Customer Reviews for

Lone Star Trail

Average Rating 4.5
( 24 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted October 2, 2011

    Great read!

    An enjoyable read. Ms. Franklin wrote in such a way that made me want to find out how Wande Fleischer and her family conquer the land, also called Texas. It is a peek into the lives of the early Texans and those, like the Germans, who joined them in taming the land. I look forward to reading the next book in the series.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent New Series

    Lone Star Trail is the beginning of an adventure. If the next five books follow in the same steps this is a series worthwhile reading. It has adventure, romance, danger, heartache and more. The Morgan family horse ranch is on the outskirts of Victoria, Texas. They raise a special breed of horses called Morgan horses. Bill Morgan died in a war nine years before and the previous year Billie, the youngest sister, went missing and they assume the Comanche's killed her. Judson is the eldest and in charge. He hates all the German immigrants taking over his Texas lands and is quite prejudice against them. The Fleischer's have just arrived in America after months on the ship. They had land waiting for them in Neu-Braunfels, a German community in Texas started by Prince Carl of Braunfels. The family arrived in Carlshafen, Texas. Wande Fleischer is planning on marrying her love, Konrad. Things do not go as planned though. Wande starts thinking America is taking too much from her family. Her sister dies shortly after they land, their wagon breaks and her mother gets hurt. They end up staying with the Morgan's who live near where they broke down. She finds out Konrad has married someone else so they decide to stay in Victoria. There are many stories told. Jud is attracted to Wande but struggles with his dislike for immigrants. Tom Cotton works on the ranch and is courting Marion Morgan, Jud's sister. Georg Fleisher and Ertha. A cholera epidemic hits Victoria and another war against Mexico breaks out. It has a lot of real life in this book where not everything is happy ever after. It is well written though and a good story. Book received through NetGalley for review

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2012

    Vivid Descriptions & Interesting Characters

    Descriptions of Texas, circa 1840’s are vivid as are many of the cultural situations the author has researched and woven into her story. The daily life descriptions even include foods prepared, daily chores, and church gatherings and their oft-times diversity due to the variety of settlers.
    Characters are well-developed; Jud thinks he has overcome his prejudice to find that it raises its ugly head at the slightest provocation. Prejudice against German immigrants is portrayed in ways which help us examine our own prejudices.
    There is plenty of romance for your enjoyment

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 17, 2011

    more than romance

    Twenty centuries ago Paul wrote, "Here there is no Gentile or Jew, circumcised or uncircumcised, barbarian, Scythian, slave or free, but Christ is all, and is in all." (Colossians 3:11, NIV) To Paul's list Darlene Franklin adds "German or Texan" as she explores the interaction between Texans and German immigrants in the 1840's. Prejudice against different ethnicities is not a lightweight topic, and Lone Star Trail is not a lightweight story. The book is a satisfying romance, as expected, but also successfully transports the reader back over 150 years to everyday life on a ranch and in a small town, including the dangers faced: disease, death, and fire. The author populates the setting with two families of characters worth caring about, and the extras necessary to advance the plot. A great read, Lone Star Trail gives the added values of spiritual insight and a painless history lesson.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 2, 2012

    Most people in modern society don't remember prejudice between d

    Most people in modern society don't remember prejudice between different ethnic groups that immigrated to America. I didn't know the Irish were considered scum in some large cities when the people first came here until I read well-researched historical novels.

    In many mining camps, the Chinese were mistreated, as well as others who came here poor, lived in the slums, and earned their living at menial jobs. Germans and Japanese were even jailed during wars because of the atrocities their home country thrust upon the world.

    Prejudices were so deep and language barriers so high in one community three Catholic churches rose up in one little neighborhood in order to allow ethnic groups in their midst to worship separately.

    So I wasn't surprised when bachelor horse rancher Jud Morgan wouldn't look twice at Wande Fleischer, a beautiful young woman who recently came with her family from Germany. After all, she came to marry someone else, anyhow.

    As in real life, however, circumstances often work against what we consider our priorities and good sense. But it could also be Almighty God's way of directing our footsteps.

    Wande's path is filled with heartache, danger, wicked people, unending toil, disappointment--but ultimately well-deserved love and romance. I enjoyed Lone Star Trail, the characters, and the way the author unfolded this story. I recommend it.
    Note: I was provided a review copy of this book.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 20, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    What a Wonderful Book!

    This is a wonderful book. It is the first book I've read by Darlene Franklin, so I didn't know what to expect. I was not disappointed. Jud Morgan is your typical man. He is strong, smart, and stubborn to a fault. He is prejudice against outsiders and doesn't welcome change very easily. That is, until he meets Wande and her family. Wande is an excellent role model for women. She is a happy, strong, and independent woman. The character development in the story was excellent. I felt like I got to know both of the main characters, as well as the secondary characters in the book.

    The story is sweet. Jud and Wande meet. Jud, who is completely against the German people settling in his Texas, wants nothing to do with her at first. Wande is the same. She does not want to be around someone who so easily dismisses her people. They are brought together through a series of events and become friends. Then, of course, as the story progresses, they become so much more! The romance of the two is sweet and simple. It is not over the top or overdone. The story line is interesting and the book was very easy to follow.

    The message is this: trust in the Lord with all your heart. Lean on Him in hard times. I stated at the beginning of this review that Wande is a great role model for women because this is exactly what she does. Even through all of the trials she faces, she turns to the Lord for comfort and keeps going, even when the going gets tough. There is an old hymn that is referenced several times in this book that sums up the message quite nicely: A Mighty Fortress is Our God. Overall, I am so glad I picked this book to read and can't wait to get the next one!

    **I received this book free from the publisher in exchange for my honest review, which I have given.**

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2012

    Great book.

    Great book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    My children's Great Grandparents have roots to the German's that

    My children's Great Grandparents have roots to the German's that immigrated to Texas. Their has one of the first homesteads registered in Williamson County. It was not easy for anyone during those days.

    Darlene Franklin writes about about two families trying to build a life in the new state of Texas. Wande Fleischer along with her siblings and parents have immigrated to Texas in 1845 to start a new life in this promised land of milk and honey. Then there is the Morgan family whom raises Morgan horses on the Running M Ranch near Victoria, Texas.

    Jud Morgan is portrayed as somewhat of a bigot not wanting to accept the Germans or the Mexican as landowners on Texas soil. Love thy neighbor as thyself, seems to be the moral of this story. There is so many hardships for not just these two families but the whole community. Franklin shows that with prayer God can reach the hardened heart of a mans soul.

    There are six books in this series and they are written by several authors.

    I am looking forward to the other stand alone books in this series.

    I highly Recommend this book.

    Disclosure
    I received a digital copy from Netgalley for review. I was in no way compensated for this review. It is my own opinion.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2012

    Anonymous

    Good story. Can't wait to read the other books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2012

    Loved it

    Great read

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2013

    Wande Fleischer is a German immigrant who has just come to Texas

    Wande Fleischer is a German immigrant who has just come to Texas with her family to begin a new life.  But instead of the “milk and honey” they were promised and the marriage Wande had planned, her family meets tragedy and disappointment. 

    The Morgan family has had their fair share of family tragedy as well, and Jud Morgan is apprehensive of all the recent immigration from Germany. When the paths of the two families cross, mixed emotions ensue. Jud does not trust Germans, but he comes to care for the Fleischers. Soon, more heartbreak hits both families, and as they help each other overcome difficulties, love blossoms.

    I enjoyed this book. I recently read the final book in the Texas Trails series, and although they all stand alone as separate stories, I decided I did want to go back and read the others. The series covers stories of different members of the Morgan family. Lone Star Trail is a fairly easy read, and although parts of it were a little predictable, I enjoyed the journey. The characters were well developed, and I found the romance intertwined in the story to be just enough without being sappy. The book in written from a Christian perspective, and the author manages to make that apparent without looking like she is trying to throw occasional statements that qualify it as “Christian fiction.” Overall, Lone Star Trail is well written and enjoyable, and I would recommend it to those who enjoy fiction.

    I received this book for free from the publisher through the Moody Publishers blogger review program. I was not required to write a positive review and the opinions and thoughts I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2013

    NG

    Wonderful read.....gentle romance 242 pages.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 10, 2013

    Wande Fleischer dreams about her future with Konrad while travel

    Wande Fleischer dreams about her future with Konrad while traveling to Texas. She finds Texas to be very different from her previous home in Germany. She faces many trials good and bad in coming to Texas. Wande's family eventually comes to Victoria, Texas where they are tested in many ways. Judson (Jud) Morgan doesn't really like the Germans that have been moving to Texas in droves. He runs Running M Ranch since his father's death. He's trying to cope with the loss of his sister Billie the year before. He lives with his mother and sister Marion. Jud's mother asks him to help out German family~Fleischer's that he passed on the way to town. Jud slowly begins liking Germans with the help of Wande. Can these two families become friends? Will Jud get over his dislike of Germans? What obstacles will they face? How does God provide solutions for these families?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2013

    Enjoyable book!

    I enjoyed this book very much. I enjoyed the relationship between the families and I would read the rest of the books in the series. This is book #1 and it is written by a Christian author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2012

    Well written clean love story

    Jud and Wande are the main character's of many and give us a beautiful Christian love story of acceptance and tollerance. Well written first book about the Morgan family.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2012

    Good Reccmmend

    Good read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2012

    Highly Reccogmend.

    I liked the first two in this series I liked that predigests were pointed out and the main characters overcame them. I also liked the way the first two books were connected. I look forward to reading more of this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2012

    I want nook sex

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2012

    recommend

    very good series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2012

    !

    Not very good. Too preachy. Also got to pg 225 and refused to advance. I had to punch in pg number and even tgen pgs were missing. Woukd not recommend at all. Waste of time even reading it.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2