Customer Reviews for

Lone Wolf

Average Rating 4
( 407 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(178)

4 Star

(97)

3 Star

(67)

2 Star

(33)

1 Star

(32)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

24 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

Another amazing read!

Jodi Picoult never fails to get you turing page after page. Not only does she take you to a point where you face a life changing decision she teaches you stuff you may never open your mind to think about. Would reccomend this definatley!

posted by carlarazle on March 3, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

14 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

Disappointed. I wanted to love this book. I tried to find inte

Disappointed. I wanted to love this book. I tried to find interest in the human struggle, but it failed in light of the naturalist information of Luke Warren and his wolf pack. What happened after a while was that the book wained and fizzled out. The question or t...
Disappointed. I wanted to love this book. I tried to find interest in the human struggle, but it failed in light of the naturalist information of Luke Warren and his wolf pack. What happened after a while was that the book wained and fizzled out. The question or the moral dilemma regarding what constitutes "life" in brain damage and vegetative states was simply not tackled here in earnest, and that left a gaping hole. Cara's and Edward's tug of war over "pulling the plug" or not on their father, and who should do it because one was beloved more than the other, acted as the central point of the novel. I felt it was a book not well thought out. Something was missing. Something important was left out that should have anchored the whole.

I'm a huge Picoult fan who sits on the edge of my chair when I have a new novel of hers in my hands. I struggled through the beginning of this book because I kept hoping it would pick up. I loved the parts about the behaviors of wolves in the wild and how Luke Warren found a way to become a part of them. What I found watered down, the human family parts of the story, made the book boring and took away from it as a whole. The family secrets were over rated.

This isn't Jodi Picoult at her best. I'm sorry I can only rate this book at a C level.
3.5 stars howling at the moon in sadness

posted by Humbee on March 16, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 67 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted March 16, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Disappointed. I wanted to love this book. I tried to find inte

    Disappointed. I wanted to love this book. I tried to find interest in the human struggle, but it failed in light of the naturalist information of Luke Warren and his wolf pack. What happened after a while was that the book wained and fizzled out. The question or the moral dilemma regarding what constitutes "life" in brain damage and vegetative states was simply not tackled here in earnest, and that left a gaping hole. Cara's and Edward's tug of war over "pulling the plug" or not on their father, and who should do it because one was beloved more than the other, acted as the central point of the novel. I felt it was a book not well thought out. Something was missing. Something important was left out that should have anchored the whole.

    I'm a huge Picoult fan who sits on the edge of my chair when I have a new novel of hers in my hands. I struggled through the beginning of this book because I kept hoping it would pick up. I loved the parts about the behaviors of wolves in the wild and how Luke Warren found a way to become a part of them. What I found watered down, the human family parts of the story, made the book boring and took away from it as a whole. The family secrets were over rated.

    This isn't Jodi Picoult at her best. I'm sorry I can only rate this book at a C level.
    3.5 stars howling at the moon in sadness

    14 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Lately I have been disappointed with Jodi Picoult's novels. This

    Lately I have been disappointed with Jodi Picoult's novels. This one was not disappointing but it lacked her usual ability to evoke emotion and debate. The whole dissertation on how wolves operate is kinda fascinating but I think the information was drawn out too much, Each wolf chapter had a corresponding human novel chapter but I felt it was too long. That aside, the book touches on issues that we'd rather not deal with on a day to day basis. No one wants to determine if their loved one should be taken off of life support. In this case you are dealing with a very attached 17 year old and a very detached 24 year old. The human disagreement is real and at times you can identify with either side. I am not saying this is a must read. If you have never read anything by JP before don't start with this or any of her last 3 novels. Her earlier works are far more compelling and worth your time.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2014

    I've read a lot of Jodi Picoult's books and no matter what the t

    I've read a lot of Jodi Picoult's books and no matter what the topic, her style of telling a story through the eyes of a handful of different characters in the story is effective in keeping the momentum going and carrying me along to the end. This book was a little more difficult for me, because I just could not find any way to like the character of Luke. No matter how driven he was to research and understand how wolf packs work, I could not find any redeeming characteristics in a man who would so completely neglect his family. Despite that, Picoult still carried me along and delivered a satisfying, though expected, ending. One other comment--I do wish she would have depicted the mother in the story with a few flaws. Sometimes some of her female characters can have a little too much saccharine, and describing her as seeing herself as imperfect because she only starts flossing her teeth a week before her dentist visit becomes annoying in itself. Anyway, just sayin'......

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2013

    Okay

    Not one of Picoult's best. Still a good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2012

    Not Very Captivating.

    Huge fan of Jodi Picoult, but unfortunately this book didn't impress me. The overall story line was well thought out, but the plot unfolded very slowly. Typically Picoult's books are hard to put down ; this one was a struggle to finish. I finished it just to see what happened. Reading her book, The Pact, was time better spent.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2012

    Could Disappointed

    I am a big Jodi Picoult fan but this book was the one I liked least. The Luke chapters were overkill. I figured out by the time I was half way through the book that I could just skip the Luke chapters and the story did not become disjointed. Picoult is at her best when she writes the courtroom scenes. That is when this book was the most interesting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 13, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Fair...

    I'm a huge Jodi Picoult fan however this wasn't my favorite.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2012

    Calla

    RWAR!! *teepees the trees and runs out.*

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2012

    Lone Wolf

    The book was ok but not the best by JodiPequoit ,it took me a while to really get into the book........

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2012

    Wasn't my fav jodi book

    I've read all of j.p's booksand this wasnt thr best but not yhr worst either.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2012

    Not the usual

    Usually i am unable to put her books down. It was only the last half of the book that i felt this way. It was too drawn out. I still will await anxiously for her next novel however.

    Favorite books by JP: nineteen minutes, the pact, house rules, and my sisters keeper

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2012

    Anonymous

    I hav read many of Jodi Picoult's books and loved every single one. I found this story line to be interesting but a few parts of the story boring. The characters are a little stale and their actions and outcomes are very predictable. It was still an okay book, just not my favorite book by her.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2012

    Disappointing

    A story that is so improbable that it could not hold my attention for very long at a time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2012

    Icewolf To Mockingfeather

    I sence a lot of distrust between us just because u thought i was in the Sunclan. See the only reason i wanted your help was because you seemed legit and pretty in the know. Why should we do anything less harsh when darkdream and the rebels are killing kits! Plese reply on yr or my turf -Icewolf

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2012

    So so

    Not my favorite jodi picoult book but still very well written

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2012

    Not one of Jodi's best - I read her books because of the depth o

    Not one of Jodi's best - I read her books because of the depth of her research, depth of her characters, as well as the controversal topics - all lacking in this book. An OK read - but again not one of Jodi's best.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2012

    Nice

    Nice

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2012

    Not real impressed with this one. I so looked forward to anothe

    Not real impressed with this one. I so looked forward to another one of Jodi's books and bought first day of issue, really didn't want to spend the money. But I did. I love her books no matter what though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2012

    Just finished Lone Wolf

    Drawn out at parts, but atouching story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2012

    Good but not my favorite

    I am a huge fan of Jodi Picoult, however this book was not one of my favorite reads from her. I did appreciate how it was written in each character's point of view. It did not have the wonderfully shocking conclusion that I have come to expect from this author. I still recommend it as it has very interesting facts about wolves and their interactions with humans.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 67 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4