Customer Reviews for

Long Time Coming

Average Rating 4.5
( 578 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(310)

4 Star

(175)

3 Star

(63)

2 Star

(17)

1 Star

(13)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

52 out of 55 people found this review helpful.

Great Book

This book touched me from the first page. As Joy finds herself back in her hometown she realizes what I think most of us do, why am I here? Stories from her past begin to haunt her as she moves into an all to familiar house where so many of childhood memories took pla...
This book touched me from the first page. As Joy finds herself back in her hometown she realizes what I think most of us do, why am I here? Stories from her past begin to haunt her as she moves into an all to familiar house where so many of childhood memories took place. This book was a page turner for me, and had a great love story in the end.

posted by Anonymous on July 22, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Had promise

I have to be honest, at first I was really interested in this story but then it became an endless cycle of "Joy" being a whiner. Even though I don't normally read stories about paranormal themes, it started out interesting. Then it was just to ridiculous how Joy was jus...
I have to be honest, at first I was really interested in this story but then it became an endless cycle of "Joy" being a whiner. Even though I don't normally read stories about paranormal themes, it started out interesting. Then it was just to ridiculous how Joy was just continuing to stay in her home even though all these weird things kept happening. It wasn't like she didn't have nowhere else to go. Jeff, I felt sorry for, he was treated like a leper by Joy. An yet he still feels for her. Why would he? She never gave him hope, shut him down and told him off time and time and he still doesn't give up? This was when I kept waiting for her to snap out of it. The title of the book says it all. it was A Long Time in Coming. For it to be wrapped up when her "ghost friend Jenny" had to step in and basically throw her at him, well I was like "Really, that's how their going to get together?" That left me cold, she couldn't figure it out before then, it was like she had been the one in the car accident and she was brain damaged, that would have explained her stupidity better. I'd like to give it two stars, but since I was suckered into reading the whole stinking story I have to give it three.

posted by chansman on March 9, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 578 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 29
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2004

    Great Book

    This book touched me from the first page. As Joy finds herself back in her hometown she realizes what I think most of us do, why am I here? Stories from her past begin to haunt her as she moves into an all to familiar house where so many of childhood memories took place. This book was a page turner for me, and had a great love story in the end.

    52 out of 55 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    It has been a while since I read this one..

    But I remember this.. I loved it! It was well written and left me longing for a sequel. I am an avid reader, and sometimes forget books that I have read, but this one has stayed with me.

    Her characters are realistic and her word paintings of the locale
    make you feel like you are right there. I encourage you to read these sweet, funny books with a twist of mystery. I don't believe you will regret it, and I think you will join me in hoping for more to come.

    45 out of 47 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2013

    Awesome

    Great book it makes you want to keep reading just to find out what the secrets are. It has, mystery, action,a little paranormal activity and true love. Clean book too no sex scenes or swears. I just loved this book

    43 out of 47 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2012

    I am an avid reader and this is how I know a book is great:  If

    I am an avid reader and this is how I know a book is great:  If I start reading and can't stop (while making dinner, getting ready, at 3 am), it's great!  I could not stop reading this book!  The 700 +pages seemed more like 300!  I would love to see a sequel, there are many places it could lead:)

    30 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2013

    Highly Recommend

    I really enjoyed this book. It had a little mystery, a ghost and a love story all rolled into one. The writer gets you from the start and it is a very clean book. Everyone should read it. GJRA

    23 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2012

    loved!!

    i couldnt stop reading!! will be reading more from this author! 5stars :)

    14 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 25, 2013

    EXCELLENT! I highly recommend you read...and it is free! Just f

    EXCELLENT! I highly recommend you read...and it is free! Just finished Long Time Coming and loved it! Each concept (the romance, the ghost story, the mystery, their careers) blended together so well, and made for a really great story. The length was great, too, as I hate short books. Thanks so much for the book, I will recommend it!

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2013

    Had promise

    I have to be honest, at first I was really interested in this story but then it became an endless cycle of "Joy" being a whiner. Even though I don't normally read stories about paranormal themes, it started out interesting. Then it was just to ridiculous how Joy was just continuing to stay in her home even though all these weird things kept happening. It wasn't like she didn't have nowhere else to go. Jeff, I felt sorry for, he was treated like a leper by Joy. An yet he still feels for her. Why would he? She never gave him hope, shut him down and told him off time and time and he still doesn't give up? This was when I kept waiting for her to snap out of it. The title of the book says it all. it was A Long Time in Coming. For it to be wrapped up when her "ghost friend Jenny" had to step in and basically throw her at him, well I was like "Really, that's how their going to get together?" That left me cold, she couldn't figure it out before then, it was like she had been the one in the car accident and she was brain damaged, that would have explained her stupidity better. I'd like to give it two stars, but since I was suckered into reading the whole stinking story I have to give it three.

    9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2013

    Great book!

    Loved it! Was very hard to put down!

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2013

    addictive

    Highly addictive story filled with love, mystery, suspense and ghosts that keep you entertained right from the first page

    9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2013

    Happy

    700 pgs. Clean story for any age group. Heartfelt touching made me feel sad for jenny. The girls had a great relationship. Their friendship was unique. Worth reading. Wanted to know what happenend with the doushe bag vet. Meannie he was.

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2013

    Absolutely Enthralling

    The beginning was slow, but it really picked up and i couldnt put it down! It was a great mix of mystery, suspense, and romance, with enough humor to make this story perfectly well rounded. Highly recommended!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2013

    Well worth your time

    Interesting story with a bit of romance. Enjoy her writing style.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2013

    Great mystery!

    Great story! If you like Mary Higgins Clark or Sue Grafton novels, you will love this author.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2013

    Highly recommend!

    Great love story in the end with lots of twist and turns along the way!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2013

    Cute

    Easy read. Had a good story line with some surprises. Enjoyed it.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2013

    Just the right everything!

    This was a great read. I laughed quite a bit, but this story still had the suspense as well.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2013

    Great read!

    This is one of my favorite books I've read in a long time! It's one of the few that seemed a little more realistic. There are no billionaires and no sex.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2013

    A good read!

    This book kept me wanting to keep on reading, I read all 765 pages literally in less than one week. I would read another by this author.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2013

    JDBerry

    With all the mixed emotions, childhood memories, the romance, this book was a total page turner.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 578 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 29