Customer Reviews for

A Lonely Death (Inspector Ian Rutledge Series #13)

Average Rating 4
( 44 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(25)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2012

    James

    He walked back to camp."

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2012

    highly recommend

    a truly great series. the pull between the two characters is disturbing at times. i hope there is some peaoe for both of their troubled souls in the future,

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2011

    Highly Recommended.

    Hi. Easy reading, fast action. Will read more of inspector Rutledge.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2011

    A Lonely Death

    Soldiers are being murdered. World War I has not been over long, but it seems someone has a vendetta to settle. Scotland Yard Inspector Ian Rutledge is sent to investigate the murders in a small English village. Finding the connection between all three murdered men-other than being soldiers and murdered by a garrote-is a necessity to find to murderer, but it will take a lot of digging on Rutledge's part!
    Rutledge also has his personal problems to deal with through the whole book. A close, personal friend commits suicide. His love life requires more than he can handle. Hamish, the ghost of a fallen comrade that Rutledge had to put in front of a firing squad for disobeying orders, speaks to him and is both a help and a hindrance to him throughout. Rutledge has a lot of guilt and heavy heartedness over all of this.
    The long, cold case of Chief Inspector Cummins-now retired-that has haunted him for years was bequeathed to Rutledge along with a warning about his new Chief. This case, 'murder at Stonehenge', pulls at Rutledge and splits his focus.
    An intriguing addition to the Inspector Rutledge Series that will keep you trapped in its pages! You won't want to put this one down.
    Reviewed by Ashley Wintters for Suspense Magazine

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A gentle read

    This isn't my usual genre, as I'm not a big fan of police drama, mysteries, or historical fiction. This story is about a Scotland Yard police inspector, trying to solve a murder mystery, shortly after WWI. Not my usual, but still an interesting, well written story that I'm glad I read.

    Inspector Ian Rutledge works for Scotland Yard, and seems to have a slight problem with authority. Despite being good at his job, I got the impression that he didn't indulge in office politics or 'play the game' in order to get ahead. Reminded me a little bit of John Rebus, but they inhabit different worlds.

    Because of the time period, this struck me as more of a gentle read. There were cars and phones, but the cars had to be hand cranked and there was only one phone in the entire village where the murders took place. Every reminder of the time period sort of took me by surprise, as I'm not used to stories set in the past. Every now and again I'd wonder why he didn't just call such-and-such on his cell. Well, duh! Makes me think I either need to pay better attention or read more historical fiction!

    This was a good, old-fashioned story where the crime had to be solved without all of the modern CSI advantages. I liked Inspector Rutledge, but the mystery didn't really grab me and I was more interested in the characters than finding out the whodunnit. Gave it a 3/5 as I liked it, but didn't love it. Think mystery lovers would enjoy this more than I did, and most of the reviews I've seen have given it 4/5 and 5/5 ratings.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Great book in a great series

    I have enjoyed all of the books in the Ian Rutledge series, but this one was something special. The author writes beautifully of the time period (after WWI) and the main character's struggle to continue his life after the horrendous experiences of the most terrible of modern wars. This book has three stories to tell. The first is the major case Rutledge is assigned to - a serial killer in a small English village. A small secondary story is about a much earlier murder that his previous superior could never solve. The author does an excellent job in tying these stories together throughout the book. And the third, even smaller, story is about love and loyalty. Even if you have never read any books in this series don't miss this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 21, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A Great Read!

    This is the 13th book in the Ian Rutledge series, though you'd have no trouble picking this one up as a stand-alone. A British mystery, set just after WWI, the mother and son writing team called Charles Todd does a great job of transporting readers back in time. Inspector Rutledge is haunted by the war, as are most of the men we encounter. The women are left to deal with husbands who have returned much different than the men they'd married. As readers, we're constantly reminded of the lasting effects of war.

    This is a slow moving story, as I think most historical mysteries are. We're back in a time long before computers and DNA. Facts trickle in and Rutledge does his best to piece them together. The murder mystery kept me guessing and the characters kept me entertained throughout.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3