Customer Reviews for

Long Hard Road Out of Hell

Average Rating 4.5
( 205 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(168)

4 Star

(23)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

More Than Devils and Demons

This is not all about Devils and Demons, but an inside look into a pop culture icon's life. Growing up in a small town, Brian Warner made it big. He has done a fine job in expressing his rise to fame from his humble beginnings and realizing that sometimes, 'fitting in...
This is not all about Devils and Demons, but an inside look into a pop culture icon's life. Growing up in a small town, Brian Warner made it big. He has done a fine job in expressing his rise to fame from his humble beginnings and realizing that sometimes, 'fitting in' isn't such a great thing to be.

posted by Anonymous on June 28, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Just not sure about it.

If there is one thing I can say about this book, it is that I have a different perception of Marilyn Manson. He had a very sad and traumatic childhood. He never implies there was sexual abuse but there definitely was mental, emotional and verbal abuse. Way too much for ...
If there is one thing I can say about this book, it is that I have a different perception of Marilyn Manson. He had a very sad and traumatic childhood. He never implies there was sexual abuse but there definitely was mental, emotional and verbal abuse. Way too much for a child to have to handle.
The confusing part for me is who he really is. There is alot of drugs, sex and perversion going on in his adulthood with his band and the people he hangs out with.
The book is an interesting read but I found myself confused alot as he jumps back in forth from his past to the present and I had to reread many paragraphs to get the jest of what he was trying to convey.
When the book ended I honestly felt sad for Manson as I think underneath it all he is a good person and he is fighting to express himself and all his pain by rebelling against society and its ways.

posted by 696624 on August 14, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 205 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2008

    More Than Devils and Demons

    This is not all about Devils and Demons, but an inside look into a pop culture icon's life. Growing up in a small town, Brian Warner made it big. He has done a fine job in expressing his rise to fame from his humble beginnings and realizing that sometimes, 'fitting in' isn't such a great thing to be.

    14 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Manson is the Dark Knight

    Now THIS is rock & roll. Whether you're a Manson fan or not, this is a respectable journey of a brave free-thinker who is dedicated to his art like nothing you've seen before. The pages are PACKED with humor, terror & mystery, all wrapped in one shocking human experience. You get chills when he describes his fears, and you can feel his tears as he takes us through his tragedies. If you take nothing else from the book, you should realize this man is a dark knight, taking hatred for attempting to rattle the cages of blind conformity. The grit & grime unsurprisingly cause this to be an R-Rated book, but it's honest & open and worth the experience. This story truly is a road through hell & back.

    13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2008

    Surprisingly Amazing

    I was not a huge Manson fan (of his music) when I read this book. Its shock paragraphs kept me salavating when I peeled it open in a bookstore, and it did not dissapoint. I gave the book to my father (50+ yrs old) who loved it as well.

    11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2008

    review

    For years I've found Manson very interesting. I just recently purchased the book and finished it quickly because it was tough to put down. At it's end I was left disappointed only because the book wasn't twice it's thickness.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2008

    The Long Hard Road out of Hell

    In true rock star form, Marilyn Manson sticks to the rock & roll tradition of engulfing himself in sex and drugs. Growing up in a small town and taking strange trips into his grandfather¿s secret porn infested basement, we get an angle that the media don¿t tell you. Born Brian Warner, Marilyn Manson experienced a life just like any other child going through school and being picked on. He dealt with his strangeness by selling porn and his hilarious attempts at getting girls to sleep with him. A 270 page account of his sexual encounters 'which includes a very descriptive encounter with an STD' and drug use, we get a look at the man who shocks so many. However, the only problem with this enticing biography is the absence of his parents¿ perspective once he became famous and the fact that the book does not go until the year this book was published. I wanted to hear more about sex, drugs and rock & roll. Overall, absolutely hilarious and an in-depth look at a very intelligent man.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2012

    Just not sure about it.

    If there is one thing I can say about this book, it is that I have a different perception of Marilyn Manson. He had a very sad and traumatic childhood. He never implies there was sexual abuse but there definitely was mental, emotional and verbal abuse. Way too much for a child to have to handle.
    The confusing part for me is who he really is. There is alot of drugs, sex and perversion going on in his adulthood with his band and the people he hangs out with.
    The book is an interesting read but I found myself confused alot as he jumps back in forth from his past to the present and I had to reread many paragraphs to get the jest of what he was trying to convey.
    When the book ended I honestly felt sad for Manson as I think underneath it all he is a good person and he is fighting to express himself and all his pain by rebelling against society and its ways.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2012

    Amazing....

    Ive always liked his music, just never understood the thought process and life events that created it. How deeply he hates and how contradicting society is in his eyes. People see him as a "devil worshiper" but he isnt, hes more of a realist. I love how he describes everything. He really is a very intelligent man. Its a good read for fans of his music, and people who want to see a new perspective. I wish the book never had a last page...

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 17, 2009

    Long Hard Road Out Of Hell

    This book is amazing, I never really knew much about Brian Warner before this book, but now I feel I know everything. He goes into great detail about what he's explaining; I could actually picture the things he expirienced in my head. I would totally recommend getting this book it is deffinently worth it.
    I <3 MARILYN MANSON

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2012

    Fan or not

    This book is right along the lines of Manson's "Shock Rock" values. He appears to be an unassuming enough guy, but this book opens your eyes to who the man behind the make-up and the music really is. Take a look and you might find out you can understand and relate to this man a lot more than you originally thought.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2012

    surprising

    Marilyn Manson definitely surprised me in this book & all of the rumors i thought to be true about him turned out to be false. Although my religious beliefs are way different than his i totally respect him as a person & artist .

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2000

    The side of Manson not a lot of people see

    This thought provoking book tells about life from Manson's hard and abusive childhood to his present state; from a sexually harassing neighbor, a cross dressing grandfather to a dangerous girlfriend. It's a kick@** book.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2012

    Its entertaining to say the least. well worth the money.

    Its entertaining to say the least. well worth the money.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2012

    Great book! I love MM

    This is a really good and detailed book. It brings you through the life and mind of who we have known as Marilyn Manson. It tells you of all the wild and crazy adventures he's had through his life. I found it easier to understand Marilyn and what he and his music truly stands for and I also discovered many things I never knew about him after reading this book. Highly recommend this book for MM fans and people who would like a better understanding of him.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2012

    Great read; Neil Strauss is a fantastic author. The Nook version

    Great read; Neil Strauss is a fantastic author. The Nook version comes with all the illistrations that make this book pop.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 3, 2012

    It is a very good book. Well written and very grim in its truths

    It is a very good book. Well written and very grim in its truths about society and religion. Marilyn Manson is a very intelligent man,

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 6, 2009

    The Long Hard Road Out of... Hell?

    The Long Hard Road Out of Hell reveals that Marilyn Manson is not a product of his environment. Everything that you believe about him is the result of a carefully calculated plan to become the world's most shocking musical and visual artist.

    He succeeds in repulsing readers with stories of drugs, fetishism and violence - but tries too hard to convince his audience that he's demented. Unfortunately for him, there's nothing scary about that.

    On the plus side, this book dispels rumors and gives fans insight into his motivations. It's not a great rock autobiography, but it's not bad either.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 19, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Disturbing, but amazing!

    This was, by far, the sickest, most twisted and disturbing book I've read in a really, really long time. Which is why I couldn't put it down and read it in one sitting. Reading this book is like sitting on Marilyn Manson's shoulder while he's actually living these scenarios. I knew that he was a little...unorthodox...in his life, but this takes him to a whole new level. It humanizes him and made me even more of a fan, not only of his music, but him as a person. It's a MUST read!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2012

    INCREDIBLE!!!!!!

    Marilyn is fuc*ing AMAZING. My idol, hero, influence... i dont care if he thinks im a creep, i am his biggest fan. Aside from those girls who carve his name into their chest. Wish i knew him...

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2012

    An eye opener

    Great book

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2012

    Sweet Dreams Are Made Of These

    I love marilyn manskn more artist like him should write book also :)

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 205 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11