Customer Reviews for

A Long, Long Sleep

Average Rating 4
( 38 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2012

    Good book overall!!

    This book had a very clever, unique, interesting, and compelling concept. The main chacter Rose is from the past 62 years past, when she wakes up from her long long sleep shes confronted by the future! Doesnt sound like a hard enemie to defeat. But with everything she does the future is there to add another barrier in front of her.
    The only part of this book that i didnt like was it seemed in parts for younger kids!
    But overall pick this book up for a rainy day i dont think youll be disapointed, and it will keep you thinking!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Review from Worn Pages and Dusty Shelves

    Prepare to have your heart broken. It's very hard to review (and rate) this book. The first third is what I'd call 'fillers.' After the beginning, when Rosalinda "Rose" is woken from stasis, it seems forced. As if the flow of the story was not meshing together and a bunch of unneeded sequences were thrown in to fill the gaps. That doesn't mean the story started off boring. It was far from boring but far from being engaging...until you get to the next third. Everything from 2/3s to the end was fabulous. I loved (almost) everything about it. There are so many twists and turns, things that will having you gasping and crying, things you never saw coming and some that will shock the living daylights out of you. Rose has had a hard life and some of her actions are hard to understand, until you find out why she's such a shy and quiet girl. She's a likable character with a tendency to be unlikable, but she's written in such a way that you still like her. I do think more explaining could have been done about the 'colonies' and other things about the world, because it was just a big mess. I didn't understand it half the time and when names of places? popped up I felt frustrated because no real explanation (that I remember) had been given. The ending is sudden, though we're provided an epilogue, and it seems be set up for sequel- hopefully. There are a whole lot of great thing about A Long Long Sleep, and a handful of not so great things. I do think, in this case, that the good over-weighs the bad. It's a great read and with a sequel possibly on the horizon, it's a pretty good choice to kick back and relax and bawl your eyes out.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 9, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Heartbreaking Relationships, Great Story

    When I started this book I immediately thought of Across the Universe by Beth Revis. In that story a girl is frozen, along with her family, but she is woken up too early, instead of too late as in this story. While I wasn't a fan of Across the Universe, this story has everything that one was lacking and more. The characters and the situation were so realistic, it was at times hard to remember that this was supposed to take place in the future. Then comes the killer robot and that tends to remind you where you are.

    The relationships in this story were heartbreaking. The parent's relationship with Rose was horrifying and it made it so easy to see why so many people in abusive relationships don't realize they are in a bad place. While there is no violent abuse, the way the family treats their child is unnerving. Rose is written in such a delicate way that she often teeters on the line between a helpless child and a strong woman. I can't wait to read more by Sheehan as she certainly has a way with words and emotions.

    Reviewed by Jessica for Book Sake.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2013

    After turning the last page of this book I ended up being very s

    After turning the last page of this book I ended up being very satisfied with it!! But let me say that the first third of the book is filled with stuff that will confuse you and not make sense! The first third was very slow for me and I almost put the book down but I talked myself into finishing it and I'm SOO glad I did. Everything that doesn't make sense is explained in the last 2/3s of this book and it just clicks. It is a clever, and out of the box concept of sleeping beauty with some sci-fi elements thrown in. A few things that annoyed me was the simple names given to the school and certain locations like ComUnity..to stand for well...the community? This irked me to the point I wish the author could've been more creative..but hey in the end her story was creative as a whole. The last third of the book is filled with action and answers! The ending comes sudden and some truths that are revealed I both expected, relieved that Rose had closure yet...disturbed! You would just have to read it to find out for yourself. All in all this will be added to my bookshelf! If there is a sequel, I will be reading!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 7, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I was very surprised when I read A Long Long Sleep.  I actually

    I was very surprised when I read A Long Long Sleep.  I actually read a review on this book while blog hopping (I forgot which blog it was) and I thought the blurb sounded very interesting.  When the ebook was available at the library, I immediately checked it out and promptly forgot about it.

    Fast forward to three days before the book was due and I received an email from the library that the book was due.  I started reading it that same day and I enjoyed it. 

    The story is that Rosalinda, daughter of one of the most powerful families/rich corporate CEO's of the day, is woken up from a 62 year sleep by Brendan, a grandson of the current CEO of Rose's company.  She wakes up to a world after the Dark Times, which I compare to the Dark Ages.  In fact, it is like the Dark Ages, where the Beubonic Plague and Tuberculosis outbreak resurface.  Naturally, everyone Rose loves, even her boyfriend Xavier, are long gone.  Add in a Plastine (a robot with a human corpse for a body that is programmed to be an assasin) who tries to track and kill Rose, and a dark secret that ultimately transforms Rose into a stong young woman, and you have a recipe for a really awsome book.

    As much as I liked this book, I had a few problems with it.  One was the non sci-fi element of the book.  Sure, it was set in the future and there were future tech stuff that were mentioned (e.g. hover cars that travel over water, a techie notepad/tablet) and future slang like "this is so sky", "coit", "noid", and "I comm",  it didn't feel like a true sci-fi novel.  The book also lacked description.  I wanted to see what the world looked like post Dark Times.  For a sci-fi novel, this lacked a lot of description.

    Another thing that I did not like about it was that this book was basically about Rose moping about, trying to navigate the futuristic high school, developing her art, and falling for Brendan.  I expected to read about how Rose would investigate the dilemma that is the reason why she had a long stasis sleep.  I expected to read about her taking over her parent's company that was under the influence of a slimy CEO.  If Rose did not redeem herself by the end of the book and stood up against her attacker and destroyed her stasis tube, I would have given this a 2!  Oh, and Rose's voice sounded like a little girl.  I really had problems with that.    For a 16 year old, she seemed pretty immature to me.  A

    What was iffy about this was when it was revealed in the end that Ron, Brendan's grandfather and CEO of the corporation is in fact Xavier, Rose's boyfriend!  Ick!  Although I was expecting this to be the case, I still thought it was very, very, very weird.  Plus, Rose demands that he becomes her guardian!

    What I did like about this, however was how the author showed us the emotional abuse that Rose went through - the detachment of how her parents treated her.  I actually liked that the author hinted at the abuse and how we were gradually introduced as to Rose's actual age.  Apparently, Rose has been in and out of stass all through childhood.  In fact, Rose practically raised Xavier since she was about 7 when he was a toddler.

    Another surprising character that I liked was Otto, the blue alien/human that has powers but is unable to speak.  Rose and Otto have a very interesting relationship via the web where they have long conversations between each other.  The only thing I had problems with was that Otto had a girlfriend that he broke up with probably because he was falling for Rose.

    All in all, this was a quick read for me that I recommend to those who love non sci-fi YA sort of romance.

    Originally posted on my blog I Heart Romance

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2013

    great book. I kept hoping that Rose and Xavier weren't torn apar

    great book. I kept hoping that Rose and Xavier weren't torn apart. I loved the relationships Rose did make.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2012

    Good book

    I liked the premise of this book as it was different with some twists that were interesting. Could the United States really end up with this kind of technology that would allow people to sleep for years? Maybe, and I can see it being abused as it was in this book by selfish people. The end does leave it open for a sequel, which I'd love to read. If you like young adult futuristic books with a bit of sci-fi twist, I think you'll enjoy this one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Review from Blkosiner's Book Blog

    I really enjoyed this book, it has an original premise, compelling characters, and it made me cry, want to scream, and feel right along with the main character.
    I was frustrated with Rose as much as I loved her. I can see a lot of myself in her and I totally understand how she could come into the personality that she has, I identify with the self-hate and passivity, because I've been there all too often. There is a turning point, at one of my favorite scenes though, and I feel like it's an independence and victory point for us all who've felt like that.
    Bren was an interesting character and I love the ones who step into that role of protector. His honesty is also really refreshing for me. There really is some depth behind the sexy, and that's a big plus for me. In some of his scenes, I got really emotional right along with Rose!
    Otto is an amazing character, so well written and I wish there could've been a solid resolution with his story lines. He is so different, caring and deep that I couldn't help falling in love with him and wanting the best for him.
    The sci-fi in this is really neat, and I like what Ms. Sheehan did with the plastines, how she incorporated the history, the mystery and intrigue that kept me flying through the pages. I was pleasantly surprised by how much I enjoyed this book and all the emotions it brought out in me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 11, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Sleeping Beauty 60 Years Later

    Rosalinda Samantha Fitzroy has been in stasis for over 60 years. After being discovered by Brendan Sabah in the basement of her old apartment she is immediately swept into a media frenzy. She learns that her parents are dead and so is her boyfriend Xavier. She also has skipped out of the worst times that have every been lived thru called Dark Times and now she is the sole surviving heiress to an interplanetary empire, UniCorp. UniCorp sets her up with guardians until she is of age, because even though she is well over 100, she has been frozen in time as 16. Rose attends UniPrep and meets Otto Sextus who was engineered by UniCorp by using human embryos implanted with Europa microbe DNA. In a way, they are similar. They both are looked upon as outsiders. Rose is also attracted to Brendan and wonders why she has such strong attraction to him. She has only known that kind of love with her boyfriend Xaviar and she knew him his entire life.

    Throughout A Long, Long Sleep we learn of all the tragic events that lead to the Dark Times along with Rose in her history class and thru Brendan. We learn that the first factor was the steady population increase and then the economic boom leading to widening gaps between the rich and the poor. Then the resurgence of tuberculosis and the bubonic plague. The final nail in the coffin was infertility. Rose is just devastated after learning all this and she pictures her parents and all the people she loved dying these horrible deaths.

    Having to deal with catching up on over 60 years of lost time is tough enough but now Rose has a Plastine, a human corpse that has been plasticized, sent after her and will not stop until she is either returned to the person who programmed it or terminated. Who wants her dead and why?

    The revelations unfold throughout A Long, Long Sleep. Just when you think you know what is going to happen, Sheehan slams you with a twist! I'm not big on futuristic or dystopian novels but I found myself reading late into the night wanting to know what was going to happen to Rose. When you find out how long Rose's parents stassed her just so they could go on vacation, your heart breaks. They never let her grow up. This book is very age appropriate and if you like light sci-fi aspects then this book is for you!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 9, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A bit of fairy tale, sci-fi, and post-dystopia all mixed up!

    What genre does a book like A LONG, LONG SLEEP by Anna Sheehan fall into? Is it a fairy tale? Is it sci-fi/futuristic? Is it post-dystopian? Is it medical? Is it something else all together? A LONG, LONG SLEEP is all of this and more. First and foremost, it is a book about a teenager named Rose-and teenager is used in the loosest of terms due to the fact that her parents put her in stasis for over sixty years (and several other times before she hit the age of sixteen, no less). The novel starts off with a SLEEPING BEAUTY spin, with Rose being pulled out of stasis and faced with the dashing teen who awakened her. The way Sheehan describes stasis reminds me of ACROSS THE UNIVERSE by Beth Revis, only the ramifications for being put under for so long are much more severe in Rose's world.

    Rose emerges into a world that has recovered from "the dark times," a dystopic-sounding era brought about by illness. Everyone she knew and loved is dead. She herself very well might have been as well, if her parents hadn't left her in stasis for so long. At first, it's hard to connect with Rose as a character because she doesn't have depth and can be annoying, but as A LONG, LONG SLEEP delves deeper into her psyche, horrible truths come out that make readers realize why she's such a damaged character. She's been through so much more than most literary characters in YA. For one thing (and this is no secret, so it's not a spoiler), Rose's parents often stuck her in stasis growing up. She never questioned it before, but is only now beginning to realize the neglect she went to and the way her parents abused her throughout her life. She is emotionally and physically scarred, and has a lot of trouble adjusting to life, especially since she was cloistered as a child and must now navigate the world on her own.

    Rose is constantly haunted by all that she has lost, including that of her true love Xavier, who grew up without her. At one point in her life, she was older than him and watched him grow. She was put under stasis so often, that eventually, they were the same age, and then he was older. And then he grew up and suffered through the dark times alongside her parents while she remained in stasis, alone and forever youthful. She has trouble forging new relationships now despite the way Bren, the teenager who discovered and awakened her, takes her under his wing. She goes to school for the first time and in introduced to crazy slang and new technology that's foreign to her. One of her classmates, Otto, is a well-written secondary character that readers will be clamoring to learn more about. He's truly amazing, and it's easy to embrace him as we delve more into what makes him tick. He adds another sci-fi touch to the novel with his back story (which IS spoilery, so I won't describe it here) and his unique way of communicating with other characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 5, 2011

    Futuristic Sleeping Beauty

    I really loved this book. It surprised me because I figured it to be some sort of science fiction Sleeping Beauty (which is was) but it was took the story and molded into something beyond the fairy tale. It became less of just a Sleeping Beauty retell and more of a story of abuse and lost love. I was glad that there was no real romantic storyline other than the one in Rose's past because it would have felt more artificial. When Rose develops a crush on, Bren, the boy woke her up, I was worried since it seemed less like her feelings and more like a contrivance, but that is cleared up eventually. The "realest" relationship would be Rose's friendship with the odd alien-human hybrid, Otto. That was a relationship that was enjoyable to watch progress. Overall, it was easy to see where the story was going, except for two details revealed at the end that I wasn't expecting at all. It was nice to be surprised. One of my few complaints was how heavy handed the Sleeping Beauty or Briar Rose comparisons felt at times. The story had all the earmarks of that fairytale without it being forcibly shoved into the story. My only other complaint was an unresolved storyline that would be good for a follow-up book. I certainly hope it gets written since I am curious about what happens to Rose next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 16, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great story line

    The premise of this book intrigued me from the beginning. I loved the characters, I loved the plot line. There were lots of twists and turns to keep me reading. I was a little disappointed with the world building. As science fiction worlds go, this one lacked a lot. There seemed to be very few recognizable changes or differences between the present and the future where this story took place.
    Rose awakens to learn everyone she knew or loved is gone. She also learns she is the heir to her parents inter-galactic empire. While she tries to make her way in this new time period, and make friends, someone is out to kill her. Some of the things we learn as we go along in the story make it very easy to dislike her parents. The author did a great job of telling this story in bits and pieces that kept you hanging in. I would recommend this to those who love a good story line that will carry you all the way through.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 15, 2011

    Nice YA book.

    At first glance, this book seems to be unoriginal. The synopsis even relates it to Sleeping Beauty, the young girl who is awoken from her long sleep by a kiss. But don't be fooled, that's just the beginning of an interesting and unique story.

    Rose has been asleep for 62 years; everything and everyone she ever knew is dead. The author, Anna Sheehan does an excellent job building Rose's character. She moves from the weak, grieving young girl into a strong, resourceful young woman. As she tries to fit in to the new life thrust upon her, she learns more about her past.

    This novel is about a young girl coming into her own. Life keeps dealing her blow after blow, but she fights back and gets stronger every time. It's a good read for young women and science fiction fans.

    *Disclaimer: I received this book from the publisher Candlewick Press through Netgalley. I was not required to write a positive review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 28, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Wake up, little Rosie, wake up

    A Long, Long Sleep was an unexpected futuristic twist to this centuries-old fairy tale. At first I wasn't entirely convinced that it would work out, but the fairy tale picked up steam once Rosalinda's past started to catch up with her strange and new present.

    I liked how the romance wasn't of the cookie-cutter variety where Prince Charming sweeps in with his life-saving kiss and they live happily-in-love forever. No, instead Rosalinda has already met the love of her life - too bad it happened 60+ years ago and there is no sign that Xavier survived the Dark Times. They had such a beautiful and obviously strong bond that transcends time, and I cannot blame Rosalinda for feeling so alone when she wakes up. With Xavier no longer there to support Rosalinda, she has to move on and finds herself soul-searching with 2 very different boys - the Prince Charming who gallantly escorts her through this new world and the Ugly Duckling who feels just as lonely and out-of-place as she does. In the end, though, Rosalinda finds happiness on her own terms (boyfriend not necessary).

    The truth behind Rosalinda's Sleeping Beauty experience is horrifying and sad when you realize who is to blame and why. I wish I could say more without spoiling the story, but I cannot. Let's just say it is tragic and heart-breaking to watch Rosalinda piece the past together and realize that she had been left behind. For protection from the Dark Times? For fun? For neglect? For love?

    A Long, Long Sleep steadily builds momentum and unfurls a fairy tale that will leave an impression on your mind and want you wondering where things go from here for Rosalinda. Coming back alone into the world after years of absence is tough, but how will things change when she finds out that she is no longer alone? I hope we get to find out!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1