Customer Reviews for

Long Shadows (Warriors: Power of Three Series #5)

Average Rating 5
( 573 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(499)

4 Star

(50)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

24 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

Close run with Eclipse for best in series(so far).

Wow. One word. Wow. That pretty much sums it all up. Picking up this book, my thoughts were downcast. I thought that nothing could top the big battle in Eclipse, and that the fifth and sixth books would wrap up quickly and cheesily. Not so my friends, not so. Bef...
Wow. One word. Wow. That pretty much sums it all up. Picking up this book, my thoughts were downcast. I thought that nothing could top the big battle in Eclipse, and that the fifth and sixth books would wrap up quickly and cheesily. Not so my friends, not so. Before reading this book, I had thoughts of the downfall of the Warriors series. The first two arcs were great. When I say great, that's exactly what I mean. Some of the best books I have ever read come from the first two series. The third series, however, seemed to lack something special the other two had. At one time I even had a doubt that I really liked Eclipse as much as I thought I did, and my mind was merely creating that impulse to satisfy my thoughts of downfall. As you may imagine, I banished that thought quickly. Throughout the first hundred pages, the thought kept creeping back and taunting me. Again and again I expelled it as pure folly, but it wouldn't leave. The last two hundred pages are a work of pure genious. I'll say one thing; no major battle, but it made me hold onto the book tighter and tighter. I honestly am head over heels waiting for Sunrise(which I nominate for best Warriors cover ever over Outcast) and hoping that Great Bear Lake will quench my thirst for a few months. One more major piece of news for all of you Warriors fanatics(myself included). It's no longer a rumour. New Line Cinema has purchased the rights to a warriors movie. The timeline to when it will be done is between 2010 and 2011. Elijah Wood(Frodo!) will be voicing Firestar, the voice of aslan in narnia will voice Lionheart, and Rihanna will voice Bluestar. Graystripe will be voiced by either Chris Brown or Zac Efron(depends on which report you read). The cats will be realistic CGI, like Aslan in Narnia(that came from Vicky Holmes herself!). Please, let Graystripe be Chris Brown! One final thing; if this movie is a total bust like Eragon(terrible acting, horrific script, and no faith to the book whatsover) I will be one unhappy warrior.

posted by Birchfall on December 10, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

THE BEST ONE EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!WARNING:Do NOT Read This If You Haven't Read Or Finished Long Shadows!Contains *Spoilers*)

It's me, Foxstar, Leader of IceClan. Okay so the parents of Lionblaze,Hollyleaf,and(my fave)Jayfeather are definatly Leafpool and Crowfeather and the traitor is Ashfur. But Ashfur was killed... So how do I know they're the parents???? It's pretty obvious. And who killed...
It's me, Foxstar, Leader of IceClan. Okay so the parents of Lionblaze,Hollyleaf,and(my fave)Jayfeather are definatly Leafpool and Crowfeather and the traitor is Ashfur. But Ashfur was killed... So how do I know they're the parents???? It's pretty obvious. And who killed Ashfur???? For my theories check my review in Warriors: Sunrise. Okay so this was THE BEST WARRIORS BOOK YET!!!! I was so sad when Jayfeather left Half-Moon in the past(sniffle)....And I love that you got to know more about Tigerpaw,Flamepaw,and Dawnpaw.Thery're not bad or selfish cats, they were just raised under Sol's leadership as apprentices. For the cover it could either be two things: #1-Sol and the three cats for the background are Lionblaze,Hollyleaf,and Jayfeather-or #2-Tawnypelt and the three cats are her kits.
Never mind its the first one. I just looked at the book under'Alleciances' and it says Sol has pale yellow eyes and Tawnypelt has green eyes. The cat on the cover has yellow so never mind. Oh well...I can't always be right. And I was watching the movie 'Akeelah and the Bee'. When her spelling coach broke down the word, it had 'Sol' in it. Sol is Latin, I think, for Sun, just to say because I always wondered what Sol meant.Now before I go I have a request for you. Well this June a new Warriors Field Guide called 'Code Of The Clans' goes on sale. I have NO idea what its about(and I'm sure they didn't just put one rule from the warrior code on each page-that would be stupid).So PLEASE find out as much as you can for me and write a review on it under 'Codes Of The Clans'.
OH AND MAKE SURE YOU MEET MY CLAN MEMBERS IN MY REVIEW "MEET ICECLAN" UNDER WARRIORS: OUTCAST.BUT READ UNDER 'ALL REVIEWS'.IF YOU"D LIKE TO MY CLAN JUST ASK.AND IF YOU HAVE ANY QUESTIONS I'LL GLADLY ANSWER.
Thank You, and may StarClan light your paths.

posted by Foxstar on February 27, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 50 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    it was okay

    this book wan't the best book i've read but i wasn't a bad book either

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Thrilling, and absorbing

    Long Shadows solved some major problems that occurred within the Clans. There is excitement, heart-bound determination, and surprising twists. The past is revealed in a never-before-view, and new puzzles are made. I enjoyed the book, even though some parts were really slow. A lot more is revealed about the ancient cats that left the lake;which was very interesting. I was slightly disappointed though, because some of the characters felt too over-exaggerated. Other than some weak points, Long Shadows was an enjoyable book to read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 25, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Fun--but leaves some to be desired

    It may not be the best Warriors book written so far, but it certainly has surpassed Outcast and remains as a hope for the rest of the series. As always, I found myself frustrated with the characters but thrilled with the plot, and after putting it down yesterday I still can't decide exactly how much I like it. Certainly, it was thrilling at times, and this book in particular stands out in The Power of Three for its carefully controlled pace, as opposed to the glacier-to-hasty movement of Outcast. While it doesn't conceal its motives as well as the developments in the first arc, it was enjoyable to find parts of the previous books falling nicely into place and forming a more tangible problem for the characters. <BR/>The characters themselves, however, are a bit more faulty then the rest of the story, which was generally good save for the fact that the total death toll for the book is one. More than that later. Hollyfrost continued, as she has done from Dark River, to annoy me. While I appreciate a tormented character, her bizarre obsession with the warrior code had me crying alongside Jayfeather and Lionblaze for her to simply shut up. While in this book it is made more plain that her crazed devotion to the set of laws is abnormal and generally irritating for even the other cats, I nearly shuddered whenever her point of view fixated itself again on how much she loves the code. I can only hope this resolves itself as a plot device later, because it seems that the code is her complete character and has taken over her whole personality (which, in The Sight, was excellent). <BR/>Lionblaze's brooding character was highly interesting, until he began to dig in his heads and lose himself again. He supposes himself brave, but I was nearly yelling at him to buck up a bit, swallow his self pity and help his Clan like he's supposed to. That was the mantra: Hollypaw, shut up and Lionpaw, suck it up. It seemed for a while that the only character in the book who had any sense left was Jayfeather--who was brilliant as usual. The authors maintained his tetchy swings while also exploring his more thoughtful and compassionate side, which was a triumph after Outcast threatened to soften his prickly demeanor. His spur of the moment realizations and schemes were also enjoyable, and during their ShadowClan excursion I was reminded, oddly enough, of a 10th Doctor-like character with sudden bursts of ideas all the while maintaining a strict and swift delivery. <BR/><BR/>For a while, in terms of a villain, the Hunters had me worried. When Ashfur's treachery was revealed, I became nervous that he would become the villain of the series--despite the fact we only found out about his evil ways at the end of penultimate story of The Power of Three. Sol, too, was fixed too easily for both comfort and satisfaction. I highly suspect he will reappear to play a larger role in Sunrise (which, I'll just say, has a marvelous cover), and if he doesn't, his character will be added to my list of those the Hunters fell short on.<BR/>Similarly, I found the continuing lack of deaths very annoying. A huge amount of warriors were killed in the first arc, and The New Prophecy was forgiven due to the fact that there was no one villain plotting the destruction of everybody (just Firestar, it seemed)--and Hawkfrost's role, like Ashfurs, was only introduced at the end. They're warriors--kill one already. There's no real danger otherwise.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2014

    Warrior

    An awesome book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2014

    DARKFOREST RISES

    Join at goodnight death res 1-2

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2013

    Omg

    The is wired

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2013

    Fireblaze

    Go to flame res one to read my story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2012

    Awesome book--but not the best Erin hunter has written

    Great, just seems a bit more down than her other books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2012

    Good

    Enjoyed

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2012

    Shadowclan what is wrong witj them. SPOILER ALERT REAAD FIRST

    I can' believe that sol did that. without starclan the clans have no guidance to warn them of devastatingavents or prophecies. And assfur died i could not believe it, he kind of deserved it though after his long quarrel with squirrelflight.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2011

    Brilliant as always

    of course, this book was beautifully paced and written. erin hunter has once again written a fabulois book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2011

    great

    love to read it to my class

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Twists

    This book is interesting. It changes and twists a lot. At the end especially, everything changes. The book is really good if you like animals, and there's plenty of adventure. Cute storyline and the characters make you laugh. Nice, easy read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    This was a little slow to start, but still good!

    I have to say, this was not one of my favorites, but if you've read the Warriors books before, you'll know that they're all pretty good. it gets really exciting at the end. If you're a warriors fan, you should read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2009

    Warriors Long Shadows

    easy reading especially if you like cats and you have read her other series, you need keep reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    sooooooooooo good, in some parts.

    I totally agree with odyssey2341. Lionblaze needs to get over himself and stop beign so violent and stuff. Hollyleaf needs to shut up about the warrior code and crap. How many times did firestar and graystripe break the warrior code in the first six????????????????? I love jayfeather, but his name was a little predictable and i think that leafpool totaly named him after his father. I am starting to really hate the way that hollyleaf is acting, i mean she hates squirelflight because she lied about being there mother and stuff to protect someone else, come on!!! It isnt that big of a deal, and the only reason that she is mad about it is because she thinks that they arnt "the three" now and she was all like "we deserve to be the three". Give me a break, that is kind of concieted. I am really glad lionblaze stopped getting help from tigerstar, i thought that that was so stupid of him any way, i mean who would do that? HE IS A KILLER!!!!! Why would he want to take lessons from him (Oh just to add i love hawkfrost's name, even though he is evil he has the coolest name!!) I think there is more to Sol to because of what Midnight said in the prolouge, but his character really confuses me. And the whole tribe of rushing water clan going back in time kind of left you hanging. I am really excited for the 6th book, but i don't know how she is going to fit everything in it and i'm wondering if it will be her last series or if she will keep writing. I really hope she will keep writting warriors stuff, because i read seekers and i didn't like it nearly as much as i like warriors.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2008

    Okay, so

    I really can't wait for this to come out. The three are sooo Brambleclaw and Squirrelflight's kits. I have no doubts there, and I get really mad whenever I hear someone thinks it it, I dunno why. To answer the question that someone posed, I think Brambleclaw should continue to be the deputy, because he knows the territory better, and not just that but the newer cat's of the clan too. i.e. Birchfall was a kit when Graystripe was captured. That's what I think, at least.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2008

    Hawkshadow from Windclan

    well i think that jaypaw is leafpools son. and i also think that the cat on the front is not sol cause he was on the front of eclispe i think that cherrytail is on the front of the book. i also think that skyclan will come to join the clans at the lake and i have no clue wat to think about shadowclan... they have always been wierd...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 50 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3