Customer Reviews for

Long Simmering Spring: A Loveswept Contemporary Romance

Average Rating 4
( 34 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted July 17, 2013

    Long Simmering Spring is a great mix of intrigue and angst, comp

    Long Simmering Spring is a great mix of intrigue and angst, complimenting a really sweet second-chance love story. - Full review available on BookTrib or RomanticReadsandSuch on Wordpress

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2014

    237pgs...

    Enjoying the series...can't wait for Val and Cameron's story! A good Romantic Suspense in my opinion...quick-paced / fast, enjoyable read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2014

    Good

    Good read story left loose ends which means there may be another book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2014

    Not bad! STARTED WITH #3

    Enjoyed the suspence

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2013

    good

    good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    For the past few days, I have been reading Long Simmering Spring

    For the past few days, I have been reading Long Simmering Spring by Elisabeth Barrett, which happens to be the third book in the Star Harbor series. While in the story we still continue with the drug problem that is troubling Star Harbor, we also get to know Cole Grayson a little better.

    Cole is the sherif of Star Harbor and suffers from PTSD. Yet, he has done a very good job hiding it from the fine people of Star Harbor. Well, Cole has always had the hots for a certain doctor and finally finds away to get to Julie Kensington. Julie on the other hand doesn't really trust Cole, because all she remembers is the bad boy of Star Harbor. Cole tries his hardest to get Julie to understand that he's not the same guy as he was in high school.

    I do like Cole, he's a pretty good guy always looking out for the good people of Star Harbor. I must say that's an excellent quality in sherif. Now Julie is a very independent woman. She feels like she doesn't really need anyone in her life. While everyone else in Star Harbor believes she works too hard and needs a social life. I really do like how Cole and Julie start to hang out and build a relationship. It's funny how each of the Grayson boys seem to gravitate to strong independent women and Julie fits the build. 

    Overall, I enjoyed the book. I love that how all the stories really tie together. I can't wait for Val's book. I wonder if they will be able get rid of the drug problem in Star Harbor. I hope so. I also wonder who's going to be Val's match. Julie and Cole are great together. Here's the bottom line: If you love a series that ties together, I would suggest checking out the Star Harbor series. However, if you have been following the the series and you like damage heroes you might love Cole and should read Long Simmering Spring.

    Copy provided by author via NetGalley

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    3.5 Stars ~Reviewed by ANN & posted at Under the Covers Book

    3.5 Stars
    ~Reviewed by ANN & posted at Under the Covers Book Blog

    The small town feel is prominent and the romance is steady and strong, creating a bond that is both uplifting and inspiring. ~ Under the Covers

    In the third book to the Star Harbor series, Barrett presents readers with the sexy new sheriff, Cole Grayson. Cole suffers from PTSD from his time in the military and the hours he has spent in Boston’s police force also doesn’t help matters greatly. As a result, he’s a very reserved character, but that doesn’t mean he is completely toned down.

    Physician, Julie Kensington knows just how potent Cole Grayson’s presence is. As a woman who is driven and has her eyes set on her career, even Julie cannot keep her eyes off the hot new sheriff.

    Julie and Cole are very similar in personality. They are both quite reserved and this makes for a more toned down read. It’s mellow ad sweet and the whole way through, it feels like a blissful escape from reality.

    The one thing that slowed down the book was actually their personalities, but I don’t think it’s necessarily a bad thing. In the beginning of the book, Julie is not ready to be in a relationship. She holds back so much that it sort of impedes the natural progression of the relationship, but slowly, she opens up and allows Cole in. Again, this is character growth so I don’t see it as a negative thing as much as it’s just a different taste from the previous books. However, Cole doesn’t just jump in when he gets the chance either. His PTSD keeps me reserved and the character’s core personalities really make for an interesting read because how can two similar people with trust issues really find love that is lasting?

    The question is answered well and while not my favorite of the series, I do believe that readers will still enjoy this latest serving from Barrett. The small town feel is prominent and the romance is steady and strong, creating a bond that is both uplifting and inspiring. It makes me look forward to the next book in the series.

    *ARC provided by publisher

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2013

    Great read

    I love this series.can't wait for book 4

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 13, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Long Simmering Spring is a sweet but very steamy home town love

    Long Simmering Spring is a sweet but very steamy home town love story. Cole was the town bad boy. He returns home a war veteran suffering with PTSD and has recently earned the position of Star Harbor's Sheriff. What he didn’t expect was the explosive feelings he’d have for the town’s good girl, Julie Kensington.

    Julie Kensington is a goal orientated and focused person. Putting her life on hold to obtain her medical degree, she now puts all her efforts into being Star Harbor’s only doctor. Julie has always had a crush on Cole, even in high school. Now her attraction touches places deep in her core. She knows his past, seen the physical damage the war has caused on Cole but can she help heal his soul.

    An attack on Julie pushes Cole’s PTSD symptoms over the edge. Feeling scarred and damaged Cole’s past causes a wedge in their new relationship. Can Julie break down those barriers and heal his heart? 

    I really enjoyed reading Long Simmering Spring. Cole’s initial wooing of Julie is tender and heartfelt. Hot romantic encounters, a damaged but genuine hero, appearances from characters we’ve come to love in the previous Star Harbor books and a suspense filled mystery, this story had it all. I'm definitely a fan of Elisabeth Barrett's Star Harbor series and am looking forward to reading more about this fabulous oceanside town.

    This ARC copy of Long Simmering Spring was given to me by Random House Publishing Group - Loveswept in exchange for a honest review. This book is set for publication May 13, 2013.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1