Customer Reviews for

The Long Goodbye

Average Rating 4.5
( 34 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(23)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2005

    Reading this is part of an American literary education!

    Raymond Chandler is a great and unique American writer. 'The Long Goodbye' is his finest work. He is most brilliant in his wonderful use of creative metaphor. Just singular! This book hooks you within the first few pages, then takes you on a winding, devious path through a mysterious episode in private eye Phillip Marlowe's life. Just when you think the story is ending, and you've figured it out, the author takes another twist, and off you go again, toward another dramatic, fascinating turn of the story. I read five fine books over my summer vacation, but this one takes the cake. What a hoot!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 3, 2012

    I've read all of Chandler, Hammett, and Jim Thompson, most of Ro

    I've read all of Chandler, Hammett, and Jim Thompson, most of Ross MacDonald and Spillane, and a great deal of the noir hackery of the 30s - 50s (Gault, Woolrich, Cain, Willeford, Goodis, et al), and I can, without a doubt, say that The Long Goodbye is the finest novel of the Romans Noir genre ever created. In fact, this novel should be among the top 50 or so greatest novels ever written regardless of genre. MacDonald's The Underground Man is the only other novel among this era/genre that comes close.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Mezmerizing storytelling.

    Raymond Chandler is such an talented story teller that one can spend days in his writing and not notice the passage of time. His descriptions are vivid, his settings realistic, and his characters all too human. The range of emotions that reach out to the reader are breathtaking and well worth revisiting on a regular basis.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 7, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Chandler's Brilliant Swan Song

    Okay, he did write a book after this. sort of. but this is his true final farewell. And it's one of the greatest books of the 20th century. the real 'mystery' that Chandler exposes is the brutal and barren nature of the human condition. A fierce blunt humorous and honest look at the fragile terrain of daily existence and moral absolutism.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2008

    My favorite Chandler

    What can you say of Raymond Chandler? His dialog is still hip, his stories still taught, and his insight into human nature as profound, if not more so, than it was fifty years ago. I love this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2012

    A Must-Read For Any Mystery/Crime Reader

    Raymond Chandler sets the bar for all crime novelists to come. As an avid reader of Michael Connelly, John Sanford, Lee Child, Robert Dugoni and the like, I believe none would be where they are without the trailblazing of Raymond Chandler. Although at times sounding melodramatic in today's perspective, Chandler's character sketches are the best in the business. Private Detetective Philip Marlowe's hard-boiled POV creates unforgettable images and insight. And THE LONG GOODBYE is Chandler's best novel, in my opinion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2012

    Freett

    Gouip gbnouy!!!

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 13, 2012

    An Unquestionable Classic!

    I needed some reading material for vacation and decided to take along some recognized classics. I thoroughly enjoyed The Long Goodbye! Raymond Chandler always provides a good read no matter how many times you go back.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 17, 2011

    A Classic...

    A masterpiece of the genre. The hard-boiled PI archetype.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2006

    amazing, one of my favorites

    this book is a great detective tale, but so much more. it contains great characters, themes, and messages about L.A. the setting is great too, and marlowe of course is an awesome character who is complex, and his words and ideas carry this book along with the plot. this is not a detective novel, it is a book about friendship, society, and success.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2005

    Gritty Detective Fiction at its finest.

    Great Read. Chandler uses Marlowe, the protagonist, to showcase his perception of human nature. He also does a great job with setting. I felt immersed in 1950's Los Angeles. I was impressed with the dialogue. The characters were well developed without them becoming 'preachy'. First rate.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2000

    The Best Chandler Book !!

    As a huge fan, I have found this to be the best novel overall. Great plot, Marlowe at his best, and plenty of twists and turns to keep everyone gueessing are just a few of the better aspects of this book. This is a mystery book with STYLE!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2