Customer Reviews for

Long Hard Road Out of Hell

Average Rating 4.5
( 205 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(168)

4 Star

(23)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

More Than Devils and Demons

This is not all about Devils and Demons, but an inside look into a pop culture icon's life. Growing up in a small town, Brian Warner made it big. He has done a fine job in expressing his rise to fame from his humble beginnings and realizing that sometimes, 'fitting in...
This is not all about Devils and Demons, but an inside look into a pop culture icon's life. Growing up in a small town, Brian Warner made it big. He has done a fine job in expressing his rise to fame from his humble beginnings and realizing that sometimes, 'fitting in' isn't such a great thing to be.

posted by Anonymous on June 28, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Just not sure about it.

If there is one thing I can say about this book, it is that I have a different perception of Marilyn Manson. He had a very sad and traumatic childhood. He never implies there was sexual abuse but there definitely was mental, emotional and verbal abuse. Way too much for ...
If there is one thing I can say about this book, it is that I have a different perception of Marilyn Manson. He had a very sad and traumatic childhood. He never implies there was sexual abuse but there definitely was mental, emotional and verbal abuse. Way too much for a child to have to handle.
The confusing part for me is who he really is. There is alot of drugs, sex and perversion going on in his adulthood with his band and the people he hangs out with.
The book is an interesting read but I found myself confused alot as he jumps back in forth from his past to the present and I had to reread many paragraphs to get the jest of what he was trying to convey.
When the book ended I honestly felt sad for Manson as I think underneath it all he is a good person and he is fighting to express himself and all his pain by rebelling against society and its ways.

posted by 696624 on August 14, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2008

    The Long Hard Road out of Hell

    In true rock star form, Marilyn Manson sticks to the rock & roll tradition of engulfing himself in sex and drugs. Growing up in a small town and taking strange trips into his grandfather¿s secret porn infested basement, we get an angle that the media don¿t tell you. Born Brian Warner, Marilyn Manson experienced a life just like any other child going through school and being picked on. He dealt with his strangeness by selling porn and his hilarious attempts at getting girls to sleep with him. A 270 page account of his sexual encounters 'which includes a very descriptive encounter with an STD' and drug use, we get a look at the man who shocks so many. However, the only problem with this enticing biography is the absence of his parents¿ perspective once he became famous and the fact that the book does not go until the year this book was published. I wanted to hear more about sex, drugs and rock & roll. Overall, absolutely hilarious and an in-depth look at a very intelligent man.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 3, 2012

    It is a very good book. Well written and very grim in its truths

    It is a very good book. Well written and very grim in its truths about society and religion. Marilyn Manson is a very intelligent man,

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 19, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Disturbing, but amazing!

    This was, by far, the sickest, most twisted and disturbing book I've read in a really, really long time. Which is why I couldn't put it down and read it in one sitting. Reading this book is like sitting on Marilyn Manson's shoulder while he's actually living these scenarios. I knew that he was a little...unorthodox...in his life, but this takes him to a whole new level. It humanizes him and made me even more of a fan, not only of his music, but him as a person. It's a MUST read!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 27, 2009

    Distorted Thoughts of Marilyn Manson

    Are you looking for an oddly entertaining book? If so, you might find that The Long Hard Road to Hell, a autobiography written by Marilyn Manson, is just that. This book reveals anything from his childhood secrets to his drug crazed party nights. Like me, you may not like Marilyn Manson or his music, but this book was dark, deep, and at times disturbing.
    Right off the bat Manson grabs your attention as he recalls memories from his childhood. As a child, Manson had an odd obsession with his grandfather and the basement where his grandfather kept a locked drawer. Although Manson spent most of his time spying on his grandfather, he went to a local Catholic school that left him feeling like an outsider and rebelling against authority.
    When Manson finally persuaded his parents to enroll him into a public school, his obsession of girls, music, and drugs begins. Manson reveals grossly disturbing insights about the loss of his virginity, his new friends, and the first time he is introduced to drugs.
    After high school, Manson begins a journey unlike any other. Through his many girlfriends, countless attempts to make the ultimate band, and the nights he spent high on cocaine, you find yourself rooting for him to make it to the top.
    Some of the most vivid and interesting parts of the book, were the most gruesome, including the start of him inflicting pain upon himself. While you cringe at the thought of him dripping with blood after a show, you will be eager to read on and see what happens next.
    Overall this book was filled with emotion, and even those who do not enjoy Marilyn Manson will find themselves engrossed in this book. This book will take you on a curvy ride of Manson's life and leave you with a better understanding of him and his work.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2013

    Worth evrry oenny

    I rnjoyed the read not lacking in graphic disturbing details MM is waasy smarter than he looks reafung thus book helpef me undetdtand his mudic bettet

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2013

    Meeehhh.

    Good book. Dont get me wrong. I read this back in high school when it first came out. I always liked "pre-Antichrist" Manson back when he was with the spooky kids. His authors did a good job making him sound like any other suburbanite kid growing up, he also spends most of his time seeing himself through the eyes of others aand writing objectively. Still its worth picking up especially if you have some prejudiced veiws on manson altogether. You might be suprized.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2002

    It is what you expected....

    This book is for Marilyn Manson fans and non-fans alike. It is what you would expect coming from a book concentrating on the life of a character like Marilyn Manson, writen by the man himself. It is disturbing, disgusting, intelligent, ignorant, and all together entertaining. It is hard to put this book down...no matter who you are.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2001

    Manson the lyrical master.

    I thought this book was so cool. It talked about all the hard stuff that Brian Warner had to go through to make it to the top...dealing with drugs girls and crud like that...I only gave it 4 stars because I really didnt want to hear some of his sex stories.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2001

    Great

    This was probibly one of the best books yet, that I have read. He comes across very self conciencious (SP?) He knows himself inside and out. It makes you wonder if what you believe in is real.. It was great, well worth the money spent on it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2001

    Mrlin manson can write!!

    I think that if any one is looking for a good hard or very real this is the book for yo;u. dont hessitate espeicialy if you are a fan ., And I want to give a call out to my hommie Gedd

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2000

    Book Review

    Marilyn manson sings the songs he does, because he had a bad life, growing up. his father was abusive towards him, the christian school he went to turned their back on him, and the rest of his 'Family' treated him like garbage. It's better that he get out his anger in his music, and onstage, rather than out in real life, on the streets.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2000

    syncophants

    i guess theres about 54 reveiws of this book an theres only 25 for The Satanic Bible. i feel that syncophants are good, but they should be giving credit to anton lavey, the true master of the satanic movement. its a neat book, but its just like a hand pointing at the moon. a beautiful hand , but the moon is lavey.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 1999

    'I coulent put this book down'

    If you want to read a book that is intresting but wierd Then you should read this book. It tells Brian Warner's (Marilyn Manson) life and all the rummors and stories about him. It has 17 color pictures and other pictures with no color. I recommend this book to people over the age of 13 becouse of some of the things in this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2