Customer Reviews for

Long Drive Home: A Novel

Average Rating 3
( 91 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(21)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(25)

2 Star

(19)

1 Star

(14)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

A Great Book, Praiseworthy!

This book, although short, is definitely worth both your time and money. With strong character personalities it's easy to lose yourself in this novel. The book will really make you think twice before you do anything, even if you think it's the right choice at the time. ...
This book, although short, is definitely worth both your time and money. With strong character personalities it's easy to lose yourself in this novel. The book will really make you think twice before you do anything, even if you think it's the right choice at the time. One little mishap could happen to change your entire life forever. This is what you'd call a "real-life" book.
I didn't read any reviews before I bought this book, so I was quite surprised when I saw this book's ratings. This book is MUCH better than these reviews may lead on. I am more than glad to say this has been a really good, short read and that I would definitely recommend this book to a friend.

posted by Cody_ on June 16, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Good book...but is it worth the money?

I saw a positive review for this book in a People magazine. And it wasn't just one of those small blurbs, it took up the whole page. It sounded really, really good. No spoilers, but it shows how in a matter of seconds how many lives can change because of 1 tiny decision...
I saw a positive review for this book in a People magazine. And it wasn't just one of those small blurbs, it took up the whole page. It sounded really, really good. No spoilers, but it shows how in a matter of seconds how many lives can change because of 1 tiny decision. Anyways, I read the reviews (there weren't many) on my Nook and noticed many people commented on how short it was. So I looked at the product details and it said 224 pages (around there). Now I know Nook pages and book pages aren't the same, but usually they're in the same vicinity. Not with this book. After buying it for $9.99, it only had 132 pages on the Nook, and only 107 pages of it is the actual book. It was really, really good. It had all the makings of a great novel. But then it ends abruptly and you feel like they forgot to give you the rest of the book. I guess I should be grateful I didn't pay for an actual book, but I feel like someone gave me a taste of something excellent and then said I wasn't allowed to have anymore. If you can deal with this, buy it. Would I do it over if I could? No.

posted by TheRogueNerd on May 29, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 91 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted May 29, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Good book...but is it worth the money?

    I saw a positive review for this book in a People magazine. And it wasn't just one of those small blurbs, it took up the whole page. It sounded really, really good. No spoilers, but it shows how in a matter of seconds how many lives can change because of 1 tiny decision. Anyways, I read the reviews (there weren't many) on my Nook and noticed many people commented on how short it was. So I looked at the product details and it said 224 pages (around there). Now I know Nook pages and book pages aren't the same, but usually they're in the same vicinity. Not with this book. After buying it for $9.99, it only had 132 pages on the Nook, and only 107 pages of it is the actual book. It was really, really good. It had all the makings of a great novel. But then it ends abruptly and you feel like they forgot to give you the rest of the book. I guess I should be grateful I didn't pay for an actual book, but I feel like someone gave me a taste of something excellent and then said I wasn't allowed to have anymore. If you can deal with this, buy it. Would I do it over if I could? No.

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 19, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Long Drive Home

    While, driving his daughter home from school, Glen succumbs to road rage that results in the death of a teenage driver. Although, not accused of a crime, the guilt he feels cause the dissolution of his marriage.

    This short novel is packed with emotion as Glen unravels from his actions, and marriage crumbles. Part of the story is his confession to his six-year old daughter through letters. Will Allison's novel makes the reader think about what one's actions. I found it enjoyable and read it in one sitting. When finishing though, I was wanting more.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2011

    What?

    This is the same exact cover as the book mocking bird, at first i thought it was a sequel but now i realize its not also the book is pretty much on the same subject...?

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 22, 2011

    BookHounds

    Glen writes his daughter, Sara, a letter explaining what went wrong in his marriage to Liz and the events that lead up to their divorce. The letter is interspersed with the story of that time period. In a way, Glen is asking his daughter for forgiveness and trying to make thing right when he lies and tries to make her believe that the accident she witnessed as a six year old didn't happen the way it really did. Glen and his wife try to cover up his involvement in the accident by lying to the police when questioned about exactly how the accident occurred. I just really got a uneasy feeling from the actions of both these characters, especially his lawyer wife, Liz, who immediately wants a divorce to protect their assets. In parts, this book really creeped me out.

    The crux of the whole story centers around the accident where Glen tries to scare a wreckless driver by swerving a bit in front of him to stop his erratic speeding and instead the car rolls, killing the teen driver. Sara sitting in the backseat remembers details but not everything, she knows just enough to really incriminate her father. The main part that really bothered me about this accident is that, yes, Glen is partially at fault for the accident, but it would have not been as severe or even avoided, if the teen had been driving safely. The police who question him really seem to be out to get him since they know he is lying. Glen also is incredibly immature and this is shown in great detail when he stalks another driver who threatens him after a previous run in right before the accident. The story really brings to light how little things can add up to create a monsterous problem.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 5, 2011

    Short and unsatisfying

    Quite possibly one of the most annoyingly stupid protagonists in literary history.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 16, 2011

    A Great Book, Praiseworthy!

    This book, although short, is definitely worth both your time and money. With strong character personalities it's easy to lose yourself in this novel. The book will really make you think twice before you do anything, even if you think it's the right choice at the time. One little mishap could happen to change your entire life forever. This is what you'd call a "real-life" book.
    I didn't read any reviews before I bought this book, so I was quite surprised when I saw this book's ratings. This book is MUCH better than these reviews may lead on. I am more than glad to say this has been a really good, short read and that I would definitely recommend this book to a friend.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2011

    Eh

    While the daughter and father characters are fleshed out in this sparse story, the mother is unrelatable to me. She deliberately breaks up the family in order to preserve assets. The excuse, of course, is that she is ensuring a good future for her daughter but instead she destroys the bedrock of her daughter's life. All her plans and schemes hurt her daughter and are all for naught. The mother's character and ultimely the story seem unlikely to me.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 9, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    OK, but could have been better

    Actually I'd give this book 2 1/2 stars. It was very predictable and just seemed like it could have been better. The teaser at the end of the book (What You Have Left) also by of Will Allison seems like it's a good book. Thinking of purchasing it next.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 7, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    NOT WORTH THE MONEY

    Short book, read in 2 hours. The adults in the book have no redeeming qualities-the Dad causing a horrible accident and then the Mother's extra cold hearted reaction. Save your money. Not worth it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2011

    Really

    Loved Mockingbird but this was not worth the money

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2011

    Not worth the money

    A VERY short book and not very good. Disappointed I spent $10 on only 100 pages.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2011

    Same Cover...

    as Mockingbird by Kathryn Erskine. Her book was out first.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 91 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5