Customer Reviews for

Long Time Coming

Average Rating 4
( 111 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(60)

4 Star

(29)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Great book

Great book! I could not put it down.

posted by 7923516 on January 29, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

21 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

Engaging theme and characters, but too preachy

Long Time Coming is a story of two women from different walks of life: Deidre, an upper-middle class middle-school principal; and Kenisha, a girl who was forced to become a woman too early due to an environment of poverty, drugs, and alcohol. Despite immediately misjudg...
Long Time Coming is a story of two women from different walks of life: Deidre, an upper-middle class middle-school principal; and Kenisha, a girl who was forced to become a woman too early due to an environment of poverty, drugs, and alcohol. Despite immediately misjudging one another, these two women bond over a universal force-the love of children. I was immediately drawn into this book after reading only the first paragraph. I was touched by the sad story of Kenisha and how she dedicated her life to providing for her children. I enjoyed the first two thirds of the book quite a bit. After that, it got much too preachy. I am a fan of inspirational fiction and expressions of faith in fiction; however, I don't want to read a sermon on being saved. Let's face it: pretty much anyone reading this book is already a Christian. There's no need to convert the readers! This is why Long Time Coming got only 3 stars, rather than 4. I loved the story, but the end dragged. The story was also very predictable: you can guess how it will end from the blurb on the back of the book. However, the interesting characters make up for lack of suspense.

posted by The_hibernators on January 9, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2012

    A healing experience!!

    This was beautiful from beginning to end To have a gift of words and to use it to glorify God and His kingdom is true testimony May everyone whose eyes grace the pages of this book be blessed i just we could have seen in more detail the growth of the whole family

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2012

    A Must Read

    A great reminder of God's grace

    5 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 15, 2012

    Really great book!

    This book was a pleasure to read. It showed multiple people and their struggles with life and God. It did bring tears to my eyes a few times through out. It also helped with my faith and why God does what he does. I competely recommend!!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 10, 2011

    Would Love To See This As A Movie...

    I decided to read this book after my book club had a discussion on it and their comments peaked my interest. If I had saw this book on the shelf at my local bookstore I'm not sure I would have bought it. So I'm very glad that the book came up for review at the book club. This is a story I would not have wanted to miss. Warning: This story is a real tear-jerker, so keep the Kleenex handy. The story follows two women Deidre, a grade school principle who strives to follow after God's heart and Kenisha, a 23 year old mother of three, who could care less about God, because she figures He feels the same way about her. She is dying. The women's paths cross when Kenisha treatments interfere with her picking up her son from school. However, Deidre isn't aware of Kenisha's condition and things are said between the two and it becomes quite clear that they won't soon become fast friends. But God had other plans. "Long Time Coming" by Vanessa Miller is a story of faith and sorrow. As you journey with these women through their story you learn a lot about understanding the hearts of those who have hurt them deeply as well as those that they have hurt. Then being able to learn to forgive them and accept forgiveness. And in Kenisha's case, that also includes forgiving God. I give "Long Time Coming" four stars because of its riveting storyline and the poignant way this story was told. My only disappointment was the predictable ending. However, this is a book that will stay with you long after you turn the last page. It will inspire you to reach into your own heart and your own past to see if there's anything there that you still need to give to God. This is one book that I would love to see made into a movie. Buy a copy for a friend. Trust me, they will be eternally grateful.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 4, 2013

    This is a very good book, and reminded me of the fact God loves

    This is a very good book, and reminded me of the fact God loves me, and is a forgiving God. I would have given this book 5 starts, but there were times when the story would drag on. But I do recommend this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2012

    Recommend

    Bittersweet story which parallels the lives of two women. The two main characters are from totally different backrounds but sisters at heart. God uses those hearts to change everyone around them, including each other.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2012

    Great Story

    Wow what a great read. Story of trust & forgiveness.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2014

    A heartwarming tear-jerker!

    God's plans look different than ours!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 23, 2014

    Highly recommended

    A quick read and enjoyable

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2014

    You will enjoy this book.

    Long Time Coming is well written. I enjoyed reading it and will check out other books by author Vanessa Miller.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2014

    Thumbs up!

    A well written book that keeps you turning pages! A compelling story that is true to life with major problems to face and the sometimes tragic results that happen. A new author to me that I enjoyed and will look for in the future.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2014

    Great Book!

    I thought it was a fantastic read! I couldn't put it down! I only wish that it didn't end so abruptly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2014

    Good read

    A little predictable but, I really enjoyed this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2014

    Good read

    This is not the kind of book I usually read but I enjoyed it. I cried at the end for Kenishsa but it was a lovely ending tho very sad. GJRA

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2014

    Good predictable read. Author used this book as a means to spread the word of God.

    Really liked this story, because it pointed out how the lives of children raised in the same envirnment can turn out so diffrrent. It also dwells on the different influence that caring versus uncaring parents can make on on our future.
    The story is one that will touch your heart, so get your hanky ready

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2014

    Read in One Sitting

    I really enjoyed this story. I was surprised at how I become so invested in the characters. This is in essence a feel good story in the mist of grimy circumstances.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2013

    A great book. Stayed up way too late at night just to see what

    A great book. Stayed up way too late at night just to see what happened next. Loved seeing God's grace coming to life in these characters. Highly recommend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2013

    Gods grace

    Great book. Heart felt story about a mother who went through a rough childhood, abused by the men in her life and had pulled away from Jesus our savior. Facing an early death she finds her way back to God.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2013

    Enjoyable read

    I enjoyed this easy read book. I would read other books by this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2013

    Great read for the downhearted!

    This was a heartwarming story. Very inspirational.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2