Customer Reviews for

Long Shadows (Warriors: Power of Three Series #5)

Average Rating 5
( 563 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(487)

4 Star

(51)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

24 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

Close run with Eclipse for best in series(so far).

Wow. One word. Wow. That pretty much sums it all up. Picking up this book, my thoughts were downcast. I thought that nothing could top the big battle in Eclipse, and that the fifth and sixth books would wrap up quickly and cheesily. Not so my friends, not so. Bef...
Wow. One word. Wow. That pretty much sums it all up. Picking up this book, my thoughts were downcast. I thought that nothing could top the big battle in Eclipse, and that the fifth and sixth books would wrap up quickly and cheesily. Not so my friends, not so. Before reading this book, I had thoughts of the downfall of the Warriors series. The first two arcs were great. When I say great, that's exactly what I mean. Some of the best books I have ever read come from the first two series. The third series, however, seemed to lack something special the other two had. At one time I even had a doubt that I really liked Eclipse as much as I thought I did, and my mind was merely creating that impulse to satisfy my thoughts of downfall. As you may imagine, I banished that thought quickly. Throughout the first hundred pages, the thought kept creeping back and taunting me. Again and again I expelled it as pure folly, but it wouldn't leave. The last two hundred pages are a work of pure genious. I'll say one thing; no major battle, but it made me hold onto the book tighter and tighter. I honestly am head over heels waiting for Sunrise(which I nominate for best Warriors cover ever over Outcast) and hoping that Great Bear Lake will quench my thirst for a few months. One more major piece of news for all of you Warriors fanatics(myself included). It's no longer a rumour. New Line Cinema has purchased the rights to a warriors movie. The timeline to when it will be done is between 2010 and 2011. Elijah Wood(Frodo!) will be voicing Firestar, the voice of aslan in narnia will voice Lionheart, and Rihanna will voice Bluestar. Graystripe will be voiced by either Chris Brown or Zac Efron(depends on which report you read). The cats will be realistic CGI, like Aslan in Narnia(that came from Vicky Holmes herself!). Please, let Graystripe be Chris Brown! One final thing; if this movie is a total bust like Eragon(terrible acting, horrific script, and no faith to the book whatsover) I will be one unhappy warrior.

posted by Birchfall on December 10, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

THE BEST ONE EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!WARNING:Do NOT Read This If You Haven't Read Or Finished Long Shadows!Contains *Spoilers*)

It's me, Foxstar, Leader of IceClan. Okay so the parents of Lionblaze,Hollyleaf,and(my fave)Jayfeather are definatly Leafpool and Crowfeather and the traitor is Ashfur. But Ashfur was killed... So how do I know they're the parents???? It's pretty obvious. And who killed...
It's me, Foxstar, Leader of IceClan. Okay so the parents of Lionblaze,Hollyleaf,and(my fave)Jayfeather are definatly Leafpool and Crowfeather and the traitor is Ashfur. But Ashfur was killed... So how do I know they're the parents???? It's pretty obvious. And who killed Ashfur???? For my theories check my review in Warriors: Sunrise. Okay so this was THE BEST WARRIORS BOOK YET!!!! I was so sad when Jayfeather left Half-Moon in the past(sniffle)....And I love that you got to know more about Tigerpaw,Flamepaw,and Dawnpaw.Thery're not bad or selfish cats, they were just raised under Sol's leadership as apprentices. For the cover it could either be two things: #1-Sol and the three cats for the background are Lionblaze,Hollyleaf,and Jayfeather-or #2-Tawnypelt and the three cats are her kits.
Never mind its the first one. I just looked at the book under'Alleciances' and it says Sol has pale yellow eyes and Tawnypelt has green eyes. The cat on the cover has yellow so never mind. Oh well...I can't always be right. And I was watching the movie 'Akeelah and the Bee'. When her spelling coach broke down the word, it had 'Sol' in it. Sol is Latin, I think, for Sun, just to say because I always wondered what Sol meant.Now before I go I have a request for you. Well this June a new Warriors Field Guide called 'Code Of The Clans' goes on sale. I have NO idea what its about(and I'm sure they didn't just put one rule from the warrior code on each page-that would be stupid).So PLEASE find out as much as you can for me and write a review on it under 'Codes Of The Clans'.
OH AND MAKE SURE YOU MEET MY CLAN MEMBERS IN MY REVIEW "MEET ICECLAN" UNDER WARRIORS: OUTCAST.BUT READ UNDER 'ALL REVIEWS'.IF YOU"D LIKE TO MY CLAN JUST ASK.AND IF YOU HAVE ANY QUESTIONS I'LL GLADLY ANSWER.
Thank You, and may StarClan light your paths.

posted by Foxstar on February 27, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 11 of 12 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted December 28, 2008

    great, great, great, awful (spoiler, sorry)

    When I finished the book, I threw it on the floor and cussed at it. It was fantastic. Until Squirrelflight said the 3 weren't her kits. I was actually thinking that maybe, just maybe, Jayfeather might be Leafpool's. But all 3 of them? Come on. Now they hate her, Brambleclaw will probably hate her (we have seen that already), Leafpool will hate her for telling the secret, the clan will notice that she and Brambleclaw aren't speaking, and will get suspicious (we've seen that before, too).... and so on. In my opinion, there are 2 ways this could have been less traumatic. The first would be to let us have known in the first place, the second and way better one would have been to let Brambleclaw know in the first place, because now he'll hate Squirrelflight for faking that they were theirs!! I'll give it 3 stars because it was good until the end, but the series finale better have a better climax-conclusion than this one, and I hope the next few books aren't as repetative as the last couple, which were still good.<BR/> I just really can't believe that Hunter would tell us about the three without letting either us or Brambleclaw know first. I can't get over it, because I was rock solid that she wanted to suprise us by saying they were S & B's kits, or that she [they] didn't know about the rumors. There is a fine line between plot twists and making readers angry, and they crossed that line. I repeat: Jayfeather? Maybe Leafpool's. The others? That's too much. Way too much.<BR/> And Ashfur. This next venting will be about him. He was part of the plot twist, but I don't see why he had to be. He lost Squirrelflight 6 books ago! He seemed to not mind it as much later on, even seeming to be friendly to Brambleclaw, and then, now, he almost kills Firestar (unneeded, if I were the author I would've gone for Leafpool, they're much closer, or, better yet, Brambleclaw), and the three while one was his own apprentice? No. Just no. Too much at once. Hunter bit off more than she could chew here, and I'm very dissapointed with the plot decisions. <BR/> My next vent will be about the attitudes of the 3. Lionblaze, suck it up and go get the stupid catmint. Hollyleaf, shut up about the stupid code, they're more guidelines than rules, and she can't bring herself to do anything against it now, whereas when she was a kit, she chased foxes. Jayfeather's name was much too predictable, and I don't really get the part where he was in the past. But other than that he was (as usual) the best and most fun to read about, because he did break rules and if he could see, he would have gotten the catmint, and his sharp attitude is always funny.<BR/>Last vent? Sol. The end of Eclipse made it seem as if Long Shadows was going to be about defeating Sol. He was taken care of by the halfway point of the book! To say the least, this was unexpected. I don't think it's totally awful, but I was expecting more on the subject. The last half was more about mediocre, mundane things such as greencough (not exactly mundane, but the antagonist in a story like this shouldn't be disease), Firestar losing a life (again, not mundane, but I don't think it was important unless it plays a role in later books, which I'm guessing it will), and Lionblaze struggling about heatherpaw/tail and catmint. The last half wasn't terrible, but it wasn't what I wanted.<BR/> Overall, well, I can't say. It had many pros, but a few serious cons that I count as more t

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Spoilers Spoil the Fun

    I think this is one book that I must read just because a lot is going to be revealed and I can't let the series hang. I just can't. But as I read over many of the reviews for a book that hasn't come out yet, I see spoilers left and right. It just doesn't seem right to spoil the fun for people who shun spoilers just because they want to be surprised in the book, like myself. But another thing that bugs me about these spoilers is that YOU DO NOT KNOW IF IT IS LEGIT UNLESS IT COMES STRAIGHT FROM THE AUTHOR. Do not believe wikea or wikipedia, or fan sites, go straight to the source. The Erins usually have one or two sessions of questions talking about their newest book. I just don't understand why you'd post the spoilers that aren't believable and spoil some fun. And even with my rant on how they shouldn't be believed, they could end up being true, and then when you read it, people go, OH, I KNEW THAT! and get dissappointed. So don't spoil the fun. <BR/><BR/>By the way, I cannot wait for this book. There's a lot of suspense behind it, and I can't wait to find out the truth to it.<BR/><BR/>AFTER I'VE FINISHED THE BOOK:<BR/><BR/>I have to say, the surprise ending almost hit me off guard. I was expecting it, sort of, but kind of hoping that it wouldn't be. But I think I know who killed him, and I'm sure that most of you are flocking to the Sunrise page just to "review" who it is. I have to say I bet you're probably wrong. And I was surprised by the fact they left those few cliffhangers. I have to admit though, I'm really starting to feel like these books are wild goose chases. They save all the amazingly great writing and stuff for the last book, and then continue on with the next series. I have to say, Erins, you really are working hard, because I've noticed a THINNING of the books. It's progressed to where it feels like the bare minimum of anything in the book now. Anyways, good enough to keep entertained for a few hours. Yay.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2012

    Okay

    I love the warrior series but this one is okat

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2009

    Come to my Site!

    welcome-to-the-city.webs.com

    Its just like warriors only with gangs in the city instead of clans inthe forest. READ MY STORY AND LEAVE A COMMENT ON MY GUESTBOOK!!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2009

    LISTEN UP! THE WARRIOR CODE IS MOST IMPORTANT!

    OK FOR ALL WARRIORS FANS YOU MUST MUST MUST LISTEN TO ME!: the warrior code is the most important thing. It keeps the clan together and Hollyleaf is the only one who has seemed to grasp this prospect. Firestar the most amazing leader and cat, sticks firmly to the warrior code. Hollyleaf reminds me of him. And i think that she should follow in Firestars foot prints because one day she will make a great and virtuous Thunderclan leader. ANOTHER THING: FIRESTAR CAN NOT DIE. <BR/> Secondly I believe that the three should not become more powerful than Starcan. Starclan should be set in stone, the most important and only thing to worship! Like heaven, in human world. These cats can't exceed Starclan!<BR/> BTW!!! i think that Squirrelflight might have murdered Ashfur. After all she came back before the gathering covered in river mud and was missing the same time that Ashfure was. It seems obvious to me. BUT THEN AGAIN squirelflight is an amazing warrior and it does seem hard to believe that she would do such a thing...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 11 of 12 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1