BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

London Calling

Average Rating 4.5
( 21 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2013

    Best book ever

    This book was one of the most intresting of books to cross me at first it seems like a lame person book but the history and twist of events captures the mind

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2014

    Great as aresol cheese

    Nice job edward bloor

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 11, 2011

    London Calling is unique.

    London Calling is unlike any other historical fiction book I have ever read. It is an unusual mix of strong spiritual ideas and the science fiction of time travel. When an antique radio takes Martin Conway to the Battle of Britain, he is like a ghost because only a boy named Jimmy can see or hear him. Now Martin must decide whether he is crazy or sent by God to help a man who survived the Blitz.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 18, 2010

    A very good read

    I enjoyed reading the human emotion is this book. And the fantasy weaved in with the historical fiction was satisfying. I recommend London Calling to all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2009

    London Calling Book Review

    I just read and finished the book called London Calling. This book is about a boy named martin. He is a normal kid going to a private school, until everything changes when he gets a radio. He gets the radio from his crazy Nana who is all into spirits and living a good life so you can go to heaven. Well he brings the radio home and one night as he is falling asleep he meets a boy named Jimmy. Martin can't tell if he's dreaming or if he's really traveled through time or if he is just crazy. He begins writing down names of people he meets and things that he stumbles upon in his crazy dreams. As he has more dreams about this boy named Jimmy and what he went threw in World War II, he begins to reveal historical differences between today's understanding of history and the actual events. He uncovers things that just don't seem right in todays history, all thanks to this boy named Jimmy. I would tell you more but your just going to have to read it.

    I would recommend this book to people who are into World War II and history. If you are not into history that much then you will find the character development really good. You get to know all the characters and feel what they are feeling.

    If i were to rate this book i would give it a 4 out of 10. I would rate it so low for a couple of reasons. First because I really don't like history that much. Second because it doesn't have much action in , and i like a good action or horror book. But there are some parts in this book where it is really good and i just couldn't put the book down. Like i said if you love history and you want to learn and have a good plot behind learning then this book is for you and you should take the time to read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    One of the best Historical fiction books i have ever read!

    London Calling was a thrilling tale aboute a boy who travels back in time to london during the london blitz 1940. While learning and being entertained you devlope a relationship with the characters.all in all i recommend this book totally!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 8, 2009

    Good Non-fiction Book

    While I was reading the book London Calling, I began to notice I couldn¿t put the book down it was just so good. The author Edward Bloor has written many young adult books that have received good reviews, including a book called Clementine which I am interested in. <BR/> The book London Calling is about a normal boy who is bullied but just as things got better he received a radio from his grandma who just past away. The book is very suspenseful, thrilling, and very entertaining. <BR/> In the book it talks about 1940¿s London which at the time a war was going on within the country. The book is non-fiction so I would recommend it to teenagers who are interested in war like books. <BR/> My rating for the book is a five out of five, mainly because Edward talks about everything he leaves out just enough detail so you keep reading through to the next chapter. This is definitely a good book to read if you need to do a project on because it also includes a little history. Personally my favorite book that I have read as a young reader!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 3, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Jennifer Rummel for TeensReadToo.com

    LONDON CALLING opens with a fight at school between the rich boys and the scholarship boys. A stone hits one of the statues in the new walkway causing damage. The commotion from the fight catches the attention of the headmaster who decides that he will determine the punishment at the end of the summer vacation. Martin dreads going back for this meeting. He hates the school so much that he requests to have independent studies for the entire new school year. <BR/><BR/>His grandmother dies, leaving him this old radio from the 1940's. One night, Martin falls asleep listening to the sounds on the radio and is transported back to the 1940's in London during World War II. There he meets Jimmy, a young boy, who asks for his help. <BR/><BR/>England during the wartime scares Martin and he can't tell if he's dreaming or if he's really traveled through time. He begins writing down names of people he meets and events that he hears mentioned to research later. Digging deeper into the past, he begins to unravel historical differences between today's understanding of history and the actual events. Martin realizes how history changes--with the victor's side writing the accounts of the events. The deeper he digs, the more truths he uncovers, and the more the radio calls him to help Jimmy. <BR/><BR/>This fascinating book takes a look at how historical moments and figures are shaped by the outcome of an event. While this books starts off slowly, it quickly picks up, drawing the reader deeper into Martin's time-travel adventures. LONDON CALLING will be a thought-provoking book for classroom discussions.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2007

    Courtesy of Teens Read Too

    LONDON CALLING opens with a fight at school between the rich boys and the scholarship boys. A stone hits one of the statues in the new walkway causing damage. The commotion from the fight catches the attention of the headmaster who decides that he will determine the punishment at the end of the summer vacation. Martin dreads going back for this meeting. He hates the school so much that he requests to have independent studies for the entire new school year. His grandmother dies, leaving him this old radio from the 1940's. One night, Martin falls asleep listening to the sounds on the radio and is transported back to the 1940¿s in London during World War II. There he meets Jimmy, a young boy, who asks for his help. England during the wartime scares Martin and he can¿t tell if he¿s dreaming or if he¿s really traveled through time. He begins writing down names of people he meets and events that he hears mentioned to research later. Digging deeper into the past, he begins to unravel historical differences between today¿s understanding of history and the actual events. Martin realizes how history changes--with the victor¿s side writing the accounts of the events. The deeper he digs, the more truths he uncovers, and the more the radio calls him to help Jimmy. This fascinating book takes a look at how historical moments and figures are shaped by the outcome of an event. While this books starts off slowly, it quickly picks up, drawing the reader deeper into Martin¿s time-travel adventures. LONDON CALLING will be a thought-provoking book for classroom discussions. **Reviewed by: Jennifer Rummel

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2007

    London Calling

    London Calling Alfred A. Knopf, 2006, 289 pages, $16.95 By: Edward Bloor 0-375-83635-7 Martin lives with his mom, and older sister Margaret. He doesn¿t want to go to his school any more but his mom wants him to. After his grandma passes away he gets an old radio that his she wanted him to have. It seems like a normal radio but sometimes when Martin goes to bed he sees strange things. Martin doesn¿t know if these things are all a dream or if they are actually happening. I really liked this book because it has adventure and every thing seems to all connect eventually. Also it was so good I couldn¿t put it down. If you like adventure books and mysterious things you would like this book. Another thing is that if you enjoyed London Calling you might want to read another book by Edward Bloor such as Tangerine. -Maggie

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2007

    Beautiful

    This book, I think, was beautfully writen and very easy to read. I have recently found it hard to find a really good book that I do not want to put down but this one deffinately satisfied me. Just to tell you a little about the book, it is about a boy who has dreams that are so real, about World War II, and the thing is he has never heard stories about what is going in in his dreams but everything that is going on in his dreams appears to be exactly true. Well I won't say anymore but that this is a really good book and that I wound recamend this to WWII lovers such as myself

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2