BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Long Run: A New York City Firefighter's Triumphant Comeback from Crash Victim to Elite Athlete

Average Rating 4.5
( 52 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(35)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Awesome...incredibly inspiring!!!

I loved this book from start to finish. Matt's journey shows that you can accomplish anything with the right attitude and loving support.

posted by 8871053 on December 18, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Inspirational, spunky comeback story

"Long Run" is a fairly well written, first hand account of Matt long's inspirational recovery from a horrific accident. Using self-deprecating humor, he documents his physical and emotional struggles to return not only to walking, but eventually running marathons and i...
"Long Run" is a fairly well written, first hand account of Matt long's inspirational recovery from a horrific accident. Using self-deprecating humor, he documents his physical and emotional struggles to return not only to walking, but eventually running marathons and ironman Triathlons. He has incredible will. My only complaint is his virulent criticism of the transit union strike, which he continually blames for his misfortune. Keep plugging away Matt, and thank you for your service and your story.

posted by 4181227 on June 24, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2011

    Awesome...incredibly inspiring!!!

    I loved this book from start to finish. Matt's journey shows that you can accomplish anything with the right attitude and loving support.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2012

    very moving and inspiring

    One day i will shake matt longs hand and tell him what a true inspiring human he is. What a fantastic account of a tragedy turned victory!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2012

    Awesome

    The best book ever!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2012

    Great Read

    This is such an amazing read. I have a huge amount of respect for Matt, as he beat the odds, over and over again.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2012

    Greatbook

    This book was amazing and inspiring!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2012

    A raw story of courage

    A powerful story of determination and courage. A NYC firefighter recovers from a devastating accident which nearly took his life. I can personally relate to the book since my son is on the FDNY, I live near Breezy Point, NY and graduated from Iona College, all of which play a part in this gripping story. This is a "great read"!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2011

    Must read

    Great athletic journey well written and so inspirational. Could not put it down and everyone that I recommended it to felt the same way. Excellent

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 16, 2011

    Simply awe-inspiring!

    I picked up this book after seeing Matt Long on The Daily Show. Being an IronMan finisher, I was interested in Matt's story of survival, and overcoming the obstacles of his harrowing ordeal; he was run over by a bus! He was given less than a 2% chance of survival, went through more than 68 units of blood, a good many surgeries, and survived. But that's only part of his story. Not only did he have to overcome the crippling physical barriers, but he also had to overcome many mental hurdles as well.

    Matt Long, a hero in every sense of the word, was an active firefighter who stood on a mountain of rubble at ground zero on 9/11 and saved many lives over the span of his career. His story was nothing short of inspiring. A truly powerful read that I could not put down. I recommended it to all my triathlon and swimming buddies, because this book NEEDS to be read.

    Knowing how emotional it is coming down an IronMan finisher chute for the first time, I was in tears at the end when I read about his first IronMan finish after his accident.

    This man can't be stopped!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    highly inspirational

    this book was recommended to me by a friend and i can only say "wow." i started reading last night and could not put it down until i finished it less than 24 hours after i started. story is simple enough but i felt really connected to Matt. Like Matt, I grew up in brooklyn and queens so that part of his life I felt close to him. i also remember the transit strike of 2005 because that was the year i moved into the city and had to walk to and from work everyday in the freezing nyc winter. what was inspirational is his fight to reclaim himself after the accident and that is what made me cheer for him the entire book. book is well written and flows very easily, there were moments when i was crying and a few lines down i was cracking up with laughter. i've never met Matt but now that i've learned about him, looking fwd to hopping into any one of his bars just to say "thanks" for sharing his truly inspirational story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 8, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Inspiring from start to finish

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2011

    Engaging. Inspiring. Motivating.

    LOVE this book! If you need some motivation, inspiration, or a swift kick in the rear to realize that the obstacles in your life aren't so bad or imoossible to overcome... read this!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2011

    Very inspirational, must read!!

    Matt's story is extremely touching and is inspirational in his never ending perseverance to get better, rebuild his life again and do what he loves most- to run again. This story really describes his emotions and I found myself really connecting with the story and fighting tears as I could not even imagine what he had to endure. His family, friends, doctors, and faith were instrumental in rebuilding Matt to where he is today. This book was very well written and I didn't want to put it down! I highly recommend it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2013

    MOST AWWESOME!

    This story has given me more courage to challenge myself to do things and overcome ALL obstacles in my life...the KEY is TO NEVER QUIT!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2011

    Ggg

    Lije

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 2, 2011

    ¡El libro es realmente inspirador!

    La historia de Matt Long es inspiradora; El libro está muy bien escrito y es un ejemplo de como una persona normal puede convertirse en un ejemplo para todos.

    ¡Altamente recomendada!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2011

    the long run

    great

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 29, 2010

    A MUST READ FOR ALL

    You may not know Matt when you begin to read but the Author did a great job positioning you in Matt's situation. Fireman, Business owner, Athlete and Family man it is no wondwer Matt overcame all the unjuries mental and physical. Matt put's it all out there and leaves nothing untold. Some info may be too much to read at times but honest. Not many individuals would share the level of detail Matt did about his life's failures and medfical situations God Bless him and the medical team that cared for him

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 10, 2010

    Great story....great pick me up!

    A really well-written account of a true hero and personality. You don't have to be a runner or an athlete to enjoy this book. You just have to appreciate a good story about someone you feel like you know.

    Butler does a great job of "reducing" the myraid of medical and physical terms of what Matt Long experienced into language that the reader can understand and with descriptions that allow for the reader to truly empathize with what Long experienced. At the same time, though, you don't feel like you're reading some "sob" story or medical drama; you get the medical info in a way that informs you but doesn't overwhelm you.

    The story has a quick tempo and really engages you. It also has great references to various NYC sites, funny big-family anecdotes, and some great lines. You'll read it quickly and be glad you did. I usually don't like movie versions of books but I would actually really like to see this book made into a movie. It would have great scenes of NYC, great-looking athletes, great lines, and a great ending!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2