BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

London Bridges (Alex Cross Series #10)

Average Rating 3.5
( 271 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(80)

4 Star

(69)

3 Star

(43)

2 Star

(30)

1 Star

(49)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Absolutely Awsome!!!!!!

I have read all of the Alex Cross series books by James Patterson and have found every one of them captivating.

posted by Wednesdaybooboo on August 10, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Suspenseless & Annoying

Three quarters of the way through the book the plot is at the same place as it was at the beginning, but I think all the other reviews cover this well enough. To add something new: I listened to this book on CD. I am dumbfounded that the people who made this audiobo...
Three quarters of the way through the book the plot is at the same place as it was at the beginning, but I think all the other reviews cover this well enough. To add something new: I listened to this book on CD. I am dumbfounded that the people who made this audiobook don't know the difference between books and movies or understand the senses and faculties engaged while listening to/viewing them. It was so annoying to try to listen to the words while cheap music played over them. Every time an action sequence occurred the score kicked in to try to add suspense. Sappy piano music played over trying-to-be-heartfelt scenes. There was even an intimate encounter that had cheesy porn-type music played over it. Going in I realized some audiobooks play music over the beginnings or endings, and I figured this one would at least do that, but it went completely overboard. If the author's words aren't good enough to hold the reader, a cheap score isn't going to do it.

posted by Anonymous on January 2, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 80 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted August 10, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Absolutely Awsome!!!!!!

    I have read all of the Alex Cross series books by James Patterson and have found every one of them captivating.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2013

    VERY Good Book

    Hi everyone, I just want to say that I am 14 years old and I found this book vey intriging and supenseful. I your thinking about buying thus book I say you do. Another good book James Patterson. Keep them coming:) :P

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2009

    Loddon Bridges - Audio

    On a previous long trip we listened to "Big Bad Wolf" and it made the hours melt away. The narration was THE BEST. We had to hear the rest of the story in "London Bridges" and we weren't disappointed. Same story tellers and a wonderful way to spend travel hours on the road. Thanks

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2004

    London Bridges

    This book was everything that a thriller should be. The stakes were high in this one, and it was a glorous sequel to Pop Goes The Weasal. One question weighs heavy on reader's minds: just exactly who was or who is the wolf? What does it all mean for Alex Cross' future? IS HE REALLY DEAD?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2004

    wolf not dead

    london bridges was great.i was ready to find out who wolf was since the first wolf book. this book was action packed. could not put it down. so is the wolf dead? will there be another one. my answer is yes. its not over yet. hints of who he is is in the book vilots are blue.can not wait for the next alex cross book. patterson knows how to keep you hanging on. love this series.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2004

    SCARY AND BONE CHILLING

    As I read this book, I was constantly on the edge of my seat and very thrilled to be reading Patterson's latest. Let me just write and tell you that this book is Patterson's best. The characters are scary and the book is essential in order to continue on through the series. You wont believe who the Wolf is; I know that I didn't. James has teased my mind again, I cannot wait until next year's MARY MARY. Who is next? just who is the Wolf? And what roll does he play on the entire cast. The end result will haunt your soul.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2005

    Stupidous Story

    I am so in love with ALL of Patterson's work-this was just the icing on the cake. I knew he would make another Alex Cross, it was just a matter of time. If you love the Alex Cross series I suggest you read this one. Bravo James-keep at it

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2004

    ANOTHER WINNER

    Hard to believe, but Patterson keeps getting better & better. I couldn't wait to get the book & when I started reading it, just couldn't wait to read the next page, right to the very last. Spellbinding, riveting are words that come to mind when writing about this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2013

    To to all

    Hey

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2013

    To becca

    No clue wat ur talkin bout but leave him be u sick .....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2013

    Love books

    This was a very good book, always kept me in suspense. If you like James Patterson then you will like this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2012

    Highly recommend

    Another James Patterson successful sequel involving integrating the Wolf and the Weasel! Riveting and no time to do mundane chores til you finish it!! Worst part was finishing it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2012

    Highly recommend this book.

    Like the rest of the Alex Cross series, this keeps you interested until the very end. James Patterson has a way of captivating reader until the end. Loved It!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    London Bridges are Falling down Falling down

    London Bridges was an excellent read. The book is fast pace, keeps you on the edge of seat at all times. How do you catch a ghost who destroying cities at will? Thats what Alex Cross has to do he has to catch the big bad wolf which is impossibe. Every time they think that they caught the wolf it's just some one posing as him. He's always one step head of them. This book is for anybody who loves mysteries. Sometimes the people that you think are your friends or the good guy aren't, so how do you solve a case when everyone around can be a tratior.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 18, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    An excellent read!

    I've read most of the Alex Cross Series by James Patterson. Although Jack and Jill was my favorite, this novel was excellent. As usual, there is excellent depth of character (Alex and Nana, for example) which can actually make you care for the characters. The plot is original, somewhat off beat, thrilling and carefully thought out with a few twists here and there. I also love his writing style. His writing style and short chapters make his novels an easy read. You will probably want to read The Big Bad Wolf, which is the first book in this 2 part series. Patterson has never disappointed me with this Women's Murder Club Series either. I highly recommend 1st to Die. The Quickie and Swimsuit were also excellent novels.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2010

    Riveting

    This book had me on the edge of my seat the whole time. This is my 10th Alex Cross book, and James Patterson still manages to keep me guessing, and surprises me with plot twists. My heart skips a beat when Alex encounters dangerous situations in his attempt to apprehend the Wolf and Geoffrey Shafer. I could not put this one down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2009

    what can you do when a dangerous terrorist has the control?

    London Bridges is a fiction book, writing by James Patterson. London Bridges is a very interesting book with a lot of action. That began when soldiers arrived to a small town in Nevada, in the western of the United States. The soldiers started to evacuate the town, but some persons did not want to go. Therefore, the soldiers kill one person because he refuses to live. After the town was evacuated the town was bombed and disappeared. There was where the story began, but actually take place in four different places: New York, Washington DC, London and Frankfurt. when the town was bombed the FBI send Alex Cross to the place of the scene. When Alex Cross arrived to the place, he was very surprised because it was looking like the scene of a war. Alex Cross walks around trying to find something that can explain what happen there, but he did not found anything. The FBI receives some video tapes about the bombed town and then they called Alex Cross because they want him to check the videos. When Alex Cross was reviewing the videos he saw a familiar face, the was Geoffrey Shafer, who he knows better as the Weasel. When Cross notices that he got very worry because the Weasel was a very dangerous person who had killed a lot of people. Then the FBI received a called from someone who identified himself as the Wolf. The Wolf demanded money and the release of dangerous prisoners. Also, the Wolf told them that if they do not give what he wanted he was going to attack other cities. In general I liked this book because if has a lot action and the author did a good job with the personification of the characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2008

    Well written book

    This book is a very good book. I liked it because it is about a mass murder, The Wolf, and a rapist, The Weasle, who team up to send the world into chaos. The main character is Alex Cross, who is out trying to kill The Weasle and The Wolf before the deadline. The Wolf has threatened to bomb 4 countries unless millions of dollars is payed for each contries life. No one has any true info about the Wolf's whereabouts, sex, or looks. Alex cross is pushed to the edge of insanity searching for the mass murderer.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2005

    amazing

    James Paterson is an amazing author, and he redefines it in London Bridges. It is almost as good as big bad wolf. James Paterson is the best author in the country, hands down

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2005

    Excellent Book

    I have read 13 James Patterson novels and only one I found to be dull (miracle on the 17th green). Every other novel have been fast paced and hard to put down. I enjoyed how every person thought to be the wolf wasn't. The fact of having loose ends with the possible culprits only increases the suspense. People went through intense circumstances immitating the wolf. Alex Cross novels are like intense weekly television shows, can't wait for the next to see what happens. I enjoyed the book and recommend it to everyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 80 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4