Customer Reviews for

Lone Wolf

Average Rating 4
( 402 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(176)

4 Star

(96)

3 Star

(67)

2 Star

(32)

1 Star

(31)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

24 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

Another amazing read!

Jodi Picoult never fails to get you turing page after page. Not only does she take you to a point where you face a life changing decision she teaches you stuff you may never open your mind to think about. Would reccomend this definatley!

posted by carlarazle on March 3, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

14 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

Disappointed. I wanted to love this book. I tried to find inte

Disappointed. I wanted to love this book. I tried to find interest in the human struggle, but it failed in light of the naturalist information of Luke Warren and his wolf pack. What happened after a while was that the book wained and fizzled out. The question or t...
Disappointed. I wanted to love this book. I tried to find interest in the human struggle, but it failed in light of the naturalist information of Luke Warren and his wolf pack. What happened after a while was that the book wained and fizzled out. The question or the moral dilemma regarding what constitutes "life" in brain damage and vegetative states was simply not tackled here in earnest, and that left a gaping hole. Cara's and Edward's tug of war over "pulling the plug" or not on their father, and who should do it because one was beloved more than the other, acted as the central point of the novel. I felt it was a book not well thought out. Something was missing. Something important was left out that should have anchored the whole.

I'm a huge Picoult fan who sits on the edge of my chair when I have a new novel of hers in my hands. I struggled through the beginning of this book because I kept hoping it would pick up. I loved the parts about the behaviors of wolves in the wild and how Luke Warren found a way to become a part of them. What I found watered down, the human family parts of the story, made the book boring and took away from it as a whole. The family secrets were over rated.

This isn't Jodi Picoult at her best. I'm sorry I can only rate this book at a C level.
3.5 stars howling at the moon in sadness

posted by Humbee on March 16, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 402 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 21
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2012

    Another amazing read!

    Jodi Picoult never fails to get you turing page after page. Not only does she take you to a point where you face a life changing decision she teaches you stuff you may never open your mind to think about. Would reccomend this definatley!

    24 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2012

    Another Amazing Book From Picoult

    Yet again, Picoult writes with briliance. Alot of statements in the book make you think. I love wolves, so this book was that much better. However, you dont have to love wolves to love this book. Again Picoult write in brilliance.

    19 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Disappointed. I wanted to love this book. I tried to find inte

    Disappointed. I wanted to love this book. I tried to find interest in the human struggle, but it failed in light of the naturalist information of Luke Warren and his wolf pack. What happened after a while was that the book wained and fizzled out. The question or the moral dilemma regarding what constitutes "life" in brain damage and vegetative states was simply not tackled here in earnest, and that left a gaping hole. Cara's and Edward's tug of war over "pulling the plug" or not on their father, and who should do it because one was beloved more than the other, acted as the central point of the novel. I felt it was a book not well thought out. Something was missing. Something important was left out that should have anchored the whole.

    I'm a huge Picoult fan who sits on the edge of my chair when I have a new novel of hers in my hands. I struggled through the beginning of this book because I kept hoping it would pick up. I loved the parts about the behaviors of wolves in the wild and how Luke Warren found a way to become a part of them. What I found watered down, the human family parts of the story, made the book boring and took away from it as a whole. The family secrets were over rated.

    This isn't Jodi Picoult at her best. I'm sorry I can only rate this book at a C level.
    3.5 stars howling at the moon in sadness

    14 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    great

    Wonderful Book I enjoyed reading. did not disappoint.

    13 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2012

    Sad

    I have read every Picoult book written and eagerly awaited this one. It was unspeakably sad with nothing uplifting in it. A lot of interesting info about wolves but not sure it was worth the painful story.

    12 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2012

    Couldn't put it down

    Once again,Jodi Picoult has educated me on several topics in one book. There are several dynamics explored, all interesting enough to keep me reading and wanting more

    12 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 6, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    What an interesting parallel of the wolf theme to portray the fa

    What an interesting parallel of the wolf theme to portray the father who was on life support. Cara Warren, 17, called her father to pick her up after being out with friends who had been drinking. Cara and her father were then in a serious car accident. Cara recovers from her injuries after surgery but her dad was not so lucky. He suffered a traumatic brain injury. He was being kept alive by life support, a ventilator and feeding tube. Cara wants him to pull through and her brother, Edward, wants to pull the plug. This is another excellent portrayal of feelings and human nature that Picoult is famous for.

    11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2012

    Worst book

    I am a huge fan of Picoult, I have read all her books and loved them all. With that being said this is the worst book I have read in years! Very disappointed

    9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2012

    No Longer a Picoult fan

    The beauty of Picoult's writing and character development has disappeared into an overly long formulaic pattern of story telling. The characters in her last few books are presented with a life-changing challenge or problem, followed by some kind of courtroom drama that ends in an amazingly quick and unrealistic resolution. The author's writing has become too commercial and the gentle human touch of her earlier work is gone. Well researched, but too long-winded. Try Picoult's first few books; they are treasures and worth the reading time.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2012

    Too predictable

    If you've readMs. Picoult's last few novels, you know exactlly where this book is going. With that being said, I am a die hard Picoult fan and appreciate that she writes about issues that are thought provoking. On the other hand I feel that since the success of My Sister's Keeper, the formula for Ms. Picoult's books has been: current events + medical issue + Law and Order style courtroom drama= new book. It's a new song but the same old dance. Where's my old Jodi Picoult?

    8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2012

    Enjoyed reading it.

    True to fashion, Jodi Picoult has written another book I wasn't able to put down until finished. I enjoy how she writes from all the characters points of view - it makes me feel a connection to each. The amount of research that must go into a book such as this (traumatic brain injuries, wolves) is incredible - I always feel as if she is an expert on the subject written about. Unlike other books of Ms. Picoult, I wasn't blindsided at the end with twists and turns - I was able to predict the plot wrinkles. Could be a familiarity with the author, but it did not take away from my enjoyment of the story. Recommend.

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 22, 2012

    This is my second book I’ve read from Jodi Picoult, and I

    This is my second book I’ve read from Jodi Picoult, and I have to admit, this is actually my favorite one! As a graduate from the marriage and family therapy at UHCL, my first job post-grad was at Memorial Hermann Hospital on the Neuroscience Unit. Working with brain injured patients and their families was a challenging and often emotional experience. I certainly learned about self-care, myself! What I love and appreciated most about Jodi Picoult’s book was that she never explicitly shares what is wrong or right. Rather, she delicately addresses a life-death situation families often experience and describes the painful experience each family member deals with as a father lies in a coma on life support. Family issues, sibling relationships, marriage/divorce, and family alliances are drawn in this book. This is a story that will challenge your own beliefs, question your own will, and have you wondering if leaving your fate in the hands of one child is the best decision. I loved this book because Jodi Picoult does address a tough issue, but rather than persuade the reader, she allows the reader to grapple with her own issues and look at the process of a decision rather than the decision itself. It makes for a great book club discussion, a great tool for those working with families affected with those in ICU, trauma related issues, and life/death decisions. Jodi Picoult also researched extensively about the life of a wolf, wolf packs, and ways they interact with one another. Lone Wolf, the title, certainly carries a lot of meaning in this book. There were many times I wondered how the wolves would have decided and thought it would have been probably an easier decision to make by the pack. Overall, this is an exceptional read and I wouldn’t be surprised if this book lands on many best seller’s lists!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2012

    I am still in the middle of reading this book, but by the beginn

    I am still in the middle of reading this book, but by the beginning of the book I was disappointed. The book was very dragged out and long. There are parts where Picoult is trying to make a comparison to the wolves, but it just become so boring to read that I always just skip those chapters. Not an exciting book at all. I just want to finish it already and read something new. Jodi Picoult is an amazing writer, but not this years book. Recently I've felt that Picoult has been going downhill as well with her other book Sign You Home. This was a boring novel as well. The last book before Sing You Home, she wrote House Rules which was by far amazing. I've become disappointed in her two latest books. Please write something better next time Picoult.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2012

    Not the best for Nook simple touch. Some chapters are different

    Not the best for Nook simple touch. Some chapters are different text, very hard to see on screen. I scroll up 2 text sizes for these chapters and then back again for the regular text chapters.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2012

    Finally! I have been waiting for this book like FOREVER!

    Though I just started reading this novel, I will give her a five. She is my favorite modern day author.

    2 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2013

    People can you not spoil the book by writing a very detailed sum

    People can you not spoil the book by writing a very detailed summary of the book. If people want to know what the book is about then they can read the BRIEF description of the book. 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 27, 2012

    Interesting story but poor writing.

    I have read at least 10 of Jodi Picoult's books. This book was somewhat boring. Usually I fly through her books, but this took me about a week to finish. I actually like the parts with Luke and the wolves. What I couldn't stand was how cliche the writing is. It was almost comical at times, and wasn't intended to be. I think that Picoult has a contract to spit out a book a year, and it's affecting the quality of her writing for sure.

    This book also was tied up a little too neatly at the end. Just so unrealistic.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2012

    Yuk

    Made it to page 185 and all of the characters can die. Piccoult hasn't made me care. Very disappointing. Have enjoyed all of her books before this one. Don't waste your time.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 21, 2012

    In my opinion, this book was very, very good. For being 370 page

    In my opinion, this book was very, very good. For being 370 pages, it kept my interest the whole way. I absolutely love it. Jodi Picoult has been my favorite author for some time, and her novels are always amazing. I think that the piece that was the most interesting was the theme: wolves. They are very cool animals, and it was awesome to see her create an entire book using them. I would highly recommend this book to anyone who is a fan of wolves, likes the author, or is looking for a good, heartbreaking story. There are many themes, but the biggest one would probably be how precious life is and how important family is. Each child has a different view of their father. Jodi Picoult's writing is very descriptive and engaging. The plot was very believeable, as well. This book is definitely something I would read again.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Lately I have been disappointed with Jodi Picoult's novels. This

    Lately I have been disappointed with Jodi Picoult's novels. This one was not disappointing but it lacked her usual ability to evoke emotion and debate. The whole dissertation on how wolves operate is kinda fascinating but I think the information was drawn out too much, Each wolf chapter had a corresponding human novel chapter but I felt it was too long. That aside, the book touches on issues that we'd rather not deal with on a day to day basis. No one wants to determine if their loved one should be taken off of life support. In this case you are dealing with a very attached 17 year old and a very detached 24 year old. The human disagreement is real and at times you can identify with either side. I am not saying this is a must read. If you have never read anything by JP before don't start with this or any of her last 3 novels. Her earlier works are far more compelling and worth your time.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 402 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 21