Customer Reviews for

A Long, Long Sleep

Average Rating 4
( 37 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2012

    Good book overall!!

    This book had a very clever, unique, interesting, and compelling concept. The main chacter Rose is from the past 62 years past, when she wakes up from her long long sleep shes confronted by the future! Doesnt sound like a hard enemie to defeat. But with everything she does the future is there to add another barrier in front of her.
    The only part of this book that i didnt like was it seemed in parts for younger kids!
    But overall pick this book up for a rainy day i dont think youll be disapointed, and it will keep you thinking!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Review from Worn Pages and Dusty Shelves

    Prepare to have your heart broken. It's very hard to review (and rate) this book. The first third is what I'd call 'fillers.' After the beginning, when Rosalinda "Rose" is woken from stasis, it seems forced. As if the flow of the story was not meshing together and a bunch of unneeded sequences were thrown in to fill the gaps. That doesn't mean the story started off boring. It was far from boring but far from being engaging...until you get to the next third. Everything from 2/3s to the end was fabulous. I loved (almost) everything about it. There are so many twists and turns, things that will having you gasping and crying, things you never saw coming and some that will shock the living daylights out of you. Rose has had a hard life and some of her actions are hard to understand, until you find out why she's such a shy and quiet girl. She's a likable character with a tendency to be unlikable, but she's written in such a way that you still like her. I do think more explaining could have been done about the 'colonies' and other things about the world, because it was just a big mess. I didn't understand it half the time and when names of places? popped up I felt frustrated because no real explanation (that I remember) had been given. The ending is sudden, though we're provided an epilogue, and it seems be set up for sequel- hopefully. There are a whole lot of great thing about A Long Long Sleep, and a handful of not so great things. I do think, in this case, that the good over-weighs the bad. It's a great read and with a sequel possibly on the horizon, it's a pretty good choice to kick back and relax and bawl your eyes out.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 12, 2011

    Excellent Read

    This book was as lyrically beautiful as my other favorite fairytale retelling...Beauty by Robin Mckinley. The writing was outstanding and brought tears to my eyes several times. I loved how her past life was incorporated seamlessly into her present life. I usually hate flashbacks but the way the memories were incorporated into the narrative avoided the awkward italicized mess that most authors employ. For those looking for the typical teen romance...don't come here. This book is about love of all sorts-friendship that becomes love, love that becomes friendship, the love between friends, and the utterly destructive power of love when it is abused. Such an amazing read, I can't recommend it enough

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 9, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Heartbreaking Relationships, Great Story

    When I started this book I immediately thought of Across the Universe by Beth Revis. In that story a girl is frozen, along with her family, but she is woken up too early, instead of too late as in this story. While I wasn't a fan of Across the Universe, this story has everything that one was lacking and more. The characters and the situation were so realistic, it was at times hard to remember that this was supposed to take place in the future. Then comes the killer robot and that tends to remind you where you are.

    The relationships in this story were heartbreaking. The parent's relationship with Rose was horrifying and it made it so easy to see why so many people in abusive relationships don't realize they are in a bad place. While there is no violent abuse, the way the family treats their child is unnerving. Rose is written in such a delicate way that she often teeters on the line between a helpless child and a strong woman. I can't wait to read more by Sheehan as she certainly has a way with words and emotions.

    Reviewed by Jessica for Book Sake.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 21, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Fantastic Debut

    This book made me cry. Do you know how long it has been since that has happened? I can't even remember the last book I cried over. Oh wait, I do....

    It's been seven months and exactly 60 books since my last good book-ish cry. I love it when a book makes me cry! It's my favorite fever symptom.

    But A Long, Long Sleep did so much more than that. Sheehan took the classic story of Briar Rose, and turned it into a perfectly plausible futuristic retelling. She created a strong story using a few extreme personalities, and the dark side of human nature, and pulled it off well.

    In the beginning I was worried that I was reading yet another story that I would be disappointed in. I didn't connect with the main character, and things seemed a bit too contrived. That quickly changed though, as more information about the main character's life was revealed, and things that I didn't anticipate began happening. The main character begins the story in a detached state, which didn't help with me being able to connect with her, but was essential to the plot. Things pick up pretty quickly though, and soon I was glued to the book. There are some very cliche moments in the story but they are few, and usually end differently than expected. In short: this book was completely unpredictable.

    ...and that includes the romance. There is a love story, but it does not go as planned (or as I planned, anyway). And while the story is about more than Rose's relationships, that is where it truly shines. I experienced such depth of emotion while reading, and it's because I was exposed to so many different types and layers of love; love for a parent, for a child, for a friend, the fire of first love, the fleeting feeling of a new crush, and the love between two people who really understand each other. The stories of these relationships are expertly told through flashbacks--which were my favorite parts of the book--through conversations, and even through touch. This is what made me cry. This is what made me sigh contentedly (and a little sadly) when I closed the book for the last time.

    And I really wish I could go on and on, because this was honestly a fantastic book. There are some horrible tastes of wicked people, shocking revelations (especially the end!!), and a full cast of interesting and unpredictable characters (Otto!!). I know it won't appeal to everyone out there, but it is definitely worth giving it a chance.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2014

    One of the best books I've read in a long time.  No words

    One of the best books I've read in a long time.  No words

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2014

    Astounding and Moving

    This book was wonderfully written with vibrant and engaging characters and a truly unique perspective on the Sleeping Beauty tale. In fact it was so emotionally moving, that as we progress technologically, it raised some very pertinent ethical questions on how and when and why that technology should be used. It drew me in so deeply that I read it all in one night. A truly wonderful book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2014

    Is the book good

    Have not read hope its good is it good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2013

    After turning the last page of this book I ended up being very s

    After turning the last page of this book I ended up being very satisfied with it!! But let me say that the first third of the book is filled with stuff that will confuse you and not make sense! The first third was very slow for me and I almost put the book down but I talked myself into finishing it and I'm SOO glad I did. Everything that doesn't make sense is explained in the last 2/3s of this book and it just clicks. It is a clever, and out of the box concept of sleeping beauty with some sci-fi elements thrown in. A few things that annoyed me was the simple names given to the school and certain locations like ComUnity..to stand for well...the community? This irked me to the point I wish the author could've been more creative..but hey in the end her story was creative as a whole. The last third of the book is filled with action and answers! The ending comes sudden and some truths that are revealed I both expected, relieved that Rose had closure yet...disturbed! You would just have to read it to find out for yourself. All in all this will be added to my bookshelf! If there is a sequel, I will be reading!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This is a really crazy book. Totally awesome and taking me for a

    This is a really crazy book. Totally awesome and taking me for a different kind of read, I really enjoyed it.
    1. Dystopian.  I really enjoyed the dystopian future of this world. The way they talk, the future of families and education, diseases that ran rampant all played nicely in this story.
    2. Love. I have to admit that love interest in quite interesting and very dramatic. I didn’t realize it at first, but when a certain piece of information is dropped it was,”OMG!” I think the author did a great job in creating such great dimensions and depth to the story with the love both on the past and future.
    3. Realization. There is certain moments in the book that really brought clarity to my eyes. After learning what her parents were really doing, I knew without a doubt that I wanted more. No, correction. Needed more.
    I would say more, but I’m afraid I spoil it all for you.  Take it from me and know that this book is awesome. A bit slow in the beginning, but other than that, awesome. A Long Long Sleep is a dark truly original dystopian that will blow you away.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2013

    Heart stopping!

    Tis book is the just right book that makes me get on the edge of my feet and the author made me think that I was Rosland Samantha Fitzroy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 12, 2013

    Do you know when you tried to love a book, watering it the way y

    Do you know when you tried to love a book, watering it the way you might a tomato plant along fruit row, but for whatever reason it continues to disappoint you time and time again? Not taking the water and the sunlight and shrinking from your every touch, confined to shrivel up and die, and give you the finger as it leaves the universe. That’s what I thought of A LONG, LONG SLEEP. I wanted to like this book and going into it, like that pesky tomato plant, I had every intention of liking it, but something went horribly, horribly wrong.

    This really felt like science fiction’s bastard cousin, you know the unmentionable one named Barry, that no one likes to bring up at cocktail parties or family reunions or Sunday get-togethers or other familial social events. He’s invaded your life, and every time he pops around your office cubicle, you want to shoot him in the face with a BB gun. This was my Barry, and he played out like some never-ending highlight reel.

    The dialogue felt stilted and disjointed; exclamation points were passed out like jelly doughnuts at a sugar convention; I didn’t give a flying crap about any of the characters; I wanted to stass myself until I ended up comatose; the plot moved along, but I was trying really hard not to pay attention; the similes and metaphors felt trite and overused; the killer robot felt like some secondhand, one-dimensional hack; Sleeping Beauty had the longest nightmare of her life, as did I; and I wanted to race to the end, just so I could remove this book from my Kindle and pretend it never existed. But I felt like I was slogging through quicksand. Oh, and if we ever get to the point that we’re tossing around the word cell as a verb (a bastard stand-in for the word call), I may be forced to shoot myself with a BB gun.

    On some level, I kept hoping it would get better, that somehow bastard Barry would redeem himself, and that I wouldn’t have to kick his ass. But it never did. And for that, I admit, I really am sorry. Because I absolutely love books and discovering new authors and being so caught up in a story that you end up reading past your curfew and flipping pages faster than an Olympic sprinter. But I didn’t love this one, not even a little bit, not even at all.

    Robert Downs
    Author of Falling Immortality: Casey Holden, Private Investigator

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2013

    Wonderfully intense!

    You feel for all the characters in this book and as wierd as the main characters situation is it opens your eyes to some harsh but much needed truth. Loved it and i hope you read it too!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 7, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I was very surprised when I read A Long Long Sleep.  I actually

    I was very surprised when I read A Long Long Sleep.  I actually read a review on this book while blog hopping (I forgot which blog it was) and I thought the blurb sounded very interesting.  When the ebook was available at the library, I immediately checked it out and promptly forgot about it.

    Fast forward to three days before the book was due and I received an email from the library that the book was due.  I started reading it that same day and I enjoyed it. 

    The story is that Rosalinda, daughter of one of the most powerful families/rich corporate CEO's of the day, is woken up from a 62 year sleep by Brendan, a grandson of the current CEO of Rose's company.  She wakes up to a world after the Dark Times, which I compare to the Dark Ages.  In fact, it is like the Dark Ages, where the Beubonic Plague and Tuberculosis outbreak resurface.  Naturally, everyone Rose loves, even her boyfriend Xavier, are long gone.  Add in a Plastine (a robot with a human corpse for a body that is programmed to be an assasin) who tries to track and kill Rose, and a dark secret that ultimately transforms Rose into a stong young woman, and you have a recipe for a really awsome book.

    As much as I liked this book, I had a few problems with it.  One was the non sci-fi element of the book.  Sure, it was set in the future and there were future tech stuff that were mentioned (e.g. hover cars that travel over water, a techie notepad/tablet) and future slang like "this is so sky", "coit", "noid", and "I comm",  it didn't feel like a true sci-fi novel.  The book also lacked description.  I wanted to see what the world looked like post Dark Times.  For a sci-fi novel, this lacked a lot of description.

    Another thing that I did not like about it was that this book was basically about Rose moping about, trying to navigate the futuristic high school, developing her art, and falling for Brendan.  I expected to read about how Rose would investigate the dilemma that is the reason why she had a long stasis sleep.  I expected to read about her taking over her parent's company that was under the influence of a slimy CEO.  If Rose did not redeem herself by the end of the book and stood up against her attacker and destroyed her stasis tube, I would have given this a 2!  Oh, and Rose's voice sounded like a little girl.  I really had problems with that.    For a 16 year old, she seemed pretty immature to me.  A

    What was iffy about this was when it was revealed in the end that Ron, Brendan's grandfather and CEO of the corporation is in fact Xavier, Rose's boyfriend!  Ick!  Although I was expecting this to be the case, I still thought it was very, very, very weird.  Plus, Rose demands that he becomes her guardian!

    What I did like about this, however was how the author showed us the emotional abuse that Rose went through - the detachment of how her parents treated her.  I actually liked that the author hinted at the abuse and how we were gradually introduced as to Rose's actual age.  Apparently, Rose has been in and out of stass all through childhood.  In fact, Rose practically raised Xavier since she was about 7 when he was a toddler.

    Another surprising character that I liked was Otto, the blue alien/human that has powers but is unable to speak.  Rose and Otto have a very interesting relationship via the web where they have long conversations between each other.  The only thing I had problems with was that Otto had a girlfriend that he broke up with probably because he was falling for Rose.

    All in all, this was a quick read for me that I recommend to those who love non sci-fi YA sort of romance.

    Originally posted on my blog I Heart Romance

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2013

    great book. I kept hoping that Rose and Xavier weren't torn apar

    great book. I kept hoping that Rose and Xavier weren't torn apart. I loved the relationships Rose did make.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2012

    Heartbreakimg

    The wole time i was reading i was praying that some how xaviar was somehow asleep to and that they still had a chance to spend their lives togeather. When we find out that he is not asleep and has a family of his own i felt so helpless. This was a good book but in the end you wish for more joy and happiniss thn what is given.


    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2012

    Amazing

    The story line,plot,climax, everything in this story was awesome! This book will definatly be in the back of my mind for over 62 years (tehe)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2012

    Great book

    I really thought it was good and at first its kind of....... confusing but after that it becomes a really great read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2012

    Read this review for the full info

    -unique
    -amazing
    -cant stop reading book
    -teacher
    - inspirational
    - reccomended (11+)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2012

    Good book

    I liked the premise of this book as it was different with some twists that were interesting. Could the United States really end up with this kind of technology that would allow people to sleep for years? Maybe, and I can see it being abused as it was in this book by selfish people. The end does leave it open for a sequel, which I'd love to read. If you like young adult futuristic books with a bit of sci-fi twist, I think you'll enjoy this one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2