the characters encountered any romance I personally ship Matt and Laurie (Maurie? Latt? Maurie Borsen? All the possible ship names!).

    I would recommend Loki’s Wolves to readers who are looking for a read that is non-stop when it comes to pacing that keeps you reading until the very last page and to readers who are looking for a new series to fall in love with. After that ending I know that I will be highly anticipating the next book in the Blackwell Pages.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2013

    Great read! When is the next book coming out?

    I love it!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2014

    Minecraft battle arena!!!!

    Welcome to the Great Battle Arena hosted by yours truly, Diamondbreaker! Note: Some of you may know me as SupahPoopah548.Call me either name. Map at res two

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    This was a really fun read--reminiscent of the Percy Jackson and

    This was a really fun read--reminiscent of the Percy Jackson and Heroes of Olympus books, definitely, though with Norse mythology instead of Greek and Roman--and it has really piqued my interest. It ends on a bit of a cliffhanger, but that's not the only reason I'll be picking up the second book. There's more than a few questions left unanswered at the end (What was up with Laurie's salmon "dream"? What the heck is up with Odin/Owen's so-called girlfriend? Was she even his girlfriend?) that hopefully will be addressed as the series continues. The action is virtually non-stop, making you want to keep going right to the end.




    It's fun to see a different mythology explored in children's lit--if you're not up on the Norse legends, that's not a problem since they do a decent job of explaining without it feeling like a lecture. (Though if you're looking for something to occupy your time before reading book two or while waiting for book three to be released, check out the Norse mythology portions of Don't Know Much About Mythology: Everything You Need to Know About the Greatest Stories in Human History but Never Learned to prepare. It's a fun read, though parts of it are definitely NSFW--and probably NSFK(ids), either. Those gods and goddesses had some interesting...um, appetites.) 




    Armstrong and Marr have written an interesting set of characters here--Matt (descendant of Thor) and Fen and Laurie (cousins, descended from Loki) get off to a rocky start but quickly form a bond when faced with adversity. As their quest continues, they find--or are found by--other descendants and characters from the legends who draw you in as well. (Valkyries!)




    Rating: 4 stars / B+

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2014

    Matt, Fen, and Laurie have to put aside their differences and le

    Matt, Fen, and Laurie have to put aside their differences and learn to work together as they go in search of other kids to help them save the world. This book was interesting. It was a lot like the Percy Jackson books, but I didn't like it quite as much. The three main characters came across as formulaic. Two boys, one girl. A redhead with a temper, an orphan with an attitude, and a girl with a brain. I've read far too many books with a similar cast of main characters.

    I think I would have liked this book more if I hadn't already read a few dozen just like it. It's written well enough, and I liked the concept of the kids being descended from Norse gods. The characters are likable and their differences kept their interactions interesting. There are a lot of action and fight scenes in the book, and I think kids will like this series as long as they haven't read too many other books in the same genre.

    Content: One off color comment.

    Source: I received a digital galley of this book in exchange for an honest review.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2014

    LOKIS WOLVES

    I realy want to read this book seems very good. Also i like the percy jakson series,heros of olympus and kane chronicles so i think ill like this as well.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2015

    Loved it

    So good but percy jackson is sssoooo much better

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2014

    Bluefire

    Jumps on you with and rubs up agaist you purring happily. "I missed you." I purr.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2014

    Tigerpaw

    "Helli!"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2014

    Great read

    :) :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2014

    Matt the boss

    I found it to be a very awsome book!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2014

    OMG!! EOIN COLFER REVIEWED THIS BOOK? IT MUST BE AMAZING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!xinfinity

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2014

    Loki is a character in the anime," Fairy Tail"

    Loki is a chracter in the anime,"FairyTail" and he is a god of mischeif and distruction in norse myths, Odin help them

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2014

    darkpaw

    Walks in

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2014

    So nice of a book

    I really like this book . The only thing i dont like is it is to cramp up!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2014

    Hi

    Hi

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3