Customer Reviews for

Long Lost (Myron Bolitar Series #9)

Average Rating 4
( 210 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(82)

4 Star

(76)

3 Star

(29)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

exciting but not memorable

I will continue to read Cobin's books because it is like James Patterson - easy read without troubling the mind

posted by moegreen on May 23, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Long Lost but Not the Best

I love Myron's character and the whole cast of characters, but this was not the Coben with heart and enthusiasm that I loved so much in the previous Myron novels. It is good, but not great. It seems that the long wait was because Coben has lost a connection with Myron...
I love Myron's character and the whole cast of characters, but this was not the Coben with heart and enthusiasm that I loved so much in the previous Myron novels. It is good, but not great. It seems that the long wait was because Coben has lost a connection with Myron. Is Myron too old, too stayed to really be out fighting the evils of the world, or is he becoming a lot like Lucas Davenport just old hat to the writer who wants to move on? I liked the novel but it was slow and somewhat unbelievable. Harlan, I see you in Myron, and maybe you need to liven up your life?

posted by Big-on-Mystery on April 6, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 210 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11
  • Posted April 6, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Long Lost but Not the Best

    I love Myron's character and the whole cast of characters, but this was not the Coben with heart and enthusiasm that I loved so much in the previous Myron novels. It is good, but not great. It seems that the long wait was because Coben has lost a connection with Myron. Is Myron too old, too stayed to really be out fighting the evils of the world, or is he becoming a lot like Lucas Davenport just old hat to the writer who wants to move on? I liked the novel but it was slow and somewhat unbelievable. Harlan, I see you in Myron, and maybe you need to liven up your life?

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Harlan Coben kept me up all night

    I should know better than to start a Harlan Coben book ten minutes before the World Series game between the New York Yankees and the Philadelphia Phillies. Thinking I could start Long Lost and then put the book down while I watched the game was foolish.

    Once Coben gets his hooks into you, you're stuck. His tightly crafted story keeps you turning the pages until you finish the book and realize that not only has three hours flown by, but so has the baseball game.

    But during those three hours, the reader is captivated. Long Lost is the newest entry in Coben's Myron Bolitar series, but if you haven't read any of his other Myron books, you will still be able to enjoy the story without being lost.

    Bolitar is a sports/entertainment agent in New York City. He receives a phone call from a woman he had a torrid affair with ten years ago, asking him to join her in Paris. Although memories might make any man run for the first available flight, Myron is involved with a single mom who lost her husband in 9/11.

    Myron and his loyal best friend/multimillionaire Win (think Bruce Wayne/Batman) are forced into a fight with a bully of a middle school basketball coach (anyone who has ever been involved in youth athletics will recognize the type). The coach humiliated Myron's girlfriend's son in front of a gym full of people, and when Myron calls him out on it, violence follows.

    Myron's girlfriend tells him that she is moving to Arizona, and when word comes down that the coach and his buddies are cops and Myron and Win could be in serious legal trouble for the beating they gave them, Myron decides that a trip to Paris is a good idea.

    Nothing is ever easy in Myron's life, so naturally his trip to Paris is fraught with danger. Terese, his long lost love, has brought him to Paris to help her find her ex-husband, whom she believes is in trouble.

    Terese's ex-husband is murdered, and she becomes a suspect. While Myron tries to help her clear her name, he runs afoul of Paris law enforcement, and somehow Homeland Security, Israeli Mossad, and Interpol become involved. Add in some weird kind of cult, genetic disease, and the possibility that Terese's daughter whom she believed she killed in a car crash years ago may still be alive, and you've got yourself a barn burner of a story.

    The great thing about Coben's books is that you never know where he is taking you. You can try to figure out where it is all going, but he always manages to surprise the reader in the end. You find yourself literally holding your breath as you read, and when you get to the end, you can finally let it out. Sometimes I'm surprised that I don't pass out from lack of oxygen before I finish reading.

    His characters are well drawn, and Myron is one of the classic good guys in comtemporary fiction. His relationship with his parents is touching, and he and Win make one of the best buddy teams around.

    One section of the book particularly interested me- Myron makes a visit to a doctor at the Terence Cardinal Cooke Health Center in New York, and I was so excited when I read that because my husband has a connection to the center. It was such a cool shout-out!

    I give Long Lost my highest recommendation. If you are looking a thriller with terrific characters, a fun sense of humor (his one-liners are hysterical)and one that will keep you turning the pages, pick this one up. Then get busy with the rest of the Myron Bolitar novels.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2009

    far-fetched

    This book was like marshmellow fluff. Mr. Coben's books are usually thrillers that you do not want to put down. This book was a struggle to finish. Mr. Coben is capable of much better, this was one of his worst books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2009

    exciting but not memorable

    I will continue to read Cobin's books because it is like James Patterson - easy read without troubling the mind

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 12, 2009

    Form Over Substance

    Harlan Coben remains one of my favorite authors. While his books are usually about someone thought long gone who suddenly reappears, his writing ability, pace and plot twists make for exciting reads. Long Lost shares the issue of the "found again" person and the pace of this novel keeps one on the edge of their seat. But the plot is weak, the supporting characters peculiar and unlikable, and the premise underlying this work is unbelievable while being trite at the same time. The book is elevated by his writing style while simultaneously being eroded by the story. If one can believe the premise then I have some land in Florida I would like to discuss with you. It reminded me of the last Lee Childs (Jack Reacher) novel in its attempting to jump on the bandwagon of modern day issues without the foggiest notion of how those things play out. Its like someone supporting a politician without having a clue what the politician stands for. Coben has done better.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2009

    This book was a waste of money!

    I have read all of Coben's books and have liked them all. This one was horrible. A total waste of my money. The plot was unbelievable and the usually crisp dialogue was absent. The best part of the Myron books has always been the relationship between Myron, Winn and Esperanza. Well that is totally missing in this book.
    I bought the audio edition and the reader was even worse than HORRIBLE if that is possible. What happened to Jonathon Mayrose??? I'd bet he read the book and refused to read it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Myron needs to find new friends.

    I usually enjoy Myron Bolitar plots, but the woman character was crazy. The entire book was off center and had a very strange ending. I still don't know if the girl was hers. Did Myron stay with her? Who knows?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A decent read, but...

    Harlen Coben is one of my favorite authors. Ever since being turned on to him a few years ago, I've read almost all he's written. This is a good book, but the plot twists just seemed a little unbelievable to me. The first two thirds of the book moved at a rocket pace. The last third seemed to crawl with a somewhat anti-climatic ending. Still, it was an enjoyable read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 15, 2009

    Very exciting, non-stop thrill

    I have never read anything by this author before, but I am very impressed and would definitely purchase other works by him. The entire book was well written, with good characters, and kept you wanting to know more. The action starts out early in the book and just keeps going until the last few pages. I would highly recommend this book to anyone that loves thrills, murder, and mystery!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2009

    Disappointing

    I've been a big fan of Harlan Coben for years and haven't read anything by him that I didn't like until Long Lost. It's probably natural for a series to start to seem a bit repetitive and formulaic, but this book just seems like a lazy effort. A throwaway story with a kernel of cleverness in the plot. Reads like a mediocre episode of CSI. Nothing here I haven't seen before and not as fun as all the other Bolitar books. Coben's luster has faded a bit on this one, but will hope for a strong bounce back.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2014

    Okay,not great

    Major switch from the style of all the other Bolitar novels. International intrigue, a little far fetched. Still an ok read, but I miss the old Bolitar.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2012

    Terrible

    Do not get this book!!! It is a waste of your money!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2012

    O Its a really good book for people who like action and a little crime

    Amazing

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2012

    excellent!

    Loved it - Myron Bolitar (and Harlan Coben) Rocks!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2012

    Amazingg

    Best book yet (after caught)! Definitely recommend. Keeps you turning pages!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2012

    Good Read!

    I really liked this story, but what I found to be quite chilling is this is something that could happen.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2012

    Great read

    Loved this book

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    he is one my favorite authors-great

    read for pleasure-got it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Another great Myron Bolitar novel.

    Any of my favorite author's books are are great way to pass the time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 4, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Not Coben's Best

    I have long been a big fan of Harlan Coben, with both his stand-alone novels and his Myron Bolitar series. While still an enjoyable read, Long Lost is far from Coben's best work. Some things were lacking for me, such as the usual banter between Myron and his best friend Win. The plot was a little over the top and at times stretched my ability to believe. In an attempt to create mystery and suspense, the story often lingered in a foggy mist that was more irritating than interesting.

    That being said, this is a quick, entertaining read that will appeal to many Harlan Coben fans. If you have yet to read a book from the Myron Bolitar series, I would not recommend starting with this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 210 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11