BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

A Long, Long Sleep

Average Rating 4
( 37 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 37 of 37 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 2
  • Posted September 6, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Review from Blkosiner's Book Blog

    I really enjoyed this book, it has an original premise, compelling characters, and it made me cry, want to scream, and feel right along with the main character.
    I was frustrated with Rose as much as I loved her. I can see a lot of myself in her and I totally understand how she could come into the personality that she has, I identify with the self-hate and passivity, because I've been there all too often. There is a turning point, at one of my favorite scenes though, and I feel like it's an independence and victory point for us all who've felt like that.
    Bren was an interesting character and I love the ones who step into that role of protector. His honesty is also really refreshing for me. There really is some depth behind the sexy, and that's a big plus for me. In some of his scenes, I got really emotional right along with Rose!
    Otto is an amazing character, so well written and I wish there could've been a solid resolution with his story lines. He is so different, caring and deep that I couldn't help falling in love with him and wanting the best for him.
    The sci-fi in this is really neat, and I like what Ms. Sheehan did with the plastines, how she incorporated the history, the mystery and intrigue that kept me flying through the pages. I was pleasantly surprised by how much I enjoyed this book and all the emotions it brought out in me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 11, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Sleeping Beauty 60 Years Later

    Rosalinda Samantha Fitzroy has been in stasis for over 60 years. After being discovered by Brendan Sabah in the basement of her old apartment she is immediately swept into a media frenzy. She learns that her parents are dead and so is her boyfriend Xavier. She also has skipped out of the worst times that have every been lived thru called Dark Times and now she is the sole surviving heiress to an interplanetary empire, UniCorp. UniCorp sets her up with guardians until she is of age, because even though she is well over 100, she has been frozen in time as 16. Rose attends UniPrep and meets Otto Sextus who was engineered by UniCorp by using human embryos implanted with Europa microbe DNA. In a way, they are similar. They both are looked upon as outsiders. Rose is also attracted to Brendan and wonders why she has such strong attraction to him. She has only known that kind of love with her boyfriend Xaviar and she knew him his entire life.

    Throughout A Long, Long Sleep we learn of all the tragic events that lead to the Dark Times along with Rose in her history class and thru Brendan. We learn that the first factor was the steady population increase and then the economic boom leading to widening gaps between the rich and the poor. Then the resurgence of tuberculosis and the bubonic plague. The final nail in the coffin was infertility. Rose is just devastated after learning all this and she pictures her parents and all the people she loved dying these horrible deaths.

    Having to deal with catching up on over 60 years of lost time is tough enough but now Rose has a Plastine, a human corpse that has been plasticized, sent after her and will not stop until she is either returned to the person who programmed it or terminated. Who wants her dead and why?

    The revelations unfold throughout A Long, Long Sleep. Just when you think you know what is going to happen, Sheehan slams you with a twist! I'm not big on futuristic or dystopian novels but I found myself reading late into the night wanting to know what was going to happen to Rose. When you find out how long Rose's parents stassed her just so they could go on vacation, your heart breaks. They never let her grow up. This book is very age appropriate and if you like light sci-fi aspects then this book is for you!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 9, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A bit of fairy tale, sci-fi, and post-dystopia all mixed up!

    What genre does a book like A LONG, LONG SLEEP by Anna Sheehan fall into? Is it a fairy tale? Is it sci-fi/futuristic? Is it post-dystopian? Is it medical? Is it something else all together? A LONG, LONG SLEEP is all of this and more. First and foremost, it is a book about a teenager named Rose-and teenager is used in the loosest of terms due to the fact that her parents put her in stasis for over sixty years (and several other times before she hit the age of sixteen, no less). The novel starts off with a SLEEPING BEAUTY spin, with Rose being pulled out of stasis and faced with the dashing teen who awakened her. The way Sheehan describes stasis reminds me of ACROSS THE UNIVERSE by Beth Revis, only the ramifications for being put under for so long are much more severe in Rose's world.

    Rose emerges into a world that has recovered from "the dark times," a dystopic-sounding era brought about by illness. Everyone she knew and loved is dead. She herself very well might have been as well, if her parents hadn't left her in stasis for so long. At first, it's hard to connect with Rose as a character because she doesn't have depth and can be annoying, but as A LONG, LONG SLEEP delves deeper into her psyche, horrible truths come out that make readers realize why she's such a damaged character. She's been through so much more than most literary characters in YA. For one thing (and this is no secret, so it's not a spoiler), Rose's parents often stuck her in stasis growing up. She never questioned it before, but is only now beginning to realize the neglect she went to and the way her parents abused her throughout her life. She is emotionally and physically scarred, and has a lot of trouble adjusting to life, especially since she was cloistered as a child and must now navigate the world on her own.

    Rose is constantly haunted by all that she has lost, including that of her true love Xavier, who grew up without her. At one point in her life, she was older than him and watched him grow. She was put under stasis so often, that eventually, they were the same age, and then he was older. And then he grew up and suffered through the dark times alongside her parents while she remained in stasis, alone and forever youthful. She has trouble forging new relationships now despite the way Bren, the teenager who discovered and awakened her, takes her under his wing. She goes to school for the first time and in introduced to crazy slang and new technology that's foreign to her. One of her classmates, Otto, is a well-written secondary character that readers will be clamoring to learn more about. He's truly amazing, and it's easy to embrace him as we delve more into what makes him tick. He adds another sci-fi touch to the novel with his back story (which IS spoilery, so I won't describe it here) and his unique way of communicating with other characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 7, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Sleeping Beauty with Robots

    Rose is only sixteen when she is awakened from stasis, but it is over sixty years after she was first put to sleep in the tube. Adjusting to life in the future would be a lot harder, but luckily Rose is heir to a huge corporation, which has taken care of all her needs upon waking up. She quickly starts back at High School and joins an eclectic group of friends. Among them is Bren, a handsome boy whose friendship makes Rose pine for her old (and long dead) boyfriend Xavier. But there is something else from Rose's past that has been awakened, and it is not entirely friendly.

    Sleeping Beauty with robots. I totally did not expect the completely futuristic sci-fi side to this story, but it was worked pretty well. Anna Sheehan really thought through how she wanted to re-tell her fairy tale and her execution was thorough. But where I thought the dystopian future was pretty neat in the beginning, the language and world quickly became tedious to follow. Maybe it was because Rose is a fairly shallow character, thinking only of herself and whining when little annoyances happen to her. She just doesn't seem like a strong or brave character. Otto the alien was a little weird to get used to. If he can communicate with people's minds, why spend most of the book instant messaging? The further I got into this story, the more I wanted clarification on certain elements of the lifestyle and story, and my questions were never answered. Even the flashbacks to Rose and Xavier felt rather dull and insignificant. A great premise and neat idea for the future, but this book could have used a little more time in stasis.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 5, 2011

    Futuristic Sleeping Beauty

    I really loved this book. It surprised me because I figured it to be some sort of science fiction Sleeping Beauty (which is was) but it was took the story and molded into something beyond the fairy tale. It became less of just a Sleeping Beauty retell and more of a story of abuse and lost love. I was glad that there was no real romantic storyline other than the one in Rose's past because it would have felt more artificial. When Rose develops a crush on, Bren, the boy woke her up, I was worried since it seemed less like her feelings and more like a contrivance, but that is cleared up eventually. The "realest" relationship would be Rose's friendship with the odd alien-human hybrid, Otto. That was a relationship that was enjoyable to watch progress. Overall, it was easy to see where the story was going, except for two details revealed at the end that I wasn't expecting at all. It was nice to be surprised. One of my few complaints was how heavy handed the Sleeping Beauty or Briar Rose comparisons felt at times. The story had all the earmarks of that fairytale without it being forcibly shoved into the story. My only other complaint was an unresolved storyline that would be good for a follow-up book. I certainly hope it gets written since I am curious about what happens to Rose next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 16, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great story line

    The premise of this book intrigued me from the beginning. I loved the characters, I loved the plot line. There were lots of twists and turns to keep me reading. I was a little disappointed with the world building. As science fiction worlds go, this one lacked a lot. There seemed to be very few recognizable changes or differences between the present and the future where this story took place.
    Rose awakens to learn everyone she knew or loved is gone. She also learns she is the heir to her parents inter-galactic empire. While she tries to make her way in this new time period, and make friends, someone is out to kill her. Some of the things we learn as we go along in the story make it very easy to dislike her parents. The author did a great job of telling this story in bits and pieces that kept you hanging in. I would recommend this to those who love a good story line that will carry you all the way through.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 15, 2011

    Nice YA book.

    At first glance, this book seems to be unoriginal. The synopsis even relates it to Sleeping Beauty, the young girl who is awoken from her long sleep by a kiss. But don't be fooled, that's just the beginning of an interesting and unique story.

    Rose has been asleep for 62 years; everything and everyone she ever knew is dead. The author, Anna Sheehan does an excellent job building Rose's character. She moves from the weak, grieving young girl into a strong, resourceful young woman. As she tries to fit in to the new life thrust upon her, she learns more about her past.

    This novel is about a young girl coming into her own. Life keeps dealing her blow after blow, but she fights back and gets stronger every time. It's a good read for young women and science fiction fans.

    *Disclaimer: I received this book from the publisher Candlewick Press through Netgalley. I was not required to write a positive review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 28, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Wake up, little Rosie, wake up

    A Long, Long Sleep was an unexpected futuristic twist to this centuries-old fairy tale. At first I wasn't entirely convinced that it would work out, but the fairy tale picked up steam once Rosalinda's past started to catch up with her strange and new present.

    I liked how the romance wasn't of the cookie-cutter variety where Prince Charming sweeps in with his life-saving kiss and they live happily-in-love forever. No, instead Rosalinda has already met the love of her life - too bad it happened 60+ years ago and there is no sign that Xavier survived the Dark Times. They had such a beautiful and obviously strong bond that transcends time, and I cannot blame Rosalinda for feeling so alone when she wakes up. With Xavier no longer there to support Rosalinda, she has to move on and finds herself soul-searching with 2 very different boys - the Prince Charming who gallantly escorts her through this new world and the Ugly Duckling who feels just as lonely and out-of-place as she does. In the end, though, Rosalinda finds happiness on her own terms (boyfriend not necessary).

    The truth behind Rosalinda's Sleeping Beauty experience is horrifying and sad when you realize who is to blame and why. I wish I could say more without spoiling the story, but I cannot. Let's just say it is tragic and heart-breaking to watch Rosalinda piece the past together and realize that she had been left behind. For protection from the Dark Times? For fun? For neglect? For love?

    A Long, Long Sleep steadily builds momentum and unfurls a fairy tale that will leave an impression on your mind and want you wondering where things go from here for Rosalinda. Coming back alone into the world after years of absence is tough, but how will things change when she finds out that she is no longer alone? I hope we get to find out!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A Futuristic Fairy Tale

    I have to say, this book took me a bit to get into the story. Rosalinda Fitzroy wakes up after 62 years in a stasis slumber to find she's still 16, but the world has moved on, and a major plague outbreak and planetary near disaster has changed her world drastically. How did she end up slumbering for so long? Who put her there? And who has sent a freakish man/droid that will stop at nothing to terminate her? Rose's parents are long gone, but they left a legacy of power and money that will someday be Rose's responsibility. As she struggles to wake up from the physical effects of being in stasis for so long, she also struggles to find her way in a world where she is considered an oddity and has few friends. As her past is slowly revealed, Rose has to choose between being a passive participant in her life, or to waken fully from her sleep, and become the strong young woman she was meant to be. I liked this book, although it took quite awhile to get moving. Rose can be a bit frustrating at times, but there is hope. This can be a stand alone novel, but the ending leaves it wide open for a sequel. I would read the sequel just to see how Rose has grown after all the earth-shattering discoveries she makes in A Long, Long, Sleep. There is great potential for her to become a powerhouse as she learns to listen to herself, and stop believing she is the person her parents told her she was--weak, silly, and not able to stand on her own.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    interested concept but lacks development

    Fairy tales have always held a special place in the lives of people, and recent young adult literature is no exception. Anna Sheehan's A Long, Long Sleep, to be released this coming August, is yet another in a popular genre.

    Woken with a kiss, or rather a misguided attempt at mouth to mouth resuscitation, after a long period of stasis, Rose finds that 62 years have passed and the world has experienced many changes while she has slept. Forced to face a brand new world in which she knows no one, while battling stasis fatigue and an unknown assassin, Rose must forge a new life for herself, helped by the inter-planetary empire her parents built.

    The book moves rather slowly at first and attempts at creating new words for this futuristic world seemed forced. The writing wasn't spectacular, although the concept is intriguing. Rose is rather weak and pathetic but begins to show some spirit at the end of the book as she begins to find herself, away from the controlling and abusive parents who routinely used stasis as a punishment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 37 of 37 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 2