Customer Reviews for

Long Time Coming

Average Rating 4.5
( 135 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(74)

4 Star

(37)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Great book

Great book! I could not put it down.

posted by 7923516 on January 29, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

21 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

Engaging theme and characters, but too preachy

Long Time Coming is a story of two women from different walks of life: Deidre, an upper-middle class middle-school principal; and Kenisha, a girl who was forced to become a woman too early due to an environment of poverty, drugs, and alcohol. Despite immediately misjudg...
Long Time Coming is a story of two women from different walks of life: Deidre, an upper-middle class middle-school principal; and Kenisha, a girl who was forced to become a woman too early due to an environment of poverty, drugs, and alcohol. Despite immediately misjudging one another, these two women bond over a universal force-the love of children. I was immediately drawn into this book after reading only the first paragraph. I was touched by the sad story of Kenisha and how she dedicated her life to providing for her children. I enjoyed the first two thirds of the book quite a bit. After that, it got much too preachy. I am a fan of inspirational fiction and expressions of faith in fiction; however, I don't want to read a sermon on being saved. Let's face it: pretty much anyone reading this book is already a Christian. There's no need to convert the readers! This is why Long Time Coming got only 3 stars, rather than 4. I loved the story, but the end dragged. The story was also very predictable: you can guess how it will end from the blurb on the back of the book. However, the interesting characters make up for lack of suspense.

posted by The_hibernators on January 9, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 74 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2012

    Great book

    Great book! I could not put it down.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2012

    Loved this book

    What a great story about God's love, forgiveness and the power of redemption. This book makes me remember that God gives us many, many chances. I thoroughly enjoyed this and was brought to tears and thankful for the many chances that God gives us as Deidre and Kenisha shared their story of tradegies and triumph!
    This is truly one of those books that you must read!

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2011

    Blessed!

    This story has moved me , God is good

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2013

    Predictable plot but great writing

    I was pleasantly surprised that the book held my interest since you can forsee the way the book would end as you got into the story. The author did a great job with developing the families - I hated some and loved others. This was the first book I read by the author and I would read more from the author. This is not your typical Christian fiction story.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2012

    Great book!

    I really enjoyed this book. This is not the type of book I nrmally read but I really enjoyed it!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2012

    Good

    I liked it.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2012

    Loved it

    Wow....this book just really touched me. Couldn't put it doen

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Answered Prayers

    Deidre and her husband Johnson have a wonderful life. Her husband adores her. Her aspiring career as a principal keeps her on her toes. The only thing missing is the one thing they want the most.

    Kenisha is a mother of three struggling to survive. She wonders why she allowed herself to get to where she was. She blames her mother. Her dead baby's daddy. And now this? How can she handle one more thing?

    Deidre and Kenisha have no idea what it is going to mean when their lives intersect over a simple mixup with Jamal not being picked up from school.

    Although it's been a long time coming, their lives will never be the same.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    An inspirational boost...a must read!!

    Although difficult to write through tears, I am deeply moved by Long Time Coming. Thank you Vanessa Miller for a profound tool in taking a look at my own faith and the power of prayer to reinforce it.

    This is one of those books where the heartache and the joy are running neck and neck at winning your the reader over and the mix is perfectly harmonious.

    Look forward to seeing more of your God given talent.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2012

    Great book

    Introduces you to life you may not be familiar with. Very touching.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 7, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A story of redemption power at its best!

    Betrayed, this is often how Kenisha Smalls could describe her life, from the time she was six years old, she found out that life was not kind to her. A little girl in the projects, being molested by a step daddy, a momma who accused her of trying to steal that man, and then staying drunk all the time. A sister who dies at the hand of a beater. A baby at fifteen, and two more, for a total of three children by the time she was twenty one years old. Yes Kenisha Smalls can definitely say that life has betrayed her, but the ultimate betrayal is coming, when she finds herself twenty three years old and dying of cancer, who will take care of her children?

    Deidre Clark-Morris, loves kids. She works is a school principal, and all her married life she dreams of being a mother. But a deep secret that she has known since she was a teenager, keeps her from conceiving. The sad part is she has kept the secret from her loving husband, and now seven years later she is sure that telling him, will rip their marriage apart.

    Two women from totally different walks of life, with totally different views of life, thrown together by an illness no one can control. Will they become friends and will they be able to help each other through these hard times?

    This beautiful story of God's grace and love will move you to tears, your heart will be broken over this as you read, but you will come away feeling refreshed. (no reveals here) Definitely a book you NEED to read! Vanessa Miller has written a book that is life changing, not only for the characters in the story, but it will change you as you read it! 301 pages US $14.99 5 stars.

    This book was provided for review purposes only, no payment was received for this review.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2014

    Heartbreaking but Awesome!!!!!

    This book touched my heart and you must read it. These two women allow each other to grow in so many ways. This book gives a good personal and faithfilled message that all Christians must hear, read, and believe in.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2013

    What a wonderful read!

    I don't recall the last book that I have read that put a smile on my face, while bringing tears to my eyes. This book is so beautifully written - can feel the sadness, pain, and love of the characters.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2013

    Nice book

    This story made me laugh and cry. This is an excellent read finished this in one day

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2012

    great book

    It is a great book , made me want to go tell other people about what Jesus has done for me

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2012

    Loved this book

    I really enjoyed this book. It made me cry and reminded me that God is wonderful and loves us all.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2012

    Good book!

    Good book, really enjoyed reading it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 1, 2012

    Omg.. I had tears going down my cheeks. With out reservation I r

    Omg.. I had tears going down my cheeks. With out reservation I recommend this book. The story was fantastic from beginning to end! Warning make sure you have a tissue handy!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2014

    Highly Recommended.

    Very emotional read, about real life and the good things that can happen from some of the bad in our lives.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2014

    A must read!

    Loved it. Even though I knew how it would end I found myself inspired by it. GOD IS WONDERFUL AND THIS BOOK HELPED ME REMEMBER IT.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 74 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4