Customer Reviews for

The Long Quiche Goodbye (Cheese Shop Mystery Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 49 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(24)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Readers obtain a taste of small-town Buckeye living and will want return engagements in future Providence Cheese Shop Mysteries.

Providence, Ohio is famous for its universities, cheese farms, and the Amish communities. The Fromagerie Bessette wine and cheese shop has been a town favorite for years, owned by Etienne and Bernadette Bessette. Now the retired septuagenarians have left running the s...
Providence, Ohio is famous for its universities, cheese farms, and the Amish communities. The Fromagerie Bessette wine and cheese shop has been a town favorite for years, owned by Etienne and Bernadette Bessette. Now the retired septuagenarians have left running the shop to their granddaughter Charlotte and her cousin Matthew.

Charlotte and Matthew are remodeling the shop, but on the night of their grand reopening, their avaricious landlord Ed and his wife mayoral candidate Kristine (running against trice mayor Bernadette) attend. The two political rivals argue in public before Bernadette tosses Kristine out. Soon after the incident Charlotte finds her grandma soaked in blood hovering over the corpse of Ed. The police place Bernadette on house arrest pending further investigation while Charlotte vows to uncover the identity of the real killer even if it means she risks her life.

Charlotte is a ferocious bull dog interrogating anyone who attended the gala as she tries to solve the homicide puzzle; no one messes with her grandmere. The characters are quirky and for the most part seem believable although Charlotte can be too emotional while amateur sleuthing. Still readers obtain a taste of small-town Buckeye living and will want return engagements in future Providence Cheese Shop Mysteries.

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on May 11, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Light, Entertaining Read

In this first book of the series, Charlotte Bessette launches the long awaited grand re-opening of Fromagerie Bessette, otherwise known as The Cheese Shop, a family owned business in small town Providence, Ohio. What should have been a fun and profitable event quickly ...
In this first book of the series, Charlotte Bessette launches the long awaited grand re-opening of Fromagerie Bessette, otherwise known as The Cheese Shop, a family owned business in small town Providence, Ohio. What should have been a fun and profitable event quickly takes a negative turn when someone is murdered just outside the shop. Charlotte's grandmother, who happens to be the town's mayor running for re-election, is arrested as a suspect when it is learned that she had a heated argument with the victim and it doesn't help that he was the husband of her political rival Kristine Woodhouse. Charlotte sets out to clear her grandmother's name before the election but in doing so puts herself and her family in danger.

With this being the debut of the series, many characters have to be introduced along with their backgrounds. There were too many to keep track of, in my opinion, but the main ones who will likely appear in upcoming stories include Charlotte, her grandparents, her cousin Matthew and his twin daughters, employee Rebecca, Charlotte's love interest Jordan Pace, best friend Meredith, and police chief Umberto Urso.

This made for light reading and was entertaining but pretty much followed the same kind of storyline as others in this genre where a shop owner plays amateur sleuth because the murder is always somehow connected to her or someone she knows. In real life such a businesswoman wouldn't have time to chase after clues and get involved with an investigation but this is fiction and I read this genre for entertainment that doesn't require deep thought so it works for me. As with other food-themed mysteries, the reader is treated to recipes and in this case, learns some things about cheese and wine.

The characters and theme have me interested enough to read future titles in the series.

I received a copy of this book for review from the publisher but the opinion of it is my own and was not solicited, nor was a positive review required.

posted by Books_And_Chocolate on April 22, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted May 11, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Readers obtain a taste of small-town Buckeye living and will want return engagements in future Providence Cheese Shop Mysteries.

    Providence, Ohio is famous for its universities, cheese farms, and the Amish communities. The Fromagerie Bessette wine and cheese shop has been a town favorite for years, owned by Etienne and Bernadette Bessette. Now the retired septuagenarians have left running the shop to their granddaughter Charlotte and her cousin Matthew.

    Charlotte and Matthew are remodeling the shop, but on the night of their grand reopening, their avaricious landlord Ed and his wife mayoral candidate Kristine (running against trice mayor Bernadette) attend. The two political rivals argue in public before Bernadette tosses Kristine out. Soon after the incident Charlotte finds her grandma soaked in blood hovering over the corpse of Ed. The police place Bernadette on house arrest pending further investigation while Charlotte vows to uncover the identity of the real killer even if it means she risks her life.

    Charlotte is a ferocious bull dog interrogating anyone who attended the gala as she tries to solve the homicide puzzle; no one messes with her grandmere. The characters are quirky and for the most part seem believable although Charlotte can be too emotional while amateur sleuthing. Still readers obtain a taste of small-town Buckeye living and will want return engagements in future Providence Cheese Shop Mysteries.

    Harriet Klausner

    3 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 30, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A CHEESY GOOD TIME!!!

    A Cheese Shop Mystery
    First in a Brand New Series
    Release Date July 6, 2010
    Berkley Prime Crime Mystery

    The Fromagerie Bessette, know by the residents of Providence, Ohio, as The Cheese Shop, has been passed down to another generation. Charlotte Bessette is the new cheesemonger and her cousin Matthew is the wine expert and Grandmére and Pépére are trying to retire but are still spending many hours at the shop. Some renovations have been made and a wine annex has been added and the grand opening is just minutes away. The cheese platters are out and the wine bottles opened and the doors thrown wide and the shop starts to fill with people.

    But there is an undercurrent of tension, Grandmére is also the mayor of this fine little town and the election is right around the corner. Her opponent, Kristine, and a few of her friends are in high rally mode. Her husband, Ed, owns most of the buildings in the area and he is a complete leech, cheating on his wife and moves around through the party pinching, leering and acting highly inappropriate with most of the females in attendance. He also is threatening to evict the owners of The Cheese Shoppe and many others on the street which causes him to have a heated conversation with Grandmére.

    Even with the the tension, Charlotte and Matthew know they have a success on their their hands and are very excited until "a shriek cut the air" and Charlotte rushed out of the store and found the leech's body dead on the sidewalk and Grandmére covered in blood.

    Everyone including the Chief of Police doesn't believe Grandmére killed this man, but she was the one with the knife in her hand and covered with blood, she is placed under house arrest. Charlotte finds herself suspecting everyone and doesn't think the Chief is investigating enough so she starts investigating on her own to prove her Grandmére's innocence.


    Yes, I LOVED IT!, with one caution, do not read on an empty stomach, the story is filled with yummy descriptions of wonderful cheeses, wine and quiches and it includes recipes at the end. My stomach was ready for some of that cheese all the way through. I suggest you pour yourself a nice glass of wine and make up a little cheese platter and then curl up to read the "quichey" mystery with your snacks ready.

    I loved the characters, even the mean and unstable ones. There was the perfect amount of humor and the plot had several twists and turns to keep you turning page after page. There is also a budding romance on the horizon. This was a really good debut to the cheesy new series and I definitely have an appetite for more.

    You may visit Avery at http://www.averyaames.com



    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from The Berkley Publishing Group, a division of Penguin Publishing. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255 : "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2012

    Great series

    Love the cheese theme. Fast passed story excellent incorporation of information about celiac disease

    highly recommend this book and series

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2012

    ****

    Fast reading hard to put down

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 11, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    In this book we meet local Cheese Shop owner Charlotte Bessette


    In this book we meet local Cheese Shop owner Charlotte Bessette, her cousin Matthew, his twin daughters and her grandparents. Early in the book Charlotte hosts a wine and cheese sampling and confrontations run high between Charlotte's grandmother and Kristine who wants to over take and become Mayor of the town claiming to fix all that is wrong. When Kristine's husband winds up dead all leads point to Grandmère Charlotte's grandmother who gets placed under house arrest.

    Unlike most cozy books this one seemed to have no shortage of suspects but not much on motive or means. Could it be Ed's wife Kristine finding out that Ed was doing shaddy deals? Or was it Meredith Charlotte's best friend who seems to have something to hide? Was it the museum curator Felicia who had a falling out with Ed? And who is the mysterious person having an affair with Ed?

    What I liked:

    I liked the relationship between Charlotte and Rebecca it was such a great rapport between the two. They work well together in the shop. I also enjoyed how Rebecca convinced Charlotte to look into what was really going on! I also loved the references to various tv shows and mystery movies.

    I loved the relationship between Charlotte, Matthew and the grandparents it meshed well together. I also enjoyed the discussions on various cheeses and watching the romance between Charlotte and Jordan along with Matthew and his love interest.

    What I didn't like:

    The big thing I wasn't a fan of and if it was me as Charlotte I'd want to really scream at Kristine about being so blind as to how her daughter was behaving towards other kids. Taking things her mother said and running at the mouth to Matthew's daughters and instigating situations where the twins looked bad and like trouble makers, but in the end it seemed to work out to a better situation by the end of the story.

    Also I think Kristine got a little extreme with the whole election coming up and making a fool over herself trying to sell out Grandmère as a murderer. Being under house arrest really made it impossible for her to fix her image and work on things as the mayor, but I enjoyed how it played out in the end!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2014

    Great read

    I want to visit this cheese shop:)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2012

    Say more cheese please!

    Aames keeps us entertained in this cozy with a vivid cast of characters and amateur slueths willing to take on the whole town to exonerate Grandmere Bernadette, matriarch of the Bessette Family. Grandmere is accused of murdering a prominent Providence citizen who made ample enemies making him fair game for anyone. The Long Quiche Goodbye, the first in the Charlotte Bessette Cheese Shop Mysteries had enough flavor to inspire following the series and maybe a quiche or two, recipes included. As a disclosure, I did receive this book in a Goodreads Promotion which did not influence my review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 5, 2012

    Awesome Story

    The beginning of the series sets it up very well. Charlotte takes in her cousin (a divorced sommolier) and his two daughters while running her grandparents cheese shop business. She is devoted to all and getting very attached to her new boyfriend who is very mysterious. With all that, she still has time to help out her friends and help solve murders (albeit without the police's approval). This is giving me an education on cheese and wine as well as teaching me a little French. Great story! I'm looking forrward to the next one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    This book was a very good read. I would describe it as sort of a cozy type mystery. I really liked the characters and the way they interacted. It had good writing and the plot was well thought out. I have already bought the second book in the series. I look forward to seeing how the characters grow and develop.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2010

    The Cheeses Have It!

    This was a warm and comfy book to read between the two major eating holidays of the year. Luckily a friend sent me a big cheese gift basket, or I would have busted the budget in the cheese aisle at the grocery store while consuming this novel!

    Aames gives us wonderful descriptions of cheese, wine and other comestibles throughout her mystery, but the more important point I want to make is that her characters are both unique and believable. If you have ever lived in a small town you will recognize the town folk, and the things that motivate them, and as for Charlotte's family, well, they are EVERY family, in that they are lovable, frustrating, exasperating and endearing all at once.

    Aames packs a lot of tension into this sleepy little burg. She sets up a delicious rivalry around the mayoral election and pits character against scheming character.

    You will really identify with Charlotte and her brother as they struggle to grow their adjoining cheese and wine shops. You'll also root for Charlotte as she tiptoes down the road to romance with a local hunk.

    The circumstances, timing and location of the murder give the reader a lot to ponder when trying to solve the crime. This writer is going to give you a good read, but she is not going to make it easy for you, Ms. Mystery Fan. Recommended.

    Kath Russell, author of A POINTED DEATH

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 27, 2010

    A frothy tale of frommage, fraught with falsehood, framing and frippery.

    A frothy tale of frommage, fraught with falsehood, framing and frippery.
    Lovelorn Charlotte Bessette has converted her grandparent's little, cheese shop into the Fromagerie Bessette, stocked with the finest wines and cheeses from around the globe and is prepared for her grand opening. Everyone in the quaint village of Providence, Ohio--bordering Amish country--will be there, as well as busloads of tourists from Cleveland including Zinnia, the gourmet food critic from Delicieux magazine.
    The scene is set for disaster. Add in local politics, crooked real estate agents and a flock of wealthy women and one is hardly surprised to find a body on the sidewalk outside the fromagerie. When Charlotte's grandmother--the current mayor of Providence--is found crouched over the body covered in blood, Charlotte has to strike quick to prove her grandmother's innocence.
    Stepping on the toes of the local police chief, Charlotte and her side-kick, Rebecca--recently converted from the Amish life--gather clues and red-herrings until the entire town is suspect of the murder.
    Not since Agatha Christie has a female author created an amateur sleuth with a penchant for details. Aames experience in co-starring on Murder She Wrote and Matlock has kept her in good stead. This debut novel in the three-book mystery series, The Cheese Shop Mystery series, is a well-thought-out cozy of a mystery that will keep you engrossed for hours.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Say "Fromage"!

    When Charlotte's Grandmere is the only suspect in a murder Charlotte tries to figure out who the real murderer is. She is quick to jump to (wrong) conclusions, but she continues on until all is revealed.

    Because Charlotte & her cousin, Mark, run a cheese shop, Fromagerie Bessette, that was started by her French-born Pepere & Grandmere there are constant descriptions of cheeses and their perfect uses. Reading the book made me want to broaden my experience with various cheeses.
    The characters were great. I was immediately drawn to Grandmere & Pepere and their love for each other. Charlotte's feistiness makes her exciting. Rebecca is so interesting to "see" & "hear" as she explores many things that were not a part of her Amish heritage. And I LOVE her fascination with TV crime shows. The mysteries surrounding Jordan makes me want the next book in the series to be out ASAP.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 11, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Debut!

    Charlotte and her cousin Matthew have taken over the family cheese shop in Providence, Ohio. They've modernized the shop, adding a wine store and selling other food products that will compliment the cheeses. The night of the re-opening, someone murders their landlord.

    Ed wasn't a well liked man. He flirted with women. He was in the process of raising rents, evicting tenants, and selling off some buildings.

    Charlotte's grandmother was found over the body covered with blood. Add in the argument she and Ed had shortly before his demise makes her the prime suspect. The murder weapon came from her store, sometime during the party. Charlotte knows her gentle, but free spirited grandmother could never have committed the murder.

    She sets out to free her grandmother amid town gossip, a nasty mayor election, a potential romance, and a flair for cheese. Can she find out the truth?

    My Thoughts: The murder threw Charlotte off base, forcing her to leap to conclusions, snoop in private places, and commits more than one scene in public. She's one to root for as she's sweet, funny, and has a good heart.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Cheese & Mystery go hand in hand

    I rather enjoyed reading this book. Charlotte is a wonderful character who along with her cousin Matthew, have taken over the cheese shop from their grandparents. It gets really interesting just in the first few chapters to keep you hooked through out the whole book. Matthew and his daughters are so cute and funny. The grandparents keep you on your toes and are a cute couple. Then there is Jordan and Urso, makes you wonder what is going to happen between them and Charlotte down the road. I did not figure out who the killer was till towards the end. I was thinking it was one person then another etc. It was an exciting read not to mention the wonderful recipes at the end. There are several I am going to try. I am already looking forward to the next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2