Customer Reviews for

London Bridges (Alex Cross Series #10)

Average Rating 3.5
( 273 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(81)

4 Star

(69)

3 Star

(43)

2 Star

(31)

1 Star

(49)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Absolutely Awsome!!!!!!

I have read all of the Alex Cross series books by James Patterson and have found every one of them captivating.

posted by Wednesdaybooboo on August 10, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Suspenseless & Annoying

Three quarters of the way through the book the plot is at the same place as it was at the beginning, but I think all the other reviews cover this well enough. To add something new: I listened to this book on CD. I am dumbfounded that the people who made this audiobo...
Three quarters of the way through the book the plot is at the same place as it was at the beginning, but I think all the other reviews cover this well enough. To add something new: I listened to this book on CD. I am dumbfounded that the people who made this audiobook don't know the difference between books and movies or understand the senses and faculties engaged while listening to/viewing them. It was so annoying to try to listen to the words while cheap music played over them. Every time an action sequence occurred the score kicked in to try to add suspense. Sappy piano music played over trying-to-be-heartfelt scenes. There was even an intimate encounter that had cheesy porn-type music played over it. Going in I realized some audiobooks play music over the beginnings or endings, and I figured this one would at least do that, but it went completely overboard. If the author's words aren't good enough to hold the reader, a cheap score isn't going to do it.

posted by Anonymous on January 2, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 69 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted May 30, 2014

    Never read a James Patterson book I didn't like

    All of Patterson's books are good, engaging stories, but some are better than others. London Bridges was a good read, but I didn't get the same page turning rush as with other Cross stories. Alex Cross is now an FBI agent, and the story goes international. He becomes involved with British and French law enforcement, and it feels like he's taken us to a whole new set of characters, but John Sampson is totally missing and we get to see very little of Alex's love life. All in all, a good read, don't skip this one, but not MY favorite.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2014

    Another Winner

    Had me on my toes!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2013

    Ashley to becca

    Becca calm down.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2012

    Another good James P book

    Another good James Patterson book. He always keep you wanted more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2012

    Anothrr Anothrr Patterson thriller

    A little slow to progress but the story picks up pace.
    Alex is in a personal tug of war even as his FBI life gets under way.
    Maybe a little too much going on.
    Very enjoyable overall.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2012

    A Good Read

    Classic Patterson, written to keep you on the edge of your seat.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2012

    Alex Cross always helps me get back to reality.

    Detective Alex Cross is on his second big case for the FBI. This was a really good book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2012

    highly recommend

    enjoyed this as much as all his other fine work

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 20, 2011

    super good!!

    after i read the sample i was hooked great story and very well written

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Couldn't Put it Down!

    I haven't read many Patterson books, but this one sucked me and I couldn't put it down.

    It was really unrealistic in my opinion, and so unlikely. And if that ever did happen, I hope our FBI/CIA/etc would do more than what it seemed like here - but seriously, this book hit the spot for me.

    Cross is dealing with not one, but two of his nemisises. I haven't read books with either of them before so I wasn't clear on the whole history but the book did a pretty good job of filling all of us in. (However, I did wonder had I read them all, would it start to feel redundant at some point? Not sure).

    Anyway, I really enjoy ed it. Like I said, it hit just the spot and was the perfect read for me when I picked it up!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    London Bridges

    Again readers follow detective Alex Cross as he is up against two of his most feared/loved enemies. Shaffer, an addict to a real-life RPG, in which he himself is Death and the terroristic Wolf. The book is good for those who have read the original books where the villians go against Alex. However, if you have not read the originals, the book may get confusing at times.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2006

    Great story but, not excellent.

    I read this book months ago. It was a pretty great read but I must admit that I expected more. It was a typical Alex Cross suspense. In this one I didn't find so thrilling like the others. =)~

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2006

    college student

    London Bridges is about the famous Alex Cross trying to figure out the mystery and where abouts of the Wolf. The Wolf, a dangerous Russian terrorist, is giving the FBI a notice of how much money the need to give up or else cities will be blown off the map. It is up to Cross and other agents to race against time and stop the Wolf. This book is a thriller and was filled with suspense. I felt like I needed to keep on reading to see what happens next. I'd say this book is recommened to people who enjoy suspense/thriller books. It was consumed with murders, the FBI , and terrorist threats/attacks. The book did get confusing at the end. Although I enjoyed the suspense, I was a little bummed about the ending. The whole book got me worked up about how it was going to end and I was not a bit thrilled or excited about ending. But if you are looking for a good book filled with suspense and detailed descriptions then this is a book to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2005

    Nice!

    London Bridges is a pretty good book and i don't agree with all the other people who rated it but i think u should go out and buy this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2005

    I have Read better Patterson..But This Was Not That Bad

    Typical James Patterson. The book reads like lightning. Short action-packed chapters, with plenty of twist and turns. The Wolf is by far Patterson¿s best villain, the ending surprised me, and how abrupt it all happened. This was one of those books, like most Patterson books that I wanted to read on and on. But I guess all good things most come to an end. It is always nice when you can escape for a couple days within a James Patterson book. I look forward for his next novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2005

    excellent

    I am a big fan of James Patterson, and collect his books. After reading the Big Bad Wolf I knew another wolf book would follow and couldn't wait for it's release. Yes, it was different than usual, however I really enjoyed it and recommend it to anyone who read The Big Bad Wolf. Keep the Alex Cross stories coming.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2004

    Not his best but wasn't to disappointing

    I am truly one of JP's best fans and have read all of his Alex Cross books. To me this wasn't as gripping and interesting as his last books. The entire story line was kind of weird and it wasnt as intriguing as BBW or Roses are Red and all his other previous work. I felt as if he'd lost some of his spunk that he puts into his books, but just because I have read his other books I'm pretty sure James won't let me down again. So 4 stars is the bes I can do.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2004

    London Bridges...

    Good book, not the best in the Cross series but a great read. Patterson has done it again! I don't know why some folks are giving it 1 and 2 stars, but I give it 4, just a hair away from excellence. All of Patterson's books go to #1 on the bestseller's list so it proves people like this author because his books fly off the shelves. And no I do not work for Patterson or his publishing company in any way shape or form, just happen to like this book and this author whom never has failed in my eyes. Couldn't put this book down! From jump you are addicted. Patterson has a way with the pen and a way to grab the readers attention, he sure did with this one! The WOLF and the WEASEL together in one book, who woulda thunk it! I can't wait for the follow up! Keep em' coming James:)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2004

    I Love His Style

    Patterson is back in prime form. The last couple of Alex Cross novels I read made me reluctant to read another one. I just didn't like them so much. But I'm glad I read LONDON BRIDGES. One thing I like about Patterson is his writing style. I like the short chapters, the clarity of Point Of View. I'm too picky to dole out 5 stars but this book definitely deserves 4 1/2!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 69 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4