Customer Reviews for

London Is the Best City in America

Average Rating 4.5
( 21 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted July 13, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Great Summer Read

    LONDON was a great, quick read about the choices we make in life. My favorite insightful line was: "You need to choose among the choices that are there, and not the ones that aren't anymore. At least now how you need them to be. You're still stuck on some imaginary idea you have of how it could have been. You need to think about how it is now. And how you want it to be."

    Emmy makes her first choice when she abandons her fiance in a hotel room because she just can't imagine being with him for the rest of her life. From there, she moves to a small fishing town in Rhode Island to just catch her breath and get away from everyone, something we've all wanted to do at some point or another.

    The novel's characters were all likeable, despite any hurt they caused others. They were just trying to find their way through life and find someone to spend that life with.

    For a first-time novelist, Laura Dave cranked out a good, light story about the intricacies of relationships and family bonds.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2006

    A Worthwhile Debut

    London Is the Best City in America is a well-written story that deals with love, life¿s choices and second chances. Laura Dave will no doubt be recognized as one of the exciting new authors of the year. However, the story¿s slow and somewhat predictable plot makes the book read more like a drawn out short story than a page-turner. Still, Dave has a style that makes the book a worthwhile endeavor that new fans will find endearing.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2013

    I loved this book! It was such a fun light read with a great sto

    I loved this book! It was such a fun light read with a great story to it. There were a ton of great quotes I highlighted on my nook to look back at some time. The characters all seemed very realistic and the romance in the book was  of course a nice treat :) I really related to the main character in this novel & really the whole family dynamic so that was a lot of the reason I loved this story. It was the perfect ending & a great Sunday afternoon read!! Highly recommend & can't wait to read more of Laura Dave's novels!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 2, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    wow!

    i was truly was when i first read this book. What a debut novel! Laura Dave just keeps the reader waiting for the next big thing. The brother and sister combo together with the juicy little detail that her brother is in love with someone else is just about all i need to say!! a perfect read..anywhere..anytime!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2009

    good read!excellent!

    this is one of the best books i have ever read. laura dave writes incerdibly well. emmy evrrett is a very comedic insightful character who is confused about almost everything and her brother josh adds spice to the book.if you read this i guarantee you would not regret it.one of the best reads for the year.it is well written with a touch of comedy and romance and a bit of everything in one

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2007

    A reviewer

    I listened to this book during my commute just as something to fill the time. The story is pretty basic and predictable, but it's not a bad story. I think what I didn't really like is the main character, Emmy. I didn't feel sympathetic for her or her brother, Josh. In fact all the characters did not seem to have much depth. Even though it seems like I didn't like anything about this book, I actually did. It kept my attention and it was a quick read 'or listen in my case'. I probably wouldn't recommend it to a friend, but I'm sure there are people out there that might enjoy it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A PROMISING DEBUT FINELY READ

    It's always a treat to hear a fresh voice, and in this case a double pleasure because as best as I can recall I've not heard any other narrations by Renee Raudman. She offers a thoughtful, appealing reading of Laura Dave's debut novel. Ms. Dave has created a heroine in a quandary. Emma Everett had both second thoughts and cold feet before her wedding to Matt. Without explanation or adieu she left him sound asleep in a Rhode Island motel. From there she went to work in a bait and tackle shop ostensibly to shoot a documentary about the wives of fishermen who waited for their men to return. Now, three years have passed and she's headed back to New York City for her older brother's wedding. Josh has always been her hero so it's a bit of a shock when she finds that he, too, is having second thoughts about his upcoming nuptials. Actually, his thoughts are mostly filled with another woman, a single mom to whom he is not engaged. As Emma tries to help Josh make the right decision, she also learns some things about herself. A promising debut novel finely read. - Gail Cooke

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2006

    The best kind of fiction....

    Dave's book is funny, and real, and sad in the best ways imaginable -- you will feel for this family of characters, appreciate your mom, be reminded of all the hard questions about life and love, and wish, more than anything, for your own happy ending. A+ !!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2006

    A MUST READ

    I received an advance copy of the book and I could not put it down. Emmy is the most likable and relatable narrator I've come across in years. You will fall in love with her and all the characters- I highly recommend it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2