BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Long Lost (Myron Bolitar Series #9)

Average Rating 4
( 210 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(82)

4 Star

(76)

3 Star

(29)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Harlan Coben kept me up all night

I should know better than to start a Harlan Coben book ten minutes before the World Series game between the New York Yankees and the Philadelphia Phillies. Thinking I could start Long Lost and then put the book down while I watched the game was foolish.

Once Coben ge...
I should know better than to start a Harlan Coben book ten minutes before the World Series game between the New York Yankees and the Philadelphia Phillies. Thinking I could start Long Lost and then put the book down while I watched the game was foolish.

Once Coben gets his hooks into you, you're stuck. His tightly crafted story keeps you turning the pages until you finish the book and realize that not only has three hours flown by, but so has the baseball game.

But during those three hours, the reader is captivated. Long Lost is the newest entry in Coben's Myron Bolitar series, but if you haven't read any of his other Myron books, you will still be able to enjoy the story without being lost.

Bolitar is a sports/entertainment agent in New York City. He receives a phone call from a woman he had a torrid affair with ten years ago, asking him to join her in Paris. Although memories might make any man run for the first available flight, Myron is involved with a single mom who lost her husband in 9/11.

Myron and his loyal best friend/multimillionaire Win (think Bruce Wayne/Batman) are forced into a fight with a bully of a middle school basketball coach (anyone who has ever been involved in youth athletics will recognize the type). The coach humiliated Myron's girlfriend's son in front of a gym full of people, and when Myron calls him out on it, violence follows.

Myron's girlfriend tells him that she is moving to Arizona, and when word comes down that the coach and his buddies are cops and Myron and Win could be in serious legal trouble for the beating they gave them, Myron decides that a trip to Paris is a good idea.

Nothing is ever easy in Myron's life, so naturally his trip to Paris is fraught with danger. Terese, his long lost love, has brought him to Paris to help her find her ex-husband, whom she believes is in trouble.

Terese's ex-husband is murdered, and she becomes a suspect. While Myron tries to help her clear her name, he runs afoul of Paris law enforcement, and somehow Homeland Security, Israeli Mossad, and Interpol become involved. Add in some weird kind of cult, genetic disease, and the possibility that Terese's daughter whom she believed she killed in a car crash years ago may still be alive, and you've got yourself a barn burner of a story.

The great thing about Coben's books is that you never know where he is taking you. You can try to figure out where it is all going, but he always manages to surprise the reader in the end. You find yourself literally holding your breath as you read, and when you get to the end, you can finally let it out. Sometimes I'm surprised that I don't pass out from lack of oxygen before I finish reading.

His characters are well drawn, and Myron is one of the classic good guys in comtemporary fiction. His relationship with his parents is touching, and he and Win make one of the best buddy teams around.

One section of the book particularly interested me- Myron makes a visit to a doctor at the Terence Cardinal Cooke Health Center in New York, and I was so excited when I read that because my husband has a connection to the center. It was such a cool shout-out!

I give Long Lost my highest recommendation. If you are looking a thriller with terrific characters, a fun sense of humor (his one-liners are hysterical)and one that will keep you turning the pages, pick this one up. Then get busy with the rest of the Myron Bolitar novels.

posted by bookchickdi on November 5, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Long Lost but Not the Best

I love Myron's character and the whole cast of characters, but this was not the Coben with heart and enthusiasm that I loved so much in the previous Myron novels. It is good, but not great. It seems that the long wait was because Coben has lost a connection with Myron...
I love Myron's character and the whole cast of characters, but this was not the Coben with heart and enthusiasm that I loved so much in the previous Myron novels. It is good, but not great. It seems that the long wait was because Coben has lost a connection with Myron. Is Myron too old, too stayed to really be out fighting the evils of the world, or is he becoming a lot like Lucas Davenport just old hat to the writer who wants to move on? I liked the novel but it was slow and somewhat unbelievable. Harlan, I see you in Myron, and maybe you need to liven up your life?

posted by Big-on-Mystery on April 6, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 210 Customer Reviews
Page 3 of 11
  • Posted June 8, 2009

    fast read....

    this was a great book to pick up and read in a couple of days. coben keeps it moving and you don't want to put it down so make sure you don't have any other plans - they will get put aside. i loved the wit, the suspense and you gotta love win...anything by coben is a must read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 7, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    We should all have a Win.....

    Ah the adventures of Myron and Win, never a dull moment! Another exciting read! Coben has again satisfied my lieterary appetites with another fabulous Bolitar tale. He never disappoints. Creepy in a way to imagine for a moment the possibility of such things happening! Thought provoking, indeed. Bolitar is such a well written character, funny, sharp and smart, but yet vulnerable, (the fact that he can fight makes him sexy too). It was really cool to see peek into Win's all too real human side. Can't wait for the next book. I want to go to Paris!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 3, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    great crime thriller

    Harlan Coben's Long Lost by Annette Dunlea (Book Review)
    Long Lost is a crime thriller by Harlan Coben. The hardback is published by Orion and its ISBN is 0752885227. Myron Bolitar after ten years is summoned to Paris by his ex lover Terese Collins. She is in trouble and trusts only him to help her. Her secret past is revealed including a past marriage and a dead daughter. Terese receives a call from her ex husband and she goes to his aid in Paris. In Paris she finds him dead and stands accused of his murder. There is only one other blood type at the scene. It is her dead daughter's blood. The pair investigates the murder and go on the run chased by Interpol, Homeland Security and Mossad. All is not as it seems. This is a well written fast paced crime thriller which I highly recommend.
    Reviewed by Annette Dunlea author of Always and Forever and The Honey Trap

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 2, 2009

    Don't rush to find "Long Lost"

    I was excited about a new Myron Bolitar book. This one let me down

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 2, 2009

    Another solid performance by Coben

    Another enjoyable read by Coben. Action filled, moves quickly.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Another great Myron Bolitar novel

    Typical Bolitar. The characters continue to bring reading enjoyment. This is an easy book to read, but one hard to put down. I hope there are many Bolitar books in the future

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2009

    Another Coben Hit!

    Harlan Coben is a recent "find" for me, and I have only read a few of the Myron Bolitar books. I loved this book! Myron and Win are two of the best characters in current novels. The plot itself did lose me briefly once or twice, but it does all tie itself up in the end. This book has it all, love, suspense, humor, and one of the most frightening endings I have ever read. A true page-turner, my copy is making the rounds to all my co-workers. All who have read it have agreed - 5 stars, and READ THIS BOOK!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2009

    Another great Coben novel

    If any avid reader has not experienced the great Harlan Coben and his great novels, they are missing out on enjoyable reads! The Myron Bolitar
    series is especially great. Once you know the characters, you are locked into following them. You do not need to read the books in order, however, I have not missed one of the books through #9. Mystery, characters, plot, writing style, and humor are within the pages of this writer's books. Enjoy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Myron Bolitar Rocks!

    I liked Myron so much I went back and bought all the earlier Myron books!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2009

    Eye roll

    a beach read at best

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 27, 2009

    Another great read by the incomparable Harlen Coben.

    If you are looking for a book that will hold your attention and keep you on the edge of your seat begging for more then Long Lost is that book. It has everything a good book needs...great characters, plot twists, a real thrill ride. Harlen Coben is a great story teller and with each plot twist you will be hanging on by a thread. For those of you who want and need a thrill a minute buy this book. You will not be disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 27, 2009

    quick read! a real thriller

    really enjoyed this Harlan Coben book just like his others. Kept me on the edge of my seat!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2009

    Welcome back, Myron!

    Harlan Coben slipped quietly into the genre several years ago with his earlier Myron Bolivar novels. Mr. Coben develops his characters well and brings chilling new scenarios into view. Always an enjoyable read, it was a pleasure to read, after several very good (but unrelated) books, another in the classic Myron Bolivar series.
    Sit tight, provide your own seat belt. This one will drive you headlong through a myriad of spins and jumps, depositing you finally into the nightmare of child abuse by virtue of terror. Enjoy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Long Lost

    A thriller which grabs the reader from the start. Suspenceful page after page and builds all the way throug till the end . A surprise ending that is impossible to guess until the ending which will make one wonder could this happen in real life?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2009

    A THRILLER

    This is a real page turner. The plot is thickw/adventure . Myron seems to be in "over his head" many times, but of course he comes out on top with the help of his friends.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Harlan Coben Has It ALL !

    I have yet to read a Harlan Coben novel that I could put down even in the wee hours of the morning on a work day ! I find his novels fast moving, full of excitement and humor even in the face of adversity !
    You simply cannot go wrong in purchasing one of his novels. I particularly love the Myron Bolitar series !
    Way to go Harlan !

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Held My Interest

    I liked the plot and was able to read it fairly fast. The storyline kept me interested although at one point, the storyline changed and I got a little off track. Overall, I enjoyed the story and I do suggest it to others.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Good to Have Myron Back

    If you've read any of the previous novels starring Myron, you'll be thrilled....I just want more of him. I think he is my ideal man. I miss him and need more books that read this easily and once I pick them up, I'm done. No cooking, no cleaning, no leaving the house. Like so many fans, I can't get enough. Although I enjoy all of Coben's novels, there is a special place for his Myron Bolitar. And you don't have to come from New Jersey to fall in love with him either!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2009

    Harlan Coben has what it takes.

    Harlan Coben is one of my favorite authors. I never get tired of his
    plots or characters.

    This book kept me in suspense from the first page to the last.

    Hats off to Harlan. He did it again. I wish he would write a book more often. It's too long between his wonderful writings.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2009

    An okay read...

    The book was just okay, it wasn't really nail biting, I kind of found it predictable in some areas and wish the ending was a bit more dramatic. Overall, it's an okay book to read on your commute to and from work.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 210 Customer Reviews
Page 3 of 11