BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

London's Perfect Scoundrel (Lessons in Love Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 50 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(30)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 50 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2012

    Very poor story line. St. Aubyn was over the top scandalist and

    Very poor story line. St. Aubyn was over the top scandalist and Evelyn let her brother and mother rule her life. The more I read the worse the story got. The story just ran amuck. I just threw away money on this book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2012

    Great 2nd book of the series.

    Great dialogue & a great book. This is a great series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2012

    Good nook book

    I liked this book a lot...could not put it down. Read it in one day.

    Second in the series and just as good as the first book. Evie and Saint are a perfect match.

    The event in the middle of the book which one reviewer did not like I thought was funny. It made Evie stronger and the only woman Saint could respect. It broke Saint of his dark streak.

    I would recommend the series. Loved the book and characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Oh My

    Saint is the perfect unlikely hero, not completely gone to the dark side but definetely too bad to be good. He toes the line at almost being a villain without actually doing it and all the time we are left wanting more.

    Evelyn Mary (only Saint can make just a name sound sexy) is a very good heroine. She was a little annoying at times in her innability to stand up to her brother (who didn't get what he deserve at the end) that I wanted to shake her a little, but she was noble and funny, smart, brave and good.

    I really enjoyed Georgina's and Dare's book but this one I liked even more.

    I am sooo glad I found Suzanne Enoch!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    good not great

    I just finished reading this book. I was alittle surprised but not in a good way. It wasnt a bad book, I just didnt like a major event that occurs in the middle of the book. I thought it was a little too psycotic on the part of the main female charecter and COMPLETELY unrealistic! I was so taken back by that part, that it kind of ruined the book for me. Other then that, it was an okay book, however there are MUCH better books for fans of historical romance! look at my recommended list. If you want to read it, go ahead, but Im just warning you that its really not the best. Im kind of confused as to why this book got such great reviews. I hope my review helps!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    WooHoo!

    This book was really really good! I was very surprised to find the story and the characters very believable and genuine. Saint and Evelyn Marie were adorable. I gotta say I'm a little shocked at my reaction. I really didn't want to put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Surprised

    This book was really really good! I was very surprised to find the story and the characters very believable and genuine. Saint and Evelyn Marie were adorable. I gotta say I'm a little shocked at my reaction. I really didn't want to put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2005

    A Fun Love Story - Great Characters....

    This is the first romance novel I have read by Suzanne Enoch. I read the reviews on her and looked through some of her offerings and started with 'London's Perfect Scoundrel'. I have been reading romance novels for over 20 years so...I expect alot out of good authors in order to keep me entertained. I agree with most of the readers that the story of Saint and Evie was a good one. I liked that Evie knew there was more to life than being a pretty socialite climbing the ladders of power and wealth. She had a head on her shoulders, ideas and thoughts she wanted to put to action. Her family and political aspiring brother Victor did not share her woman's lib notions but, they were not bad people, simply out of step with the growing times. I like the twist of how Saints' mother began the orphanage called Heart of Hope, gave it to him in a trust to handle once she passed on and in turn...it became a part of his life and future in ways he could never have imagined at the time. He saw the orphanage as a burden in the beginning but, a gift that it was eventually. Their relationship developed in fun ways surrounding this place and the children that were part of the orphanage. This was a very entertaining book and it was enjoyable to see a true 'rogue and rake' find the right woman who made him want to be a better man. In turn, he made her an extrodinary woman as she wanted to be. The love scences are rather minimal but, the few places it was discussed were appropriate and tasteful. This wasn't a hot and steamy love story - instead it was a warm and enjoyable novel of how love and friendship develop in the most unusual circumstances. And...you often end up with the people you least think are right for you. This was a fun read. I would recommend this book and plan to buy other novels of Suzanne Enochs as well and hope for further characters like this. Enjoy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2004

    Excellent as Always !!

    ...Saint & Evie 's story ...(purring) .....what can I say...is definitely worth reading.. Indulge and be delighted...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2003

    This one deserves a sequel.

    I thoroughly enjoyed this book and am eagerly awaiting a sequel that features Evelyn's 'odious' brother, Victor, and her best friend, Lucinda. I think it would be the perfect revenge to have him succumb to that tender emotion that he so callously disregards on his sister's behalf. Incidentally, I would like to put in a plug for more tasteful paperback covers for romance novels. Women do not need to see men with bare chests clutching women in passionate poses to entice them to buy a book. For me, a good author's name and a brief synopsis of a good story line is sufficient to make me grab a book and head for the checkout line. All too often I must re-cover the book (like we used to do with our school books) in order to hide one of those ridiculous and garish covers that are an insult to the intellect of all women readers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2003

    Great Book

    Saint was a bit arrogant at first but as the book progresses, he showed a strength and genuine kindness for others. I suppose it helped that he was a hunk and had an attraction towards Eve that was titillating beyond words! Eve was what every woman dreamed she could be, smart, sharp witted and stood up for what she believed in regardless of the ramifications. This book was funny, sad and very romantic. I was hooked from page one. Although I have to say that Victor, Eve's brother was a horses you know-what. He was mean and only cared about himself. Although I am not one for violence against others, fictional or not, I must confess that I was hoping I'd read that Saint knocked his lights out... oh well, one can only hope. All in all this book was a keeper so read it for yourself and see if you don't agree.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2003

    An absolutely adorable story...

    I thought this book was really cute...the heroine was thoroughly likable and most of the time, the hero was as well. The ending wasnt as satisfying as I had hoped, but the story itself was entertaining and some of the scenes were just so humorous that I found myself bursting into laughter. I have to admit though... I really wanted strangle her brother because of his arrogance and selfishness. I couldn't put the book down and I was sorry when it was over. I have never read a book by this author before, but I believe that if her other books were as good as this one, I will have to track them all down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2003

    nice

    This book was cute but what I didn't like about this book is the fact that Evie shared the spotlight with Victor. His attitude was terrible and I didn't appreciate the way he controlled his sister. He was really mean. I thought the end could have been stronger. Evie and Saint being in love snuck up on me and it felt as if Enoch rushed it at the end. All in all it was a nice read but not a great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2003

    Love Those Bad Boys

    If anyone ever wants to know why girls fall for the bad boys, they should read this book. I could not put it down. Naming this rake, Saint is comical, but you come to love him and his ways!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Engaging Regency romance

    Evelyn Ruddick wants to help society¿s poor though a young lady like herself is expected to embroider not visit orphanages. When she sees the Heart of Hope Orphanage, she selects that as a place she can provide some good through donating her time and money. However, the Chairman of the Board of Trustees the Marquis of St. Aubyn, better known by the misnomer, ¿Saint¿, thinks otherwise. Saint tells her to go back to her aristocratic cronies, but when she persists he insists she come back with a plan as he still tries to get rid of the meddling do-gooder.<P> Saint wants out of the orphanage business, but his mother¿s will ties him to the place that he hopes to tear down. He finds himself quite attracted to Evelyn, who wants to implement an education program for the children. However, her brother sees Saint as a reprobate who will cost him his political career so he bans his sister from seeing him. Still, Evelyn and Saint fall in love while she tries to improve the lot of the poor children.<P> This engaging Regency romance hooks the reader from the moment the cynical Saint meets the Pollyanna Evelyn. Though the complex social issues are too easily resolved, the story line is fun to follow especially when the endearing mischievous children fluster Evelyn and she in turn emotionally moves the Saint, who knows how to retaliate via kisses. The audience will appreciate this entertaining Regency.<P> Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 50 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3