Customer Reviews for

Lone Survivor: The Eyewitness Account of Operation Redwing and the Lost Heroes of SEAL Team 10 (B&N Edition)

Average Rating 4.5
( 1836 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1314)

4 Star

(283)

3 Star

(105)

2 Star

(55)

1 Star

(79)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

110 out of 117 people found this review helpful.

NEW FAVORITE

I purchased this book when it first came out and was afraid to read it. I picked it up recently and absolutely could not put it down. This book has touched me in so many ways. Admittingly, I have taken our liberties for granted. After reading this book, I am truly grate...
I purchased this book when it first came out and was afraid to read it. I picked it up recently and absolutely could not put it down. This book has touched me in so many ways. Admittingly, I have taken our liberties for granted. After reading this book, I am truly grateful for men such as Marcus who are willing to put their lives on the line in order to protect mine. The courage these men have cannot be denied. This book should be read by all. I read some of the recent reviews and took great offense on comments regarding the political slant. This book is not about that. Regardless of how you feel about war and the US involvment, one cannot be less than thankful for the protection we have by our military. This book is so very highly recommended. It will be hard to replace this book as my favorite!!!

posted by Anonymous on August 27, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

124 out of 381 people found this review helpful.

Holy cow... you couldn't make this stuff up.

Wish I could rave about this one. Its beyond harrowing what those guys went through up on that mountain pass.

Unfortunately, the author spends 60% of the story patting himself on the back/being unbearably arrogant, and another 25% going on a political tirade that has...
Wish I could rave about this one. Its beyond harrowing what those guys went through up on that mountain pass.

Unfortunately, the author spends 60% of the story patting himself on the back/being unbearably arrogant, and another 25% going on a political tirade that has no place in a story that is supposed to honor his fallen brothers. I lost a bit of respect for the man every time I read "lefty" "liberal media" or other derrogatory inflamatory comment. Its one thing to disagree, and another completely to insult. I dont like it from anyone on either side of the argument. It adds nothing to the story... any story.

The remaining 15% of the story - the actual events of those days on the mountain - is riveting, horrifying and amazing to the point that a Hollywood movie of it would come off as unbelievable. He is clearly so wrapped in the story that he forgets to wax political or get arrogant. My jaw dropped regularly and I had tears for pages on end and can not believe he made it out alive, or that they were able to retrieve his fallen commrades.

I have a co-worker who couldnt finish the book due to the first half (or more) being an egomaniacal semi political rant.... Ive urged him to finish, for the sake of those men who died who deserve respect and honor, regardless of how you feel about the conflict, or the clear agenda of the man who tells their story.

A story like this should be free of agenda, and unfortunately this one is not. He does a major disservice to the SEALs, and especially to those who gave their life on that mountain - both fighting with him and trying to rescue him - by telling the story with too much ego and political rhetoric.

posted by ProvidenceReader on April 8, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 55 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted April 8, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Holy cow... you couldn't make this stuff up.

    Wish I could rave about this one. Its beyond harrowing what those guys went through up on that mountain pass.

    Unfortunately, the author spends 60% of the story patting himself on the back/being unbearably arrogant, and another 25% going on a political tirade that has no place in a story that is supposed to honor his fallen brothers. I lost a bit of respect for the man every time I read "lefty" "liberal media" or other derrogatory inflamatory comment. Its one thing to disagree, and another completely to insult. I dont like it from anyone on either side of the argument. It adds nothing to the story... any story.

    The remaining 15% of the story - the actual events of those days on the mountain - is riveting, horrifying and amazing to the point that a Hollywood movie of it would come off as unbelievable. He is clearly so wrapped in the story that he forgets to wax political or get arrogant. My jaw dropped regularly and I had tears for pages on end and can not believe he made it out alive, or that they were able to retrieve his fallen commrades.

    I have a co-worker who couldnt finish the book due to the first half (or more) being an egomaniacal semi political rant.... Ive urged him to finish, for the sake of those men who died who deserve respect and honor, regardless of how you feel about the conflict, or the clear agenda of the man who tells their story.

    A story like this should be free of agenda, and unfortunately this one is not. He does a major disservice to the SEALs, and especially to those who gave their life on that mountain - both fighting with him and trying to rescue him - by telling the story with too much ego and political rhetoric.

    124 out of 381 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2010

    Not Worth The Time

    There isn't enough story to fill a book - an engaging magazine piece perhaps. Instead, we are delivered a healthy dose of Luttrell's political views which, frankly, are poorly developed and short sighted.

    45 out of 218 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2007

    Reads like a DC comic book - Much blather

    This book has got to be one of the poorest reads I have managed to make it through in quite a while, totally full of jingoistic dogma which I find offensive and way off mark ¿ really, really distracts. As with the other reviews one will find on this book I do not wish to denigrate the lost souls of Seal Team 10 - these guys put up a helluva fight and I have the utmost respect for them ¿ truly highlights the superior training, however, having said that the book boils down to maybe seventy pages - from the insertion to full contact compromised, and the loss of the Team, the rest of the book is wasted pulp ¿ blather!!. Those seventy pages left me filled with questions relating to the Team¿s SOP (Standard Operating Procedure) such as why a four man team was used when the intel was telling them there were up to a couple hundred hostiles in the area. The six man team has repeatedly been shown to be more effective ¿ two more guns may have made the difference, especially if a SAW and a grenade launcher had been included (google Squad Automatic Weapon & M 203 grenade launcher), a few white phosphorous rounds definitely would have bought some breathing room. Marcus describes the reconnaissance point as a promontory which is the last place where someone hiding wants to be, they were on a ridge with at least one high speed trail, there was at least one hut in the area, the way it is written when they turned the goatherds loose they nonchalantly followed them up the mountain to another hide in full view of any observer. This whole section made me think fubar. SOP dictates the Team leader to do a fly over rather than just a photo and map study ¿ this may have been out of the question for one reason or another, regardless there was no mention of an E&E plan (escape and evasion) and why did comms fail? Blah blah blah ¿ one thing after another that may or may not have been done properly but the book definitely reads like it wasn¿t. Why is there no mention of Mako-30 and Neil Roberts? the skeptic in me wonders if the media is scrambling for another Jessica Lynch story coming into an election year. The one thing that the Iraq and Afghanistan conflicts have in common is the difficulty in remaining undetected during reconnaissance missions (Bravo Two Zero for instance 1st gulf), patrol technique has got to be highly modified, one would think this may have been addressed in detail or at least hypothetically somewhere in the book, maybe this is possibly classified - one would do well to study the movements of the snow leopard, camouflage is critical - not a mention? The pattern exists for alpine rock ¿google roggenwolf. I don¿t know, the way the book reads is smelly to me ¿not killing the goatherds was the proper choice - it appears that SOP was not adhered to. We have many experiences to learn from ¿ Soviet in particular but the British experience in the late 19th and early 20th centuries as well ¿ both were losers, we in turn shall be a loser - they and we do not understand and appreciate the tribal mentality - we are the bull in the china shop. Please read the Seven Pillars of Wisdom and Gertrude Bell -Queen of the Desert, also many accounts from climbing expeditions to this area have good insight into the Pashtun mentality. Prosit Absent Companions

    4 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2007

    Push Ups!!!

    I am in page 130 and the push-up´s of boot camp have not stopped!!!. Just reading the thousands of push-up's these Seals are put through makes me tired. Boot Camp phase I & II & III go on for ever. This book is more about the Seals and boot camp (more than half the book) and how great they are (John Wayne is missing) than trying to understand and explain why they are there. Are they really there because of 9/11 (5 years later)or because we want the area clensed of trouble makers that wont allow us to get to the oil untroubled. I expected more on the issues in a region that has extremely complex political and religious problems and not a John Wayne movie.

    3 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2013

    Lone Survivor

    Drags on with too much fine tuned detail. Being from Texas, which is continually pointed out, doesnt make a person any better or different than any other AMERICAN. I do respect special forces ss well as all of those who serve our country. God Bless America!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 28, 2011

    Look elsewhere for a story of heros...

    You can't really bash a book that ultimately attempts to capture the exploits of heros such as those serving in the branches of our armed forces, including the ones in this book. However, the author is very full of himself and while ability and confidence are undoubtedly required to be good at the job this man performed, it takes away from diving into this book. If you must read then do yourself a favor and scan quickly through the first 50-75+ pages, nothing of consequence here save the brief descriptions of those men the author knew best on his team.

    Very disappointed save for the honoring of the memory of those men who did a courageoud thing.

    2 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2009

    Hmmm...

    I guess the style of writing was what made me lose interest in the story. I'm sure the overall story was compelling, factual and a message the author was intent on getting out. To me, it was like overhearing the writer retell his story while sitting with a bunch of his buddies. No disrespect meant, it just wasn't a style of writing I found easy to read.

    2 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2014

    Alyssa

    Im already helping you. Lmao

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2014

    Ugg,

    The

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2014

    Poorly written and in desperate need of an editor.  On top of th

    Poorly written and in desperate need of an editor.  On top of that, the conservative rants, the lack of cultural understanding, and the "we're so tough" attitude made this a difficult read.  Read "Ghost Wars" and actually learn something.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2014

    Fftrtt

    Hi

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2014

    To ignorent

    This book would have been a great book except for the author goes on a crazy tirent about his political veiws, and 95% of the time only talks about him and his heroics. It sucks for me to have to write such a bad reveiw for the story about people that serve our country. But come on man, we get it. You did this and this and this your such a hero and so on and so forth. You need to stop wasting our time with taking 250 pages of talking about your political views and how great you are. Just tell us what happened on that mountain and how you got out.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2014

    Railgunner

    Is future tech allowed?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2014

    I DIDN'T CARE FOR IT. TO MUCH BACKGROUND ON BUD SCHOOL AND POLIT

    I DIDN'T CARE FOR IT. TO MUCH BACKGROUND ON BUD SCHOOL AND POLITICAL OPINION. SUBJECT MATTER WAS BORING AS WELL.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2013

    Just alittle full of himself

    Just alittle full of himself

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2013

    Couldn't get into the visuals of war anymore

    I only read a few pages and decided I just couldn't get into the story. God Bless Marcus and the guys that died in this war.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 27, 2012

    Intereresting read except for when the author goes on jingoistic

    Intereresting read except for when the author goes on jingoistic rant,
    and expresses hyper-patriotic personal political views.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2012

    Possibly untrue political rant and authot Possibly untrue political rant and the author regrets not being a murderer.

    See heading

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 55 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3