Customer Reviews for

The Long Ships

Average Rating 4.5
( 22 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2010

    Finally, a new edition.

    This is truly my favorite book of all time, and I am looking forward to reading it again. Unfortunately I loaned my tattered old copy to a "friend" fifteen years ago and that was the last I ever saw of it. Orm is a character like no other in modern fiction, and I hope Chabon makes note of that in his introduction. I have tried many times over the years to explain to people why I love this book so much, but it seems to escape me. Even now I am torn about writing this review: should I share this great book with you or is it something that is so personal that it is beyond words? This book is a rare treasure in 20th century publishing; buy it and read it, again and again!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2010

    A superior book

    I first read The Long Ships 20 years ago, after it was recommended by a European friend of mine. It was largely unavailable, and I ended up having to order it from England. It is an epic tale of a young viking boy grown up to a man, told in a humorous, delightful, and remarkable fashion. It is simply one of the finest pieces of literature ever produced.

    I have an extensive library, yet this is the ONLY book that I reserve a special tradition for. I read it every year between Thanksgiving and Christmas, as a treat to myself. I am very happy that it is in publication again, so that a broader audience may finally access this masterpiece.

    Now if they'd only make it for the Nook so that I can keep my rare copies from becoming even more tattered!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2009

    The GREATEST book you never heard of!

    I was given a copy in English translation (originally Swedish) by my Swedish grandfather for my 12th birthday. Like Treasure Island, it is as enjoyable now as it was those 25 years ago - and not because it has revealed new meaning or taken on a greater metaphorical significance as I approach it now from a more sophisticated perspective. Just the opposite in fact. It is a monolithic piece of writing which tells THE tale of viking adventure with a type of patient intensity that is seldom chosen by modern writers. Part saga, part thriller, the story will seem familiar. Not because it plays to stereotypes or because it is the progenitor of a Hollywood viking archetype, but because it communes on an almost primal level with the yearning for adventure and discovery in all of us. Can I recommend it? I would actually go as far as to say that any reader is somehow incomplete without it. It really may be the greatest book you have never heard of.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 16, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    What a great read! Like Silverlock or The Hobbit...

    I bought this upon recommendation by one of B&N critics and what a page turner it was. Bengtsson describes a fantastic yet matter-of-fact world of murderers, thieves, rapists, and slavers, AKA the Vikings, where such people are those who prosper and strangely enough it seems like the natural order of things. I am not quite how to best say this, but the characters in the story weren't 20th or 21st century American minds in the bodies of characters living a 1,000 years ago, but rather those people translated for me. Wonderful workmanship.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 26, 2014

    I will have to disagree with the 5-star reviewers who absolutely

    I will have to disagree with the 5-star reviewers who absolutely adore this book. I found it to be tedious and long and do not know what others found so enchanting about primative thies,rapists,plunderers and murderers, It is written beautifully, but grtd tiresome. The book was given to Michael Chabon by his Danish aunt who bought rt it at an airport.
    Mr. Chabon writes a hyper--enthusiastic introduction to this book, which was published by the New York Review of Books.

    If you enjoy reading about the Crusader-barbarians, you might like this book. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2