Customer Reviews for

Long Hard Ride

Average Rating 4
( 1505 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(733)

4 Star

(353)

3 Star

(186)

2 Star

(105)

1 Star

(128)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

21 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

Great first book in in a great series.

I down loaded this book to read while I was on vacation out West, not really sure what to expect. Once I got into this book, I couldn't stop until I had read all of the books in the Rough Riders and related Wild West series by Lorelei James. I can't wait until the nex...
I down loaded this book to read while I was on vacation out West, not really sure what to expect. Once I got into this book, I couldn't stop until I had read all of the books in the Rough Riders and related Wild West series by Lorelei James. I can't wait until the next ebook comes out this summer. The characters draw you in with their real life situations, and problems. The sex scenes were hot. I've never been attracted to the cowboy type, but I'm ready to move to Wyoming and check them out for myself now. But, honestly, it wasn't the sex that drew me to the subsequent books, it was the characters and the family dynamic that evolved through each of the plots. Very entertaining.

posted by agent-orange on April 7, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Pretty Giod Pretty Good

Even though this book is over 500 pages long I read it in a day. Very sexy read.

posted by Corinne_Alexander4 on September 28, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 353 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 18
  • Posted March 25, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    So Smokin Hot!!

    **Warning** this book may be too hot for the average reader! Very unconventional love story about a city girl from Boston travelling with 3 Hot cowboys on the Rodeo circuit, where nothing is what it seams. There's some exploration, a whole lot of sharing and plenty of hot cowboy lovin!! Some scenes made me blush cause they were just too intense. But this book wasn't great just because of the naked cowboys. The characters jump off the page and you love each and everyone of them. This had a sound plot with great character development. Lorelei sets the bar high for Romantica writers. I can't wait to read the rest of the series cause I could not put this one down.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 1, 2012

    Terrific!

    Can't get enough of the McKay family!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2012

    OMG!!! Hot sexual encounters galore. But it does actually have

    OMG!!! Hot sexual encounters galore. But it does actually have a plot to it not just sex. I found it a very good read and couldn't wait to start the next book in the series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2012

    Recommended

    I finished the Fifty Shades of Gray Trilogy and wanted to read something else along those lines. I also enjoy rodeos, cowboys, and western type romances. This book covered all of the above, I am now reading the second book in the series, it is a good book also.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 29, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Jen Book provided by the publisher for review Review

    Reviewed by Jen
    Book provided by the publisher for review
    Review originally posted at Romancing the Book

    I first read this book years ago when it originally released. Earlier this year I was catching up on the series and after reading the last book, I decided to revisit where it all began.

    The blurb pretty well covers what happens in the story, so I’ll skip that summarizing and get right down to the review. While there is menage action in this story, it really boils down to a love story between Colby and Channing. Colby’s this wild cowboy who decides to give Channing the summer of a lifetime by allowing her to travel with him and his buddies from rodeo to rodeo. While on the road, Channing is given the chance to sexually experiment with the three men. But as this is a romance, no matter who spicy, we know there’s a happy ending for Colby and Channing. But the ride to that ending is worth the ride.

    There was tons of action in this book, in and out of the “bedroom”. I particularly enjoyed the descriptions of the rodeo action. As Colby and Trevor / Edgard participate in different events, Ms James was able to bring the rodeo action to life. I could picture everything that was happening on the pages… and I loved it. And the bedroom action… well, it didn’t all happen in a bedroom, but it was super hot. Since there are 4 bed partners, there were much variety in the partnering, which does include a m/m scene (just so you’re forewarned). You’ll definitely want to keep a fan and glass of ice water handy while reading this story.

    I was very impressed by this book and it is most definitely re-readable (which I don’t do very often). It’s the first book in a series featuring Colby’s extended family. It stands alone quite well, but once you read this one, you’re going to want to keep on reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 18, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Long Hard Ride by Lorelei James *was generously given a copy in

    Long Hard Ride by Lorelei James
    *was generously given a copy in exchange for an honest review
    LONG HARD RIDE by Lorelei James is the first book in the Rough Riders Series and let me just say that if you are looking for a Hotter than hot Cowboy with lots of extras, this is the one I would recommend.  Channing Kincaid is one lucky girl. Not one, but at times 3 hot cowboys and she play giddy up cowgirl. 
    Long Hard Ride is filled with sexy time and I mean a lot of sexy time. It is total erotica. I loved it but be warned it is not a plot driven, get all deep with emotion, kind of book. It is a fast read and Lorelei James’ writing is so good that it reads effortlessly. A love story does emerge between Channing and Colby but, wow, is there a lot of loving. 
    I loved that Channing was sassy and Colby was all alpha male. Trevor and Edgard, of course, played a huge role in bringing these two together and they were so much fun to get to know. I am looking forward to reading more from Lorelei James about both Trevor and Edgard. This series is totally fun.
    Long Hard Ride receives 4 out of 5 Platypires!!!
    Texas Hugs and Happy Reading!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2014

    where it all begins.... THIS is a series worth investing in!

    Lorelei James is a very consistent writer. Her books are entertaining and well written. You always get more than you expect with her books. If you haven't read anything by this author you really should! She is by far one of the best out there.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2014

    Wasn't Expecting such a A Hard Read!!!

    Didn't know if I would like this series and now I am all onboard!!! Cowboys, Cousins, and Couples! Would recommend to anyone if they can handle the down and dirty stuff! Yes there is a story line!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2013

    Definately not what I expected.

    I stopped reading after a few chapters.....I was shocked and believe me I have read my share of erotica and romance novels. However I couldn't let it not be read so I finished it later on and it ended up being good but too hard core for me. I would say make sure you are really really into tons of sexual scenes and alternate lifestyles before you read. DEFINATELY mature audiances only.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I've had this book in my TBR pile or a while now and right now I

    I've had this book in my TBR pile or a while now and right now I smack myself for not reading it sooner. I loved this book. The characters were very intriguing and complex. Channing, Colby, Trevor and Edgard sucked me right in to their world of rodeos and sex. Both Channing and Colby were looking for something they didn't know the needed. Until they came together for some of the hottest sex I've read in a while. The back gound characters were fun (you will love Caliope) and I can't wait to read Cash and Gemma's book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2013

    LOVE ME SOME COWBOYS!

    I am in love with this series! Can't wait to keep reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2013

    Love this author. Her characters draw you until you hate to see

    Love this author. Her characters draw you until you hate to see the book end. Family interaction is what I wish my family had been like.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2012

    rough rider series...book 1

    Unlike 50 Shades, I was drawn in instantly. I am not one for romance stories. This draws you in from the beginning. I was writing a research paper while trying to get some free time to read.
    The characters gleamed with the true meaning of comrade, friends and most of all family. Almost ready to pack up and head west. True story for some.
    Overall good read. Looking forward to the next book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2012

    Good read

    Enloyed

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2012

    Not a lot of depth, however...

    If you're looking for a smutty quick read, this is it. Can't help but find cowboys sexy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2012

    Loved it

    What a great start to a wonderful series. 4 solid stars in my opinion. I hope you enjoy it!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2012

    Who needs 50 shades of grey?

    I loved loved loved this book, it was great. I tried reading the other book I mentioned above and needed a little more story line. This did the trick. Kuddos to the author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2012

    Smoking Hot!

    Cold Shower reading!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2012

    Great book.

    I enjiyed this book, it got raunchy at times but great book. Im looking forward to reading more from the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    Not for faint of heart

    Unexpectedly emotional love story in addition to more sex than should be legal in one book. Loved the characters; especially Channing. I love strong female characters and Ms. James doesn't disappoint! Supporting characters - Trevor and Edgard broke my heart. Great start to the series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 353 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 18