Customer Reviews for

Lone Survivor: The Eyewitness Account of Operation Redwing and the Lost Heroes of SEAL Team 10

Average Rating 4.5
( 1874 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1342)

4 Star

(291)

3 Star

(104)

2 Star

(55)

1 Star

(82)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

112 out of 119 people found this review helpful.

NEW FAVORITE

I purchased this book when it first came out and was afraid to read it. I picked it up recently and absolutely could not put it down. This book has touched me in so many ways. Admittingly, I have taken our liberties for granted. After reading this book, I am truly grate...
I purchased this book when it first came out and was afraid to read it. I picked it up recently and absolutely could not put it down. This book has touched me in so many ways. Admittingly, I have taken our liberties for granted. After reading this book, I am truly grateful for men such as Marcus who are willing to put their lives on the line in order to protect mine. The courage these men have cannot be denied. This book should be read by all. I read some of the recent reviews and took great offense on comments regarding the political slant. This book is not about that. Regardless of how you feel about war and the US involvment, one cannot be less than thankful for the protection we have by our military. This book is so very highly recommended. It will be hard to replace this book as my favorite!!!

posted by Anonymous on August 27, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

128 out of 392 people found this review helpful.

Holy cow... you couldn't make this stuff up.

Wish I could rave about this one. Its beyond harrowing what those guys went through up on that mountain pass.

Unfortunately, the author spends 60% of the story patting himself on the back/being unbearably arrogant, and another 25% going on a political tirade that has...
Wish I could rave about this one. Its beyond harrowing what those guys went through up on that mountain pass.

Unfortunately, the author spends 60% of the story patting himself on the back/being unbearably arrogant, and another 25% going on a political tirade that has no place in a story that is supposed to honor his fallen brothers. I lost a bit of respect for the man every time I read "lefty" "liberal media" or other derrogatory inflamatory comment. Its one thing to disagree, and another completely to insult. I dont like it from anyone on either side of the argument. It adds nothing to the story... any story.

The remaining 15% of the story - the actual events of those days on the mountain - is riveting, horrifying and amazing to the point that a Hollywood movie of it would come off as unbelievable. He is clearly so wrapped in the story that he forgets to wax political or get arrogant. My jaw dropped regularly and I had tears for pages on end and can not believe he made it out alive, or that they were able to retrieve his fallen commrades.

I have a co-worker who couldnt finish the book due to the first half (or more) being an egomaniacal semi political rant.... Ive urged him to finish, for the sake of those men who died who deserve respect and honor, regardless of how you feel about the conflict, or the clear agenda of the man who tells their story.

A story like this should be free of agenda, and unfortunately this one is not. He does a major disservice to the SEALs, and especially to those who gave their life on that mountain - both fighting with him and trying to rescue him - by telling the story with too much ego and political rhetoric.

posted by ProvidenceReader on April 8, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 104 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2012

    I actually enjoyed this book. I was surprised how much time the

    I actually enjoyed this book. I was surprised how much time the author spent on expressing his dislike for "liberals" and how the military should have its own rules. I also couldn't help but notice how most of the story was laced in derogatory and slightly racist tones. I did come away with an appreciation for how grueling and difficult it is to be a Navy SEAL, and his account of the events in those mountains were unbelievably horrifying. The bravery, loyalty and drive of Mr. Luttrell and his teammates is quite stunning and amazing.

    While I do not agree with Mr. Luttrell's politics and overall view of life (being a "liberal" and potentially an arch enemy), he is unapologetic, and does not hide who he is. His story of survival is amazing, and the bravery of his teammates command the utmost respect; I have a better understanding and appreciation of Navy SEAL life, I just hope some of the offensive and arrogant tones doesn't reflect how most of these warriors view the world.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2013

    A truly amazing story of courage and valor. Interesting and info

    A truly amazing story of courage and valor. Interesting and informational stuff on what it takes to become one of our elite fighters. It is however poorly written and ruined for me by the author's continual ranting about liberals and the "liberal media." Turn off the talk radio once in a while as you're bouncing across East Texas in your pickup Marcus. How fitting that the order to take bin Laden was given by a liberal president and not your boy GW who let him slip away because he couldn't wait to go after Saddam.




    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2013

    This is a good story told in an average way. Truly amazing what

    This is a good story told in an average way. Truly amazing what he went through. I didn't think his remarks about the liberal press was called for. I don't think anyone in the press is knocking the SEALs nor him. For amazing war story I'd recommend American Sniper ahead of Lone Survivor.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2008

    A reviewer

    First and foremost, my heart, thoughts, and prayers go out to the lost Seals/Servicemen'women' and their families. The details of the fighting are vivid and captivating, but they are just a small portion of the book. Additionally I found the book to not be very well written as it seems to question every decision/variable with the benefit of hindsight but not even describing it as such. There is definitely a slant to the book and no attempt 'or poor' to disguise it. As other reviewers commented, the book is a little heavy on the jingoism. It is almost half way through the book when it even starts to get into the mission itself. I do find the author has a political axe to grind and takes many opportunities to criticize liberals and the 'liberal media', blaming them for our country's restrictive rules of engagement and the persecution of soldiers who commit wrongs while on duty. This of course is balanced out with a nice heavy dose of Bush saluting support. I tried to look past his political motivation but was a little frustrated that he chose to ride the coattails of his team's valor to express quite a number of personal views. I believe that if someone chooses this line of work, they go in knowing that they are not going to agree with every mission and the rules of engagement have been fairly consistent by our country so this is no surprise. I'm not going to argue if they're right or wrong, I'm just saying that complaining and blaming liberals for it sounds like whining to me. I'm glad the author is on our side and thank each and every one of his comrades for their service. I do hope he remembers that the country he so valiently defends includes many thoughts/perceptions including some that may be frowned upon in Texas.

    1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2014

    Tony

    Walks in

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2014

    recommend

    As a combat veteran of the Vietnam War I know several things about war. You usually don't get a second chance to learn from your mistakes. One mistake can leave you dead or wounded. There is not enough training in the world to prepare you for the horror and chaos of combat. Never give your enemy a second chance. I was turned off by the bragging by Mr. Luttrell. I appreciate how rigorous SEAL training is, but enough already. His description of the battle was way over the top. I never witnessed any of my buddies making jokes or the chatter he describes. He experienced a terrible situation and is lucky to be alive.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2014

    This book was slightly disappointing but still a good read. This

    This book was slightly disappointing but still a good read. This book written by Marcus Luttrell talks about his childhood, his training, the battle, and the aftermath. Out of these his account of the battle starts up in the middle of the book and was the easiest / most entertaining part of the book to read.

    On June 28, 2005, Marcus Luttrell and SEAL Team 10 are sent into operation Redwing in Afghanistan. SEAL Team 10 consisted of Luttrell, Matthew Axelson, Michael Murphy and Danny Dietz. The four SEALs creeped through the Hindu Kush mountains, eventually setting up a good surveillance point to watch the village where their target was supposed to be located. This is where the mission goes wrong and while on surveillance, soon they are surrounded by the Taliban and engaged in a firefight outnumbered around 35 to 1. Caught in this vicious firefight, wounded and pushed further and further down the mountain, man by man is picked off until Marcus is the last surviving SEAL member. In the end, Marcus is passed over by the Taliban Army and crawls to find refuge in a local village. His wounds are treated and he is obviously retrieved and alive.
    The main theme of this book was brotherhood, while much of these events are gut wrenching especially when you have grown to like some of the characters, these men ban together and fight for each other over themselves. This story of their fight and determination is a fantastic read. 
    That being said, the first 200 pages or so that talk about his childhood, training, and stories, are too saturated with political views. He is a conservative and is constantly throwing in unnecessary political views and idealoligies that add nothing to the book. I am not a Republican or Democrat but this was sometimes immature sounding. Also to add, Marcus is extremely cocky and it shows in his writing, sometimes too much and it got old. This is why I was disappointed.
    Overall this book takes a while to speed up but once it does is worth the read, and his situation / story of what went wrong on Hindu Kush Mountains is second to none. If you can read past the political and arrogant jargon, the book will satisfy you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2014

    A Much harder Time Than The Movie Can Show

    My only negative comment is that Marcus spends 1/3rd of the book informing the reader about details of Seal training. That should have been condensed / edited a bit, because the details of the Team's bad days were more than interesting, and most readers will already understand that Seals are the hardest, best trained we have in the military without 100 plus pages of background. That said, its one hell of a story, and the 4 Team members get their due. Hats off yo our Seals for taking on all the bad jobs out there.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2014

    Great book

    Okay this book had an amazing action scene and from then on it was amazing but it had this long description about navy seal boot camp which was interesting but terribly boring but other than that it was great

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2013

    Not a bad book, but not quite what I expected. The first 5 chapt

    Not a bad book, but not quite what I expected. The first 5 chapters entail the author talking extensively about how he became a SEAL and his upbringing. This might be interesting to some, but not to me. The interesting stuff doesn't begin until chapter 6 when they finally get to Afghanistan. The encounter in Afghanistan is fascinating but I felt like the book contained a lot of unnecessary filler.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2012

    Doug

    Amazing story of Couage and Honor! Disapointed by the foul language. I am at a loss why someone thinks it is necessary to use it to emphasize a point. Would like to have seen less of the seal training and more historical detail on Operation Red Wing and all units and services involved. I am greatfull for the men who serve and those who make the ultimate sacrifice!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2012

    Slow

    The story was slow and confusing

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 24, 2011

    True Heroes

    I respect the author and his teammates. What a tragic event. Little to much arrogance with the writer, but all and all a good book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2009

    Very detailed description of a SEAL training and an Afghan firefight

    Almost documentary in its extremely detailed blow-by-blow narration of the protagonist's training to become a SEAL and a horrific firefight in which all the other members of his team were killed. Half the book is devoted to Marcus Luttrell's youth and SEAL training. Probably the most detailed description of BUDS training ever published. The last half of the book describes a SEAL team mission in Afghanistan that went disastrously wrong and his almost miraculous survival, rescue by a sympathetic Afghan and eventual honors from the President after returning to the US.
    Some of the assertions, particularly the number of enemies killed in the firefight, seem unlikely/exaggerated. While very descriptive, it was easy to put down - almost like watching a training video. Also a fair amount of blathering of irrelevant right-wing talking points (esp. the evilness of The Liberal Media)

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 104 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6