Customer Reviews for

Lonestar Angel (Lonestar Series #4)

Average Rating 4.5
( 43 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(28)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted March 18, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    great

    Finished this book in less than half a day. It was such a good read. one of my fav

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    this was a very good book. The story line kept moving right along.I like a book like this, it will hold your interest.Great reading material.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2012

    With Colleen Coble as the author you know that you are going to

    With Colleen Coble as the author you know that you are going to read a good, moral novel. She did not disappoint me. I have read most of her books and I recommend this one for anyone who is trying to decide if they want to invest ten dollars for this book. Hope you enjoyed it as much as I did.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 3, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Colleen does it again!

    The 4th installment of the Lonestar series is every bit as good as it's predecessors! It had me hooked from the very first chapter and I didn't want it to end! I love Colleen Coble's writing style and all her books so far have been fabulous!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2011

    :)

    Really good story line, filled adventure! Has good unexpected twists! I am going to read more of her books!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 3, 2011

    Page one page turner!

    I love a book that whisks you away on an adventure from the first page, and that is exactly what Lonestar Angel does. Eden Larson is about to get engaged to Kent, a wonderful, sweet man she met at church. That is until ex-husband Clay appears at the couple's table and announces that they are still married.and their baby, who she'd long since given up as dead, is still alive. Five years ago, their little baby girl, Brianna, was kidnapped. Rushing to meet the kidnapper to pay the ransom, Eden loses control of the car, collides with the kidnapper and sends his car, and Brianna, into the river. Clay and Eden's young marriage dissolved soon after. Now the couple is heading to Texas, to a youth ranch where they will pose as counselors for five little girls, any of which could be Brianna. As they work side-by-side, feelings they thought were forgotten reemerge. However, someone is determined to keep them from their daughter, and each other. This book keeps you on your toes from page one. I love mysteries that have you convinced you know who is involved, only to turn you around and upside down a couple of pages later. I thought I had it all figured out at least twenty times! This one will keep you guessing until the end. The characters in the story are wonderfully crafted. I was not very keen on Eden at first. However, as her story unfolds, you begin to see her in a different light. Clay is wonderful, and definitely the dashing hero you want coming to your rescue. The children in the book also grab ahold of your heart. Each of their stories is so touching and at the same time heart wrenching. I give this book five stars, a must have for your bookshelf! Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255. Cover art image was obtained from the publisher.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2012

    This book review is loooonnngg overdue! But it is a great read,

    This book review is loooonnngg overdue! But it is a great read, especially if you enjoy a good “chick” book. The story revolves around a couple Clay and Eden and their tragic story of losing their daughter, through a kidnapping. They have gone their own ways after not being able to restore their marriage; however, this tragic event brings them back together when they receive news from the kidnapper that their daughter is alive. What an adventure and turn of events they are in for! You will truly enjoy the story and twist of events.

    I enjoyed the read. I did find it a bit unrealistic and predictable at times, but sometimes a good story is just that way. I think the author did a great job in describing characters and places that made you feel like you were right there. Its a great fictional read!

    I received this book in exchange for my review. My thoughts and opinions are my own.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2012

    Best Suspense book I have read in awhile.

    Really kept me guessing on who the villain is. Plus its Christian based. Lots of action and really keeps you interested.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2012

    Another Great Piece of Art

    Love, hate, suspense, tension, thrill, yearning, sorrow, happiness... They all exist in this book. We see how the separate lives are actually one life linked together by one missing child. We see how love is fired again. We see how joy arises after misery, and how the sun rises following a thick mist of darkness. Sometimes there must be a disaster in order to disclose reality and to find true happiness, which is always there but which we cannot see. After they found out that their little daughter Brianna was still alive, Eden and Clay get closer to each other and rediscover their own identities and their love in search of their missing child. They slowly find their own answers to their questions and were able to tell what they could not in the end. Besides, Eden's bad childhood memories start to bother her again when her mother, who abandoned her when she was a little girl, shows up all of a sudden. She blames herself for everything. But right after having a close brush with death, Eden finds faith in God within her heart. She lets her guard down and sees that she can choose to trust to the person who really loves her - Clay, who never gave up believing and trying for even one second. Now, all that she wants (ever) is a warm family environment with her husband, her daughter and the other girls that they will adopt. Like Colleen Coble's other books, this book is another great piece of art. I was really surprised at the end of the book. I'm sure you will, too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2012

    Lonestar series

    Wonderful Series! I really enjoy Colleen Coble's books. I would recommend them to family and friends! Her books are must read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 21, 2012

    This was an enjoyable book. It was the only one by this author I

    This was an enjoyable book. It was the only one by this author I've read, and I was sad to learn it was the last in the Lonestar series. I was left wanted to learn more of what happened to these characters after the book ended. Although I felt a few things tied together a little too coincidentally, I couldn't put the book down and read it in two days. If there was another book in the series, I would definitely have read it as my next book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2012

    Highly recommened

    Lonestar Angel was a book I had a really hard time putting down.
    Colleen Coble is an excellent writer, there is always something going on so the turn of every page had me wondering what was going to happen. Love her books I would highly recommend them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2012

    Great book

    One of the best books i've ever read. I couldnt put this book down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 18, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I liked the premise of the book. I'm sure that I'm probably the

    I liked the premise of the book. I'm sure that I'm probably the only person who feels this way, but I didn't want the pair to get back together. I just didn't think it was very realistic that after five years (especially since they did not know each other that well anyway) that they could pick up where they left off. I did like the mystery. I did not figure out who had kidnapped the girl or why she had been taken. It was a nice easy read. I did like the fact that both characters did have "sinful pasts." So many Christian fiction novels portray the protagonist as always having led fairly blameless lives. It was nice to see some realistic Christian characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2012

    GREAT book!!!

    I absolutely loved this book!! CC done it again!!!!! The ending was really good!!!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    great Christian story of a kidnapped baby and parents told years later she was alive

    Colleen Coble has written many books encompassing several series but she never ceases to amaze me at the quality of those stories. I have thoroughly enjoyed reading all of her books and, Lonestar Angel is no exception. It is a down-to-earth story about a couple that had their very young daughter kidnapped from them shortly after their marriage. Shortly after that occurred, their life together was changed when they separated, even though their feelings for each other were still there. Eden Larson was in a restaurant with her current boyfriend who wanted to ask her for her hand in marriage but felt he needed to find out about Eden’s past. Just as this was going on, Clay Larson, her former husband, appeared to tell them both that he had never signed the divorce papers Eden had sent him five-years before. After back and forth words by Eden and her new friend, Clay told her that he had found their kidnapped daughter, Brianna, and explained that they were not divorced. Eden did not know whether to believe Clay about their daughter being alive or the divorce not being in effect, so he explained he had received a picture and a note supposedly showing Brianna at a ranch for children in foster care in Texas. Eden and Clay were so excited of the possibility that Brianna was alive but the message with the picture told them they better get to Texas and pay a fee if they ever hoped to see their daughter again. Eden and Clay decided they would try to obtain work at this ranch in Texas to find out if this was possible. They got the job and loved working with the children as they tried to keep their mind on the job while searching and waiting for contact from the ones that had stolen her years before. There is much adventure in this Christian story as Eden and Clay got closer together, worked with the children while trying to keep them in a Christian, God-loving life. No matter how hard they tried to figure out which of the five girls Brianna was, they still weren’t sure. They took a type of DNA test that would give them a quick check on each girl but when it came back, it only created more questions. The book is an easy but delightful read. There are many characters in the book but all are kept in a way that won’t confuse the reader. You will love this book if you like life’s stories connected to God.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2011

    Great Read!

    Romance and a bit of suspense makes for a great read!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 3, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Check It Out!

    Lonestar Angel by Colleen Coble grabs your attention from page one and doesn't let you go. You are introduced to Eden and Clay Larson who have been estranged for five years. Their baby, Brianna was kidnapped and never found. Eden left her marriage to Clay and ran to Indiana to escape the memories. Clay never stopped searching even when the police pronounce baby Brianna to be dead. After a lead that Clay thinks is the real deal, he goes to Eden and tells her that they are still married and he needs her to come with him to work as counselors at Bluebird Ranch in Texas. They will be working with foster children, one of whom he thinks is their daughter. As they search for answers to what happened to Brianna, they find their way back to each other. But danger is never far. This book is jam packed with suspense and mystery. You feel for these characters that have been though a horrible tragedy and still cling to the hope of reuniting with their little girl. I admire their faith and determination. This book is well written and readers will not be disappointed. I highly recommend this book. Excellent read! This book was provided to me from Booksneeze in exchange for my review.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Lonestar Angel-A Thrilling Novel From the first page on!

    I'm not much for romance novels or anything that sounds like it has to do with westerns, country or cowboy type books. This is what I thought this book might be by the title and the cover. Was I ever surprised! This book was filled with excitement from page one . All the way through this book was excitement and intrigue. I could not put this book down. It has so much to offer. It was not overbearing and was fast paced, which is what I sometimes need. Something new in each chapter to hold your attention. This book was thrilling. It receives 5 stars Plus from me. There are 3 other books in this series before this book,this is number 4, that I have not read, but this book can definitely stands on it's own. I am so interested in seeing what the other three are like now. I can't wait to get started on them. Bravo to Colleen Coble!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 1, 2011

    Another great book by Colleen Coble

    Is it just me or does the title Lonestar Angel make you think this book is going to be just another romantic cowboy story? This book is all that and so much more!

    Clay and Eden Larson's young marriage fell apart when their infant daughter was kidnapped and thought dead. Five years later all that changes when Clay pops back into Eden's life with the news that their divorce was never finalized and that he suspects their daughter is actually alive and he knows where to find her. At the drop of a hat, Eden goes with Clay on an interesting adventure to find her; they encounter Columbian drug lords, face demons of the past and an uncertain future. Will they actually find their daughter? If so, will they both survive the journey they're on to get her? If they do, what will their future as a fractured family look like?

    Colleen Coble crafts a beautiful story in Lonestar Angel. Each chapter holds new twists and turns, keeping the reader engaged and eager to see what happens next. As usual, I stayed up way to late reading this book night after night; I just couldn't put it down. Previously I reviewed Coble's novel, The Lightkeepers Ball, and found it just as engaging and a pleasure to read. She combines romance, mystery and suspense seamlessly. I look forward to reading more of her work.

    Disclaimer: I received a complimentary copy of this book in exchange for this review. All thoughts are my own and I was not required to write a positive review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3