Customer Reviews for

The Long Road Home: A Story of War and Family

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2012

    Great book

    Great book one of the most real war storys i have ever read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2011

    Read it

    No other book besides "gandhi the man" has affected my life so profoundly. reading this book is something that i encourage everyone, especially in the u.s. to do.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2011

    Highly recommended!

    I found out about this book from my husband who was in the fire fight during that time. It helped me realize what he was going through with the loss of a comrade and all the others that were wounded during it. I was also able to know how he helped save people and to help get everyone out of that situation.
    I cried during it of course because you never would think it would happen to a family member. But I thank you Martha for taking the time to write this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2010

    Hit Me Hard

    This book hit me in ways that I wasnt expecting. It told a story about a group of couragous men who put their lives on the line for their country. The way they united as one group insipred me the most. The connection they had with one and other couldn't be experienced in any other way. Guys like Troy Demony and David Mathias had families and kids that they had to worry about at the same time as they were in battle. They had to deal with the fact that they were away from their family, fighting for not only their freedom, but everyone else's. The combination of loss and sacrafice made this book more touching and every bit more real. I recommend this book 1000% because it shows the hardship that really goes on in a soldiers life and it doesnt butter it up in any way. It tells detail and is a pretty in-your-face book. It is good for people to see how things like that go, because after reading this, you begin to appreciate life more and gain so much more respect for people in the military. Definately a MUST READ!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 15, 2010

    cadet

    When i first read this book i thought it would just talk about the familys but as i got into the story i reilized how badly it was and how much of a tole it took out on the solders.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2007

    Brilliant, detailed, and moving

    This is one of the books that I will never forget reading. I purchased it after hearing an interview with Ms. Raddatz. I began reading it and completed it just a few hours later. I was unable to take a break. Whether or not you believe we should have taken up the operation in Iraq (I do), politics are set aside as you become immersed in the special brotherhood of these soldiers. I'll never look at a soldier the same way again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2007

    WOW

    I am telling everyone I know to go get this book! I really do believe each and every person should read it, again and again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2007

    This book will bring tears to your eyes

    I have never ever read a book that made you feel, not just say what bravery and sacrifice is. Very emotional book to read. Our soldiers are heroes, let's not ever forget that.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2007

    Long Road Home: A Story of War and Family

    I found this book to be a very thorough and accurate description of the unrelenting bravery of our military, the hell our soldiers go through during combat, and the emotional strain that the families back home endure. The Long Road Home is very well written and should appeal to a variety of audiences, both male and female. It is important for the American public to fully understand what going to war means for our military and its families, and Martha Raddatz has captured this impeccably in her book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2007

    Long Road Home: A Story of War and Family

    I found The Long Road Home to be a very thorough and accurate description of the unrelenting bravery of our military, the hell our soldiers go through during combat, and the emotional strain that the families back home endure. The book is very well written and should appeal to a variety of audiences, both male and female. It is important for the American public to fully understand what going to war means for our military and its families, and Martha Raddatz has captured this impeccably in her book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    An eye opener

    This is a terrific true bird¿s eye view of life on the ground in Iraq especially starting with April 2004 Sade City bloodbath that killed eight American troops. TV journalist Martha Raddatz interviews the soldiers caught in street fighting against the Mahdi militia in what was considered a babysitting mission until all hell broke out. The author also takes the audience back to the states to meet family members who lost loved ones. There are no political spins like recent claims the bombing of the mosque last year started the insurgency. Or even a worse lie that the American people are sacrificing to bring democracy to Iraq, Ms. Raddatz makes it clear from one small concise chapter to the next that in the United States only the soldiers and their family members are sacrificing. What have I given up ¿ nothing not even taxes to pay the war costs or the subsequent reequipping bill while the military in some cases have lost their lives or limbs.--------------- Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1