Customer Reviews for

Lonesome Dove

Average Rating 4.5
( 265 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(219)

4 Star

(23)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

A Western Novel Everyone Can Enjoy!

When my English teacher recommended a Western novel to my class, I wasn't so sure I would like it, but this story is not one that is soon to be forgotten! The fast paced action keeps the page turning, but it is also a great love story. One of my favorites!!

posted by Brantley627 on February 9, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Mistyfoot

Cool. Where is immortalclan? The name sounds kinda weird tho no offense....

posted by 5111937 on May 20, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 268 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 14
  • Posted February 9, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A Western Novel Everyone Can Enjoy!

    When my English teacher recommended a Western novel to my class, I wasn't so sure I would like it, but this story is not one that is soon to be forgotten! The fast paced action keeps the page turning, but it is also a great love story. One of my favorites!!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 27, 2012

    This has to be one of my favorite books. The story draws you in

    This has to be one of my favorite books. The story draws you in (and as usual, the miniseries doesn't do it justice)

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2010

    Great book!

    This is a wonderfully written book that my whole family enjoyed! It has characters that most everyone can relate to. There are a lot of themes in this book that make it a great selection for any book club. I definitely recommend this book to anyone, even people who are reluctant to pick up a book for fun.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 8, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Best Book I've Ever Read - Even Better than Gone With the Wind!

    There are these rare books that a person will read over and over because the characters become a true part of that person's lives. This is one of those books. I have probably read this book 20 times yet I glean something new from it each time. I can perhaps feel the prairie wind more strongly in my face or better understand Lori's pain as she is tortured by her kidnappers. Oh, there are so many little nuances that make this book the best book ever written.

    Yes, the mini series is truly wonderful. It is my favorite movie just as this is my favorite book. And yet, that production doesn't hold a candle to the book. The thought processes of the charactrs just can't be captured in a movie, and it is those thought processes that make this book truly great. Because while we have two main characters and numerous primary supporting characters, McMurtury is able to concisely yet with perfection allow every character in this book be a real character either by their actions or through their thougts. Since the movie can not capture much of these thoughts, a great deal of the beauty of the work is lost.

    The story is simple enough - it is a story of a journey - and yet it is more than that for it is not just the story of a physical journey, but a story of individual journeys the characters take to experience their own growth. It is a story of enlightenment. And the reader closes the book at the end feeling completely enlightened and ready to start the journey again for another enlightenment lesson.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2009

    Lonesome Dove deserved the Pulitzer Prize

    I've never been a fan of the Westerns genre, but Larry McMurtry is an exceptional author who immediately pulled me into his story and kept me enthralled. His characters are real and vibrant and his plot keeps you involved in the intricacies of the characters' lives. This is truly a novel and author who deserve the prestigious Pulitzer Prize.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2012

    Love It

    I was watching the movie to this book and at first i thought the movie was terrible then i fell in LOVE with it. I encourage you to read the book first then see the movie. I would watch the movie on a snow day or rainy day because its a 7 hour long trilogy but totally worth seven hours LOVE IT!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    BEST BOOK EVER

    This is without a doubt the best book ever written. Whether you like westerns or not, this is a story about people, very real people. Granted, it is a long book, but you will enjoy every word of it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2014

    This is the best book ever written. This book is like Mad Men -

    This is the best book ever written. This book is like Mad Men - It takes long meaningful steps to establish the characters, but once you build the relationship with the story, you are then absolutely captured. I was compelled to read the other 3 books, but this one is by far the best.

    This book pulls at every emotion and makes the reader one of 'the boys'.  Very potent storytelling!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2013

    i only had one tiny complaint with Mr. McMurtry's amazing tale.

    i only had one tiny complaint with Mr. McMurtry's amazing tale. During the harrowing passage describing what happens to Lorena at the hands of her kidnappers, Mr McMurtry used the livestock breeding term "covered" instead of the more accurate term "brutally raped". A male animal "covers" a female. Humans commit an inhuman act: rape. That was the ONLY thing I would've changed about this amazing literary accomplishment

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2012

    Great book to help get you through jury duty.

    Very entertaining.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2012

    A classic

    Rich in character and story

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 17, 2012

    an amazing epic

    an amazing epic

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2012

    Compelling. Extraordinary dialog

    A wonderfully readable saga.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    We don't rent pigs. I've read a great many books, few of them w

    We don't rent pigs.

    I've read a great many books, few of them westerns, and none Pulitzer Prize winners. If Lonesome Dove is the kind of quality I've been avoiding, I will never forgive myself.

    This book is one of the most joyous and epic I have come across. The characters seem real, the dialogue authentic, and the love and humor genuine. The best thing about stories like this is the all-consuming world they describe - I can lose myself for hours. Gus and Call charmed me instantly, and I felt every joy and heartbreak of their journey.

    I really don't think stories get better than this. It's beautiful, a work of art, a masterpiece. I will keep this on my shelf for the rest of my days and always think of it with fondness until I can happily read it again. Now for the sequel!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2014

    Lots of good praise here and I'd not bother adding my 2 cents wo

    Lots of good praise here and I'd not bother adding my 2 cents worth, except, if forced to name a single favorite book, I'd have to say Lonesome Dove.  You just wish it would go on forever.  Enjoy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2014

    D

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2013

    One of the few books that I'm likely to read multiple times in m

    One of the few books that I'm likely to read multiple times in my life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2013

    Ok. Did't live up to the hype

    I thought the plot was interesting but after seeing so many glowing reviews I was rather disappointed.
    I found the start to be painfully slow an while it did pick up about a quarter of the way in I was never at a place where I couldn't wait to see what happened next.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2012

    Dovestar

    Nusery! A den for expecting queens, or queens and their kits. Once the kits reach 6 moons they will leave and go to the apprentices den. The den has soft feather moss nests for all the kits and queens.

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2012

    Good

    Hey Bagerkit are you that adorable i can be your mom i am marigold leader of spring clan and i am a amber she cat

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 268 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 14