Customer Reviews for

Long Lost (Myron Bolitar Series #9)

Average Rating 4
( 210 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(82)

4 Star

(76)

3 Star

(29)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Harlan Coben kept me up all night

I should know better than to start a Harlan Coben book ten minutes before the World Series game between the New York Yankees and the Philadelphia Phillies. Thinking I could start Long Lost and then put the book down while I watched the game was foolish.

Once Coben ge...
I should know better than to start a Harlan Coben book ten minutes before the World Series game between the New York Yankees and the Philadelphia Phillies. Thinking I could start Long Lost and then put the book down while I watched the game was foolish.

Once Coben gets his hooks into you, you're stuck. His tightly crafted story keeps you turning the pages until you finish the book and realize that not only has three hours flown by, but so has the baseball game.

But during those three hours, the reader is captivated. Long Lost is the newest entry in Coben's Myron Bolitar series, but if you haven't read any of his other Myron books, you will still be able to enjoy the story without being lost.

Bolitar is a sports/entertainment agent in New York City. He receives a phone call from a woman he had a torrid affair with ten years ago, asking him to join her in Paris. Although memories might make any man run for the first available flight, Myron is involved with a single mom who lost her husband in 9/11.

Myron and his loyal best friend/multimillionaire Win (think Bruce Wayne/Batman) are forced into a fight with a bully of a middle school basketball coach (anyone who has ever been involved in youth athletics will recognize the type). The coach humiliated Myron's girlfriend's son in front of a gym full of people, and when Myron calls him out on it, violence follows.

Myron's girlfriend tells him that she is moving to Arizona, and when word comes down that the coach and his buddies are cops and Myron and Win could be in serious legal trouble for the beating they gave them, Myron decides that a trip to Paris is a good idea.

Nothing is ever easy in Myron's life, so naturally his trip to Paris is fraught with danger. Terese, his long lost love, has brought him to Paris to help her find her ex-husband, whom she believes is in trouble.

Terese's ex-husband is murdered, and she becomes a suspect. While Myron tries to help her clear her name, he runs afoul of Paris law enforcement, and somehow Homeland Security, Israeli Mossad, and Interpol become involved. Add in some weird kind of cult, genetic disease, and the possibility that Terese's daughter whom she believed she killed in a car crash years ago may still be alive, and you've got yourself a barn burner of a story.

The great thing about Coben's books is that you never know where he is taking you. You can try to figure out where it is all going, but he always manages to surprise the reader in the end. You find yourself literally holding your breath as you read, and when you get to the end, you can finally let it out. Sometimes I'm surprised that I don't pass out from lack of oxygen before I finish reading.

His characters are well drawn, and Myron is one of the classic good guys in comtemporary fiction. His relationship with his parents is touching, and he and Win make one of the best buddy teams around.

One section of the book particularly interested me- Myron makes a visit to a doctor at the Terence Cardinal Cooke Health Center in New York, and I was so excited when I read that because my husband has a connection to the center. It was such a cool shout-out!

I give Long Lost my highest recommendation. If you are looking a thriller with terrific characters, a fun sense of humor (his one-liners are hysterical)and one that will keep you turning the pages, pick this one up. Then get busy with the rest of the Myron Bolitar novels.

posted by bookchickdi on November 5, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Long Lost but Not the Best

I love Myron's character and the whole cast of characters, but this was not the Coben with heart and enthusiasm that I loved so much in the previous Myron novels. It is good, but not great. It seems that the long wait was because Coben has lost a connection with Myron...
I love Myron's character and the whole cast of characters, but this was not the Coben with heart and enthusiasm that I loved so much in the previous Myron novels. It is good, but not great. It seems that the long wait was because Coben has lost a connection with Myron. Is Myron too old, too stayed to really be out fighting the evils of the world, or is he becoming a lot like Lucas Davenport just old hat to the writer who wants to move on? I liked the novel but it was slow and somewhat unbelievable. Harlan, I see you in Myron, and maybe you need to liven up your life?

posted by Big-on-Mystery on April 6, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 210 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 11
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2011

    great series

    If you like detective series read them all.This one was particularly suspenseful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2010

    Captivating Author

    I love all of the books in this series and by this author. I can't seem to put the books down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2010

    This was my favorite Harlan Coben book to date!

    From the beginning of the book he captured me! I was hard pressed to ever put the book down, almost impossible! It was very fast paced and exciting! I would highly recommend this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2010

    Gripping action

    Harlen Coben never fails to add a twist to his novels. This is no exception. The story is unpredictable, the characters are memorable, and we are left with hope at the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2010

    Caught

    Very good book. Well written and entertaining

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2010

    Harlan Coben rocks!

    Harlan Coben does it again. He never fails to hold his reader's attention. Pick up any of his Myron Bolitar series and you won't be disappointed. I can't read his books fast enough...he combines mystery and humor. I love how Myron can be self deprecating at times. He is an extremely likable character, despite his flaws.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2010

    Must read to the end!

    I love the Myron Bolitar (and sidekick Win) series. I picked this one up to read on a recent vacation and it was perfect material for that. I thought Long Lost started out with a bit contrived scenario with the relationship issues. It was slow at first. However, I kept reading and I am very glad I did. The book picks up pace about midway through. It offered a scenario that Win could not address even with his forces and resources. The ending is full of unexpected twists. Don't read ahead, it's worth every turn of the page. I'm already looking forward to the next Bolitar novel from Harlan Coban.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2010

    Good but not great!

    I have enjoyed all of Harlan Coben's books and this one is no exception. Full throttle, twists and turns. The ending was different but overall a good read. --K--

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 27, 2009

    One of the Better Bolitar Novels

    Myron Bolitar gets a call to come to Paris, from a woman he ran off to an island with 10 years earlier, but who disappeared afterward. Breaking up with his current girlfriend Ali, he goes, and is immediately summoned by the police. His friend's ex is found murdered, their daughter's blood is at the scene, but she died in car accident 10 years prior.

    Very good story. More violence than usual, and foreign locals rather than the typical Northeast, but the same strong characters, danger, and humor. Some good life lessons are explored along the way.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Improbable

    The best hard-boiled writers (Burke, Estleman, Steve Hamilton, Joe Gores) make you beleive even when their plot heads toward implausible. Coben, like Robert Crais, has always been a bit over the top, although both are good writers. Here, however, he takes his heroes into situations and solutions that are simply beyond belief. In short, Mr. Coben has jumped the shark.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2009

    Not his best work

    I would call it good, but not his best work.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Slight Left Turn for Myron Bolitar

    This book is another in the long-running and consistently entertaining Myron Bolitar series. It features the same cast of wise-cracking and clearly distinct key characters and some of the familiar plot elements, but it diverges from the earlier books in the series by removing Myron entirely from the wide world of sports and into more exotic locations. I liked that because the sports themes in earlier books in the series were becoming repetitive and the plots somewhat predictable - like Will Farrell movies. This story breathes new life into an old and dependable character, and builds nicely on a previously unexplained plot element from an earlier book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 19, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Another fun Myron and Win book!

    Another fun Myron and Win book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2009

    Great book!

    I'm a soft reviewer and I would probably enjoy reading Harlan Coben's grocery list, That being said, I was thoroughly impressed with this book. Great job using his serial characters to tell a gripping story of love and terrorism and intrigue. All with a happy ending. Myron Bolitar is funny and the other characters are unique.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Myron Bolitar returns

    After the success of the French adaptation of "Tell No One" in 2008 Coban takes us back to Paris in "Long Lost".

    Myron Bolitar is back in the 9th novel from the author. Myron receives a call from an old girlfriend asking him to come to Paris. When he gets there he's detained at the airport by the police. They ask him about the girlfriend, Terese Collins and let him go.

    Myron sees Terese and soon after the police pick them both up and bring them to the station. Myron tells Capt. Breland that Terese had a calll from her former husband, Rick. He said he had something urgent to discuss but then vanished.

    The police inform them that Rick was found murdered. There was blood at the scene and DNA that must come from Rick's daughter. Terese tells them that Rick doesn't have a daughter and Capt. Breland tells her that the DNA matches her also and that it was her child. She's in shock. She tells them that she only had one child and that child was killed in an accident years ago.

    How is this possible?

    Coban answers the question showing that he is the puzzle master. His solution is so logical that the reader is left scratching thier head. The writing style is professional and the story moves smoothly. The plot is original and Myron Bolitar is an interesting, humorous character. His friend Win gets better and better and I would love to see him as the central character in a future Coban novel.

    The final conflict in this story is so ingenious that it demonstrates why the author is among the very top authors in the mystery and popular fields.

    Highly Recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Rated R

    This is one of the most violent mainstream novels I have ever read. Throw in a really horrible terminal illness and it's just depressing. Perhaps there is some reality in the story, but it seemed like the author was really trying to jack it up, and it didn't work for me. The whole Terese character never held up, and Win was just used to get Bolivar out of jams. It's a shame the author didn't work harder at a better story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    GREAT BOOK!

    Another great book by Mr. Coben. I have not read a book by him that has not kept my attention throughout. This book was very interesting and kept changing, you never knew what was going to happen next. Great addition to Myron Bolitar Series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2009

    Bolitar is Back!

    Its Coben, its Myron, its Win, its funny, fast paced, and exciting. Returning fans know the drill and won't be disappointed. Those new to Coben, give it a shot. You'll be buying more books by Mr. Coben on your next trip to B&N!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2009

    Myron Bolitar is back!

    Excellent story line. Twists and turns throughout including the ending. Don't peek!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2009

    Not Up to the Usual Snuff

    Have to say I was disappointed with the latest Myron novel. It is a very quick read, but my favorite, Win, wasn't around enough for my taste. Not as good as the rest of the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 210 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 11