Customer Reviews for

The Long Run: One Man's Attempt to Regain His Athletic Career-and His Life-by Running the New York City Marathon

Average Rating 4.5
( 52 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(35)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Awesome...incredibly inspiring!!!

I loved this book from start to finish. Matt's journey shows that you can accomplish anything with the right attitude and loving support.

posted by 8871053 on December 18, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Inspirational, spunky comeback story

"Long Run" is a fairly well written, first hand account of Matt long's inspirational recovery from a horrific accident. Using self-deprecating humor, he documents his physical and emotional struggles to return not only to walking, but eventually running marathons and i...
"Long Run" is a fairly well written, first hand account of Matt long's inspirational recovery from a horrific accident. Using self-deprecating humor, he documents his physical and emotional struggles to return not only to walking, but eventually running marathons and ironman Triathlons. He has incredible will. My only complaint is his virulent criticism of the transit union strike, which he continually blames for his misfortune. Keep plugging away Matt, and thank you for your service and your story.

posted by 4181227 on June 24, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 53 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2011

    Awesome...incredibly inspiring!!!

    I loved this book from start to finish. Matt's journey shows that you can accomplish anything with the right attitude and loving support.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 23, 2010

    Great Read

    Arrogant and conceited are words that when finished reading The Long Run you may use to describe Matthew Long. But, to be fair if you are going to make a descriptive list then you must also include strong, fighter, hard worker, spirited and family oriented. The list could probably go on and aside from what I or others may choose to describe Matt Long, there is no escaping that his story is remarkable as well as inspiring. And, to be honest it is just not Matt who you are drawn to in this book, but his parents, his family, the doctors and medical staff, and his friends who together through their mention help to create a full story. A story you want to follow. A story that is not sugarcoated, it is real and raw and truthful.

    It's no secret that Matt Long has accomplished many feats throughout his athletic career, 3:13 marathon and 11 hour ironman pre-accident and then the completion of both events post-accident, all of which are extremely impressive. However, the accomplishments that took place the hours, days, months, and years between December 2005 and November 2008 are much greater, much more powerful (teaching the body to move forward, to overcome such physical insult and injury, starting over with new challenges and then to have to retrain the mind to not look back and move forward with a new way of life).

    While reaching the finish line can draw applause and can motivate, it's knowing the journey one took, their back story, their struggles, along with their triumphs that got them to the finish that inspires. The Long Run takes you on the journey of Matthew Long. It weaves you though some of his life events as a boy, his life before December 22 and his life after that day. It is not just a book about running or swimming or biking, but a book about recovery and healing, a book about family and friendship, about setbacks and triumphs and about moving forward and living.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2012

    very moving and inspiring

    One day i will shake matt longs hand and tell him what a true inspiring human he is. What a fantastic account of a tragedy turned victory!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2012

    Inspirational, spunky comeback story

    "Long Run" is a fairly well written, first hand account of Matt long's inspirational recovery from a horrific accident. Using self-deprecating humor, he documents his physical and emotional struggles to return not only to walking, but eventually running marathons and ironman Triathlons. He has incredible will. My only complaint is his virulent criticism of the transit union strike, which he continually blames for his misfortune. Keep plugging away Matt, and thank you for your service and your story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 7, 2012

    Touching and inspiring book

    a touching and inspiring book...a must read for those working thru a major illness/injury.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2012

    Awesome

    The best book ever!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2012

    Great Read

    This is such an amazing read. I have a huge amount of respect for Matt, as he beat the odds, over and over again.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2012

    Greatbook

    This book was amazing and inspiring!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2012

    A raw story of courage

    A powerful story of determination and courage. A NYC firefighter recovers from a devastating accident which nearly took his life. I can personally relate to the book since my son is on the FDNY, I live near Breezy Point, NY and graduated from Iona College, all of which play a part in this gripping story. This is a "great read"!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2011

    Must read

    Great athletic journey well written and so inspirational. Could not put it down and everyone that I recommended it to felt the same way. Excellent

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 16, 2011

    Simply awe-inspiring!

    I picked up this book after seeing Matt Long on The Daily Show. Being an IronMan finisher, I was interested in Matt's story of survival, and overcoming the obstacles of his harrowing ordeal; he was run over by a bus! He was given less than a 2% chance of survival, went through more than 68 units of blood, a good many surgeries, and survived. But that's only part of his story. Not only did he have to overcome the crippling physical barriers, but he also had to overcome many mental hurdles as well.

    Matt Long, a hero in every sense of the word, was an active firefighter who stood on a mountain of rubble at ground zero on 9/11 and saved many lives over the span of his career. His story was nothing short of inspiring. A truly powerful read that I could not put down. I recommended it to all my triathlon and swimming buddies, because this book NEEDS to be read.

    Knowing how emotional it is coming down an IronMan finisher chute for the first time, I was in tears at the end when I read about his first IronMan finish after his accident.

    This man can't be stopped!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    highly inspirational

    this book was recommended to me by a friend and i can only say "wow." i started reading last night and could not put it down until i finished it less than 24 hours after i started. story is simple enough but i felt really connected to Matt. Like Matt, I grew up in brooklyn and queens so that part of his life I felt close to him. i also remember the transit strike of 2005 because that was the year i moved into the city and had to walk to and from work everyday in the freezing nyc winter. what was inspirational is his fight to reclaim himself after the accident and that is what made me cheer for him the entire book. book is well written and flows very easily, there were moments when i was crying and a few lines down i was cracking up with laughter. i've never met Matt but now that i've learned about him, looking fwd to hopping into any one of his bars just to say "thanks" for sharing his truly inspirational story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 8, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Inspiring from start to finish

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2011

    Engaging. Inspiring. Motivating.

    LOVE this book! If you need some motivation, inspiration, or a swift kick in the rear to realize that the obstacles in your life aren't so bad or imoossible to overcome... read this!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2011

    Very inspirational, must read!!

    Matt's story is extremely touching and is inspirational in his never ending perseverance to get better, rebuild his life again and do what he loves most- to run again. This story really describes his emotions and I found myself really connecting with the story and fighting tears as I could not even imagine what he had to endure. His family, friends, doctors, and faith were instrumental in rebuilding Matt to where he is today. This book was very well written and I didn't want to put it down! I highly recommend it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2013

    You should read this book.

    What an inspiration Matt Long is. His raw honestly, beautiful spirit and goal-achieving attitude have inspired me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2013

    MOST AWWESOME!

    This story has given me more courage to challenge myself to do things and overcome ALL obstacles in my life...the KEY is TO NEVER QUIT!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2011

    Ggg

    Lije

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 2, 2011

    ¡El libro es realmente inspirador!

    La historia de Matt Long es inspiradora; El libro está muy bien escrito y es un ejemplo de como una persona normal puede convertirse en un ejemplo para todos.

    ¡Altamente recomendada!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 2, 2011

    Amazing!!!!

    This book is absolutely amazing. You will laugh, cry, and squirm in your seat reading about Matt unthinkable injuries and the process of putting his life back together. A must read for any runner.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 53 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3