Customer Reviews for

The Lonely Hearts Club

Average Rating 4.5
( 167 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(101)

4 Star

(46)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Reviewed by Ashley B for TeensReadToo.com

Penny Lane Bloom is sick of dating boys. All they do is cause her trouble and heartbreak. She vows to date no more for the next two years, until she graduates from high school. Penny decides to start a club: The Lonely Hearts Club (yep, like the Beatles).

The club so...
Penny Lane Bloom is sick of dating boys. All they do is cause her trouble and heartbreak. She vows to date no more for the next two years, until she graduates from high school. Penny decides to start a club: The Lonely Hearts Club (yep, like the Beatles).

The club soon has multiple girls joining. These girls have also realized that they are changing themselves to get the guy, only to get hurt in return. Things change after an article in the school paper though, and Penny doesn't like how she is now known for having the "lonely heart."

Besides, there is this one boy...

This was an amazingly written debut novel. I loved every minute of reading, and I could not stop until I couldn't keep my eyes open any longer. The characters were fun and unique. The plot was totally original, which made the story even better.

The Beatles references weren't over-done. It seemed like there were a lot of main characters, but that was okay, because the plot flowed nicely, and I got to know each character pretty well.

Overall, THE LONELY HEARTS CLUB was very enjoyable and extremely cute. It is a great book about the meaning of friends, especially while in a relationship. A great debut!

posted by TeensReadToo on January 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

the lonely heart

At some pivotal moment in their life, every teenage girl will come to the point where she will become fed up with boys and their typical immature shenanigans. Some might even go so far as to completely swear off the male sex for a certain period of time. A very few othe...
At some pivotal moment in their life, every teenage girl will come to the point where she will become fed up with boys and their typical immature shenanigans. Some might even go so far as to completely swear off the male sex for a certain period of time. A very few others will possibly not only stop dating boys, but they will encourage all their friends to do so and will then create a club where they can celebrate their self-induced single-ness with other like-minded females. Our hero, Penny Lane Bloom belongs to the last category.

After finding herself with a broken heart yet again, Penny decides to swear off boys (except the Beatles) until after high school, choosing instead to focus on herself and her girlfriends by creating The Lonely Hearts Club (so named after the Sgt. Peppers Lonely Hearts Club Band album). Penny couldn't be happier with her new found freedom, even if she is only a club of one. But word of Penny's new club spreads quickly among the girls of her school who are also eager to shed their boy-troubles and Penny quickly finds herself on the outs with nearly every boy, some particularly catty girls, and even her principal.

There were several things to love about Elizabeth Eulberg's debut novel The Lonely Hearts Club. First off, any novel that takes not only its title but several character names and a 'date' to a Beatles impersonators concert from the Fab Four cannot help but be entertaining. Additionally, I adore the lighthearted cover with its modern girly Abbey Road inspired cover. I also applaud Eulberg for creating some strong female characters who recognize the futility of centering their lives around the whims of immature males who go on to get good grades, join sports teams, and who understand the value of female friendship. Thank you for that.

As much as I enjoyed Penny and the girls, I often found myself wondering if The Lonely Hearts Club had been written about eight years ago after listening to Penny's best friend repeatedly say "what to the ev" (gag) or how the girls applied shimmer powder before going to party. Shimmer powder? Yeah, that kind of stopped happening with anyone over the age of 10 after 2006. And those are only a few small details. I had issues with the basically nonexistent parents who were essentially present only to lend Penny her Beatles infatuation and the unbelievably unsupportive Principal who would have been slapped with several lawsuits quicker than you can say "advanced placement." And as much as I was rooting for Penny, though many of her exchanges with friends could sometimes be described as light and fun, they were usually awkward and extremely after-school-special unrealistic. Which I found extremely sad since all the components for making The Lonely Hearts Club into something really entertaining were right there. In the end, Penny and her club just failed to turn it into something more than a predictable 90's sitcom.

posted by SeeMichelleRead on February 22, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 46 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted June 17, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    No Lonely Heart

    I loved this book on so many different levels.

    First, let me say that Eulberg did a fantastic job of weaving the music of the Beatles into the very foundation of this story. From the names of the Bloom children to the flower power way of life her parents led all elements of the infusion were sheer perfection. I mean, seriously, how can a Beatles lover not like a book whose chapter titles are song names/lyrics?

    Now, let me move on to the biggest reason why I loved this book. I thought the lesson it has to teach young girls was filled with positivity. It didn't preach being spiteful or mean-spirited. The concept of The Lonely Hearts Club was productive and the fact that it was built on the concept of creating, sustaining and building friendships made it a lovely way for a young girl to work through the devastating heart-break of losing first love. Particularly given the fact that she works her way through it all to realize that this love was one-sided and perhaps thought (on her part) to be more than it really was.

    Speaking of friendships, I adored the multitudes of relationships Penny and her friends crafted. From the quirky territorial best friend, to the former BFF who dumped her for a boy friend then sought refuge in the club, to the girls who joined the just to be part of what was building to be the popular crowd, the characters were both realistic and enjoyable to read. Add to that the dumb, possessive, big man on campus jock-type that thought every girl wanted him and the sweet natured friend who happens to be a boy and you have the perfect recipe for age-appropriate teenaged angst.

    Though Penny's parents were flighty in the stereotypical hippie-type way I found them to be equally supportive given their lack of information about Penny's situation with Nate. They trusted her judgement, backed-her up when she was faced with adversity at school and were loving, helpful and caring individuals. I'll add that they also added in a healthy dose of humor to the overall story.

    I strongly encourage those young and old to read this book. It was good fun and filled with valuable life lessons about individuality, hoard mentality, love, and friendship.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Penny Lane Rocks

    I was thrilled to get this book the other day mainly because I was like Penny Lane. I had struggled thru a bad patch with boys and the title spoke to me. But after I got thru the first part of the book, it was less about bashing guys and more about bringing your friends closer and relying on them, and not just on boyfriends. Penny's character has so much spunk, but she really shows that with your friends behind you, anything can happen. The ending was very believable and I walked away from it wanting more.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 7, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    THE LONELY HEARTS CLUB- A fun contemporary romance with just the right groove!

    The Beatles.
    A huge part of THE LONELY HEARTS CLUB is made up of Beatles talk. In general I love music being a part of a story, because it is something that can affect and change a person and story entirely. Unfortunately I am not really into the Beatles.
    There were some things in the story related to them and it felt cool, but the attitude of Penny’s parents and their worshipping the band started to annoy me after some time into the story. Like it was a smart solution circling your lives and decisions around the choices of famous musicians.

    Penny Lane.
    She’s the girl named after a Beatles song. She’s the founder of the lonely Hearts Club after being cheated on by her childhood love Nate. I tell you, you’ll totally get her point of founding the club in her decision to not wanting to be miserable anymore. And I loved that so many other girls felt the need to join.

    Clubs are always fun and this one’s dedicated to a good cause: no more heart break. The club is a place to get help and comfort from other girls that fast become friends. We get to know Penny’s best friend Tracey who fears to loose her friend over another. There is an old friend coming back into Penny’s life and now she has to sort out how to keep all of her friends.

    With time the ideals of the lonely hearts club start changing and it starts to be so much about friendship and the strength of a group of powerful girls. It’s an ode to femininity and independent women. The girls of the lonely hearts club do so many great and fun things together!

    But then Penny slowly falls in love even though she is the founder of the lonely hearts club. That love story really got my attention, because it lays the main focus on Penny’s feelings and thoughts, the transition from being sure about never dating again and slowly falling in love again.
    The blooming relationship is really cute, but sometimes Penny acted a bit too ignorant and not very sensible considering that that one guy would be willing to do everything for her. Just get him girl! Read yourselves how that blooming romance plays out in the end.

    THE VERDICT

    THE LONELY HEARTS CLUB features some fun dialogues, ideas and characters. There are references to Beatles songs that are totally fitting just like Elizabeth Eulberg’s cute and girly writing. I’m looking forward to reading PROM AND PREJUDICE and TAKE A BOW!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2011

    :D

    I loved this book. It was kind of sappy but amazing. I love the beatles crazed parents and the story line
    Definitely a book that will make you happy and in a good mood. This book left me wanting to read more books like this. Girl power is definitely shown in here. Love it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Yesterday..

    I picked this book up because of all The Beatles references I noticed just from the cover and the description. It's an easy read, I finished in a day, but it's also very well written. I laughed out loud, and I felt that these characters were my best friends by the end of the book. And even though it's been awhile since I graduated high school, I was still captivated by the story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Very cute idea and well written

    This is a quick read, I finished it in less than a day. The story is very cute. I think Lonely Hearts it is better then any of the Sarah Dessen books, but appeals to the same group of readers/fans. Looking forward to future releases from this author.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    SOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO CUTE! HA HA!

    This book was a lot better than I thought it would be!! It got slow at some points but then picked right up again! this is a must-read for pretty much every girl out there!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2010

    Loved it!

    This was such an easy read and you will enjoy every page. it's about heartbreak and dealing with it with the help of friends that care and want to help you. very great book it only took me two days to read it! <3

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2014

    Bob

    I really enjoyed this book, except i think that Penny lane went a overboard with the whole "man hater" idea. Sure, every girl has a few bad moments with guys, but it doesnr make them all bad. I did really enjoy this book though.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2013

    Fun

    Really fun to read!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2012

    Wonderful book!!

    Eizabeth Eulberg did a very good job portraying the struggles teenagers face in the average relationship in any region. Penny Lane was initially a great role model for self respect and i wouldn't hesitate one second if Eulberg came out with a sequel. I oved it and as someone of the same age as the majority of the characters in the book i would reccomend it to all teenage girls.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2011

    Cute

    It was so cute! Original too!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 23, 2011

    Love

    I read it in ome day! Really good read! (:

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2011

    W.H.O.A

    This book was friggin awesome! I couldnt put it down, and i finished it in one day. Its a pimpin book. Read it. NOW.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 24, 2011

    good

    i just got the sample and it is really really good i would buy it if it was cheeper

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2011

    wh???????

    i loved this book it was soo good i mean seriously i love the beatles and chicks b4 ...well u no the rest GREAT BOOK!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2011

    Very Good Book

    There are, for the most part, two things I hate in this world, teenage romance novels and books about The Beatles that aren't actually on The Beatles. This book has both, but I couldn't put it down. It was the most interesting book I had read since The Perks of Being A Wallflower a year ago. This book was funny, interesting, and relatable. I liked it so much I read it for three hours strait and was sad when it ended, haven't done that since the last Harry Potter came out. This was an amazing book and I would totaly recomend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2010

    I Really Liked This Book

    Love is all you need. . .
    or is it?

    Penny is sick of boys and sick of dating, so she vows: No more. She's had one too many bad dates, and has been hurt by one too many bad boys.

    It's a personal choice . . . and soon everybody wants to know more about it. It seems that Penny's not the only girl who's tired of the way girls change themselves (most of the time for the worse) in order to get their guys . . . or the way their guys don't really care.

    Girls are soon thronging to The Lonely Hearts Club, and Penny finds herself near legendary for her nondating ways--which is too bad, since the leader of The Lonely Hearts Club has found a certain boy she can't help but like. . .?

    ~*~*~*~*~*~

    For everyone who is starting to wonder if I get any enjoyment out of books I give you The Lonely Hearts Club. This book is really interested me because of all of the the fact that most of the YA books are filled teens trying to find romance but this book was specifically about ?staying away from it. What starts out for Penny as a promise spoken aloud explodes in popularity in a matter of days. Soon everybody wants in on it.

    I will admit that the conflict against the club is a little farfetched but seeing as how I liked what was before it so much I decided that I would just ignore it. Great I can't even tell you why because I feel that this point is very important. Oh well.

    The book is very well written and a should be read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 46 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3