BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Long Time Coming

Average Rating 4.5
( 610 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(328)

4 Star

(182)

3 Star

(69)

2 Star

(17)

1 Star

(14)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

54 out of 57 people found this review helpful.

Great Book

This book touched me from the first page. As Joy finds herself back in her hometown she realizes what I think most of us do, why am I here? Stories from her past begin to haunt her as she moves into an all to familiar house where so many of childhood memories took pla...
This book touched me from the first page. As Joy finds herself back in her hometown she realizes what I think most of us do, why am I here? Stories from her past begin to haunt her as she moves into an all to familiar house where so many of childhood memories took place. This book was a page turner for me, and had a great love story in the end.

posted by Anonymous on July 22, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Had promise

I have to be honest, at first I was really interested in this story but then it became an endless cycle of "Joy" being a whiner. Even though I don't normally read stories about paranormal themes, it started out interesting. Then it was just to ridiculous how Joy was jus...
I have to be honest, at first I was really interested in this story but then it became an endless cycle of "Joy" being a whiner. Even though I don't normally read stories about paranormal themes, it started out interesting. Then it was just to ridiculous how Joy was just continuing to stay in her home even though all these weird things kept happening. It wasn't like she didn't have nowhere else to go. Jeff, I felt sorry for, he was treated like a leper by Joy. An yet he still feels for her. Why would he? She never gave him hope, shut him down and told him off time and time and he still doesn't give up? This was when I kept waiting for her to snap out of it. The title of the book says it all. it was A Long Time in Coming. For it to be wrapped up when her "ghost friend Jenny" had to step in and basically throw her at him, well I was like "Really, that's how their going to get together?" That left me cold, she couldn't figure it out before then, it was like she had been the one in the car accident and she was brain damaged, that would have explained her stupidity better. I'd like to give it two stars, but since I was suckered into reading the whole stinking story I have to give it three.

posted by chansman on March 9, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 610 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 31
  • Posted March 19, 2013

    A good read!

    This book kept me wanting to keep on reading, I read all 765 pages literally in less than one week. I would read another by this author.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2013

    JDBerry

    With all the mixed emotions, childhood memories, the romance, this book was a total page turner.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2013

    Kinda bad

    Ehhhhh it was really drawn out..

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 4, 2014

    I got this book for free. It sat on my TBR list for quite a whil

    I got this book for free. It sat on my TBR list for quite a while. At first I really liked the book. However as the book progressed there were so many plot developments.
    And then there was a ghost aspect that I wasn't expecting. Mind you I like a good paranormal story, but I wish it was written into the synopsis of the book. It was a little interesting that a 35 year 
    old woman is still so hung up on what happened in high school. The ending was nice. I was very interested in the book. (I read it in two days.) But will I read anything else by this author or reread this book, No. There are too many
    better authors.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2014

    Fair

    I really thought this book was repeated over and over again to much i did not care to mjuch foe it

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2014

    SZ posted on January 22, 2014

    I loved it. I was finding myself unable to put the book down. There was never a dull moment throughout the entire story.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 17, 2013

    TRULY WONDERFUL! I can't believe it was free, such a heartwarmi

    TRULY WONDERFUL! I can't believe it was free, such a heartwarming story of how things when we are teenagers, can be carried into adult hood. I loved all the character's and was very surprised who was the guilty person. This story was clean, romantic and a great read. This was my first book by this author and I only read this because it was free. Smart, because now I will read more. (ljb)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2013

    slow and too long

    I found this story slow and I had a hard time staying focused. I predicted the outcome early on and became frustrated with how long it took the author to reveal what happened between the two main characters. This book is about 300 pages too long.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2013

    Awesomeness at its best

    Amazing mysteryand romance blended together to make an amazing awesome novel. I had a very difficult time putting this book down. I started it but semed slow at first but did not take but a few chapters and I was anxiously turning pages very quickly. At times too quickly missing he last few lines on the page so i had to keep my hands away until i had read the whole page.
    First time with this author but certainly nit going to be my last. Thank you for offering this book as a FREE read so I got to see hiw this author writes and her stiry telling. Very happy. Going to go check out her other nivels after this review.
    Great for all ages. Romance without sexual involvement.
    Thank you Edie Claire

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2013

    Awesome!

    This book kept me wondering from the first. I agree with previous comments...perfect mixture of suspense, paranormal, romance, and intrigue! Can't wait to read more from this authoress!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2013

    Very good read

    I really like this book. I will definitely read more from this author.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2014

    No book!

    Nothing! Where there should be pages there is only black. How does that happen and Barnes & Noble not know or do anything about it? If I could have given zero stars I would have.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 1, 2014

    Not my normal style of book but I enjoyed it. Well developed ch

    Not my normal style of book but I enjoyed it. Well developed characters and an interesting plot. I would read other books by this author.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2014

    Couldn't put it down

    Such an intriguing story line, from page one. Loved it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2014

    Great Read!

    Great read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2014

    Didn't really enjoy this read

    The main character was wayyyy too much into her own feelings and insecurities. Very selfcentered. Fickle. Up and down like a yoyo. I could not figure out what Doc Bradford saw in her. She carried way too much baggage and cared only for her own feelings. He should have dumped her. Sounds harsh i know but she just didn,t have both oars in the water.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2014

    Long time coming

    Book was a good read. Could see it n a movie version on lifetime. Would read other books from this author. Story was mot to long or too short, just enough to keep interested.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2014

    One of the best!

    This is one of the best stories I've ever read. I the writing skills were great! And the characters were good. Awesome dialogue and I felt like i was in this story. Everyome has their ownstory but mine is this was great! I'd most definately would reccomend this story to anyone.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2014

    Loved this book.

    Loved this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2013

    Suitable for Teenagers

    There wasnt much Romance, it was more of a Mystery novel. No Sex scenes so its suitable for your teenager.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 610 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 31